1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Breaking HDDs set in RAID0

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 1Kurgan1, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I got a set of Seagate 750's set in RAID0, but I no longer have the mobo or chipset to which they were RAIDed. Anyone got an idea of how to break that RAID?
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What chipset were they on first and foremost?
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    It should transfer over, I went X58-Z68 (< two motherboards with different chipsets).

    The best action is to just test on what you have. I went from intel to marvel back to intel and the raid held together no issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Do you know what his old chipset was? Fill me in. :rockout:
     
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    The old chipset was AM2+, I now have P67, so pretty different...
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You can surely test it out. Just connect them to sata 0 and sata 1 then enable raid 0 in bios and set boot device as raid. If it works then you should begin booting from the raid, if not then it will not boot at all.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Bring them into your Intel machine with NO OTHER DRIVES, set it to IDE mode, and run this as a live cd to format both. Unless you have another am2+ machine about there isnt any way to retreive that data.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I think he wants to save the data on them IIRC. If not then yea its really easy just to format them individually then recreate the raid on the new chipset.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I figured that he wanted to somehow keep the data on the RAID.

    If he doesn't want to keep the data, I don't know why this is even a topic.

    To state the should-be obvious anyway, just format the drives when reconnecting the RAID.
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Not without access to an amd 7xx/8xx/9xx chipset their isn't any way to bring that data back.
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You never know, It may work. There is no harm in trying
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I am 110% being doubtful. Trust me I tried it from am3+ (m5a97 evo) to ICH9(Max Gene 3).
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Wished I had a spare PC I would test it out. Once the 785G comes back I will create a raid there and then test on the Z68
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page