1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Brand switching from Intel to AMD, ATI to nVidia and vice versa

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Completely Bonkers, Aug 30, 2010.

?

When did you switch brands on your main rig (more than one option can apply)

  1. GPU in last 6 months

    18 vote(s)
    26.1%
  2. GPU in last 12 months

    19 vote(s)
    27.5%
  3. GPU in last 2 years

    14 vote(s)
    20.3%
  4. GPU in last 3 years

    9 vote(s)
    13.0%
  5. GPU in last 5 years

    5 vote(s)
    7.2%
  6. CPU in last 6 months

    11 vote(s)
    15.9%
  7. CPU in last 12 months

    11 vote(s)
    15.9%
  8. CPU in last 2 years

    10 vote(s)
    14.5%
  9. CPU in last 3 years

    7 vote(s)
    10.1%
  10. CPU in last 5 years

    12 vote(s)
    17.4%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    How often do you switch brands? If you switch CPU brand you will need a new mainboard, the cost of switching is therefore quite expensive; and the time to rebuild is needed. If you switch GPU, it is a bit easier; just swapping the GPU card and drivers.

    This poll is about brand switching, it doesnt matter from which brand to which, but just how often we switch manufacturer.

    Thanks for your input :pimp:

    Please note this is a MULTI-SELECTION poll. You can click more than one box.

    If you have multiple computers, please answer from the perspective of your main, everyday, rig Remember, this poll is about when you switched brands, not the last time you upgraded.
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,947 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    To the best of my knowledge, CPU in the past 3 years, and GPU in the past 3 (and 2) years. I think it was in 2007 when I had a Pentium 4 rig with an Nvidia 6800XT in it, and my uncle gave me an AMD/ATI setup with a A64 x2 5200+ and a half-broke x1800XL. I ran with the ATI card for a short while until I got tired of the quirkiness and got an 8500GT, then an 8600GTS, then a 9600GSO, then the card I have now.

    My brand loyalty with AMD CPUs lies in the fact that in switching to Intel, I would have to buy a new motherboard and CPU at once. My brand loyalty with Nvidia is because of higher FAH performance.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,434 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    AZ
    swapped from amd cpu's a couple years back and from ati to nvidia around the same time. Dunno when I'll be swapping out again.
     
  4. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,217
    Nvidia GeForce 6600 to ATi/AMD Radeon HD 4870.
     
  5. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    My last amd cpu was a 285 opteron. I switched when they were no longer in the lead. Brand loyalty is pointless.
     
  6. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    I didn't swap out per se, When the opportunity came to build my 2nd Rig I decided to go AMD as I never had any experience with that brand. I also will probably get a Nvidia gard for that rig in the future to see what their cards are like.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I done one ati-nvidia gpu swap.

    I've gone back and forth between AMD and Intel with cpus though.


    So far I've hated when ever I've tried to use nvidia cards, driver problems every-time ( cept in hybrid phsyx mode, then they work well XD)

    Only had problems with my first couple of ATI cards before driver installation was fixed.
     
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    on my main rig, it's been intel for 5+ years now (2+ of those covered by a Q6600 :D) however i always have 2-4 pc's at any given time, and one has also been AMD all along, so I must say I go AMD for budget performance, and Intel for gaming strength.

    as for gfx, I made the swap 12 months ago to ATi 5k series in my main rig, but still own a bevvy of Nvidia cards that are swapped in and out of the afformentioned other rigs.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  9. Tokio

    Tokio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Bucharest, Moscow, London
    switched to intel in june 10
    and switched to ati in june 09 :D
     
  10. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    226 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Belgium
    last summer I went from a nvidia geforce 6700XL to a ati radeon x1650xt to a nvidia geforce 9600GT, just to play nazi zombies (cod5) :D
     
  11. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    I'm just about to swap out my ATI FireGL for an nV 460. It's been a difficult decision; I was going to go for the quiet and efficient 5770 but the 460 is just always ahead, plus the option for weekend tomfoolery with the nV 3D glasses and CUDA/PhysX.
     
  12. DanTheMan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    210 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    I normally do not switch - the socket is normally EOL by the time I need to upgrade so I just plan on building new every 4 to 5 years
     
  13. bubs

    bubs New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    120 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I have always had INTEL for prob 10 years or more. And i had Nvidia, But now have got my heart set on making a AMD Phenom ii x6 cus of price, And also i am a AMD Virgin at the mo :) + im now ati radeon GPUs
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,099 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    I don't really know times, I generally switch when the top dog switches.

