1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bought a GALAXY GeForce 210 graphics card

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Jstn7477, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    You realy should go Vantage, 3DMark06 is pretty much CPU bound nowadays.
  2. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    I see this card as more of a test of the 40nm/Dx10.1 than anything else. Let's hope that we'll see some GT300s soon enough. Wonder if the architecture is based on the gt200 or the g92
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    A run of 3DMark Vantage, on Entry level settings. Card at 775/1725/480. Don't know if PhysX was on or not.

    [​IMG]

    And Performace Preset:

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. JayliN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    71 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    NYC
    nice pics. I wonder what the idle power consumption is.
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Should be pretty low. The card runs at 135/135 when idling. NVIDIA claims the GPU uses up to 30w max. :)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    It looks like the best stable overclock that I achieved with this sample is 775/1725/575. I will probably bench it tomorrow at that speed. From what I have noticed, I believe that the 64 bit GDDR2 memory is a bottleneck. Overclocking it noticeably improved the performance of the card, especially with an overclocked GPU.

    I hope you have enjoyed reading this mini-review. :D
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I have just uploaded 3DMark01 SE and 3DMark03 results. All results are now consolidated into post #1.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I really hope they fix the correct stats on that card, because that 0.8 pixel fillrate is scaring me seriously.

    Anyways, i just got back from bestbuy about 2 hours ago, i seen the card in the store, but no price was present.
  9. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The core should be the exact same setup as a 9400 GT. It just has a 64bit memory bus (vs. the 9400's 128bit) but it is upgraded to DX10.1, and it's 40nm vs. the 55nm 9xxx cards. GPU-Z reads it wrong because it simply has no information on the card.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_NVIDIA_GPUs#GeForce_200_Series

    The cards don't have price tags at my BB, but they are present in the computer system. My card is $69.99, the GT220 (128 bit, 48 shader that I might buy next week) is $119.99.
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    That GeForce GT 220 seems to be more powerful. Guess by the time i buy my secondary rig, i will look into buying the GeForce GT 220 one with GDDR3 memory.
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, I think Galaxy skimped out on the BB GT220 because I think it only has DDR2 memory. I think the 64bit DDR2 is holding back my 210, as my results improved noticeably with the 44% memory OC.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. goldfries

    goldfries New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I'm using the GT220 now. Looks good so far.

    Now doing my 2nd round of benching, this time with lower settings to see how's the framerate like.

    Power Consumption looks like my 9600GT Low Power / Low Profile version. The card feels faster then a 9500GT but slower than 9600GSO (it's been a while since I used any 9600GSO but i could remember how it was, more or less.)
  13. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Do you have the DDR2 or DDR3 version?

    EDIT: NVM, I saw my other thread, you have the DDR3 version. Thanks!
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page