1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bought 16GB RAM, now what??!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Jarman, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,260 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Reasons and Instructions for setting up a ramdisk
     
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Why, time to play of course! [​IMG]
    Try, like I do, and use disk cache. Much faster than ssd, will improve load times ect a lot if you have lots of ram. This one is free, runs for 90 days, but may be updated to run longer:
    http://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/fancy-cache/
    Edit: I've tried running games ect from a ramdisk, and it's far more efficient to use large caches on the game drive instead, and just as fast.
     
  3. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,652 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,010
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    As others have said, Ramdisk.

    Devote 8 GB to a Ramdisk. Remove the paging file from all other drives, and watch the paging requests from your HDD drop to 0 with a much access increased speed.

    Barring that, only 64 bit programs take advantage of that much RAM. Unless you're a photoshop or solidworks user there is little practical use for that RAM.
     
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yes, putting your pagefile on a ramdisk would probably also help a small bit. But using 2gb per 150gb hd space disk caches work much better. Maybe it works better for me because I have multiple drive/partitions, and can allocate as much ram as I want to each. A ram disk cache is 10x faster than a ssd cache, just much smaller.
     
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Results of using a 4gb ram disk cache on a 150gb hd partition, on a WD 1TB black. This should be fairly typical if you leave your system up for long periods of time, like I do:
    [​IMG]
     
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page