1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

"Bottleneck"?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TechnicalFreak, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. Hi

    Ok, I don't know if this is the right place to post (General Hardware).

    I would like to know which of my components might be a "bottleneck" in my system.

    CPU: Intel P4 "Prescott" 3.0Ghz (just updated Windblows with KB896256).
    Memory: 512Mb DDR PC3200 x 4 - 2Gb in Dual Channel.
    Graphics: ATI Radeon 9800SE (AGP 8x & 256Bit with 128Mb ram).
    HDD: PATA Seagate 120Gb, can't remember the cache.. but I would guess it's small.

    Any idéas??


    Thankful for any replies given.
     
  2. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    TBH it's all pretty well matched.

    If you replaced one part, you'd have to replace everything.
     
  3. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    The RAM, maybe, as in more would help, but are you sure you're bottlenecked? I agree that it's pretty balanced. If you're looking to upgrade, you're better off moving to a more modern platform.
     
  4. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    its matched.. but nevertheless a better grafix card would improve its gaming performance quite a bit.. the rest of it aint that slow..

    trog
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,359 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,667
    Location:
    Florida
    mod the 9800 to pro
     
  6. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    It's all a bottleneck. Get a Q6600, 8800GT SLI, and 2/4gb of some nice RAM. :)
     
  7. I already have a "new" system. Getting the graphics card for it on saturday.

    No actually, in games it's just fine.. I guess I'm just being paranoid or something.
    However it runs way better than the Athlon 64 3000+ system ever did.

    It's just when I use certain music apps, I find that the CPU increases the load. Might not be much perhaps around 10 to a maximum of 30%.. But hey, can't complain - most of it was for free....
     
  8. Spacegoast

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    246 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cerritos, CA

    agreed. that whole P4 set up you bottleneck. its just a tad outdated for these times. but it works so cant complain much. if you upgrade the gpu to something very recent your cpu will definitley bottleneck performance. some additional RAM would also help a bit
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page