    CPU Wise:
    I swapped back and forth a few times between Socket A and Socket 478. Moving from an Athlon XP 2900+ to a P4 3.0GHz Northwood back to an Athlon XP 3200+. Then I went to a 939 Opteron 148(Athlon 64 3700+) and then an Athlon X2 4400+. Then I moved to 775 for a Core 2 Duo E4500 then an E6600 then a Q6600 and finally a Xeon X3370(Q9650). Now I'm with a 1156 i7.

    GPU wise:

    I was with ATi for the 9000 and X800 series. Starting with a 9500 softmodded to a 9700, then went to a 9800SE softmodded into a 9800Pro, and then a 9800Pro flashed into a 9800XT. Then I went with an X800GTO2 flashed into an X800XT PE, this was when I went 939 as well as my 939 needed a PCI-E card. Then I went nvidia to the 7800GTX then a 7900GT then a pair of 7900GTs then a 8800GTS 512MB then a 9800GTX then a pair of 9800GTXs then a GTX260 Core 216(65nm) then a GTX285 and now my GTX470.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,222 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    i rebuild my rig constantly so all your options apply,although ill never go back to AMD or ATI
     
  16. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Within the last year I made the switch from intel to AMD. I was getting tired of running a dual core rig that cost more to build the a phenom II X4 system. I also switched to ATI graphics when the 5 series came out.. I really liked the idea of hitting 1GHz with air cooling on a GPU.. fascinated me..
     
  17. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I switch brands depending on money and performance at the time. I used an 8600 GTS for a while and after that it was a 4870, then a 5770. And now im back to Nvidia using 2x GTX 470's.

    As for CPU's, i haven't used AMD since the days of Socket 939. But really the only reason why after that i went with Intel is because of the better performance overall they have been pushing out. I used an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ for a while, then when the Core 2 Duo's came out i switched to an E4400, and now im currently using a Core i7 CPU (because i had the cash at the time and wanted the best)

    I have 0 brand loyalty, just give me good performance for a decent price and im in.:)
     
  18. Perseid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    156 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    It hasn't happened yet, but in a couple weeks I'll be retiring my old AMD machine in favor of an i7 system. Until now I've been an AMD guy because they offered the best values. I feel that honor goes to Intel at the moment. My next system? We'll see. No brand loyalty from me. Give me the bargain.
     
  19. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    848 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    Couldn't vote 'cause I never switched in the past 5 years.

    I've been with AMD since the K6-2 333Mhz when I tearfully saw my Tandy-1000 die on me. I still have tears in my eyes just thinking about it... Wait, those are allergies... My bad.
     
  20. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    Never actually but not because i wanted to but here it's next to impossible get anything that's amd (altough that is being left in the past in the past few months, still is expensive)
     
  21. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    My very expensive AMD K6-3 was amazing... but it fried itself. I couldnt believe how much money was lost. I was a student at the time. It is the only processor I have had that killed itself. Since this day I never bought AMD again. Once burnt, twice shy.

    Tandy? Oh the days when a processor cost less than $10... and THAT was expensive!
     
  22. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Haven't switch GPU's that much. After my early days of S3/Matrox/3Dfx cards I got a TNT2 and stuck with nVidia through my 8600GTS. Bought a 4870 after that and still have it now. Probably going to get an HD6xxx when they're out.

    Did more switching on the CPU side. Was completely Intel Pentium through P3, then Athlon MP, then Xeon, then faster Athlon MP's, Athlon X2, P4D, C2Q. An i7 is next.
     
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,414 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,168
    never had intel, never seen the use to spend the extra cash.

    I did how ever switch from the Green team to the red 2+ yrs ago and never looked back :laugh:
     
  24. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Ive always stuck with AMD, and dont see myself going to intel unless there new Bulldozer is a flop. AMD has served me very well in the last 10yrs and me like most people around here are not rich so also going AMD is a no brainer when it comes to price.

    GPU's on the other hand ive had Nvidia for most of those yrs (at least 8) and hated ATI, but when the HD38xx came out and my brother gave them ago, we was impressed how much of an improvement ATI was, and now i would buy an ATI card over Nvidia at this stage. All depends on how good and the price is with both brands to what i would buy.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,414 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,168
    nicely said Melvis!!! :rockout:
     
    Melvis says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page