1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bricked? Powercolor 5850 after bios flash

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Nviduum, Aug 16, 2014.

  1. Nviduum New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi Guys,
    I have some Kind of a strange Problem with my Powercolor 5850 Radeon 1Gb.

    Had the Dual Monitor flicker issue and decided to RBE-modify the clock table.
    So I flashed this modded bios; no success flickering remained.
    Tried multiple clock and voltage settings flashed them (also using ATIflash 3.99)
    Nope, issue remains the same-.-

    Downloaded another bios from the AMD Forums http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/123623
    Ended up with a hardbricked card which wouldn't even be recognized by ATIflash.

    So now comes the weird thing:
    I sucessfully tried the EEPROM trick and was able to reflash the original bios.
    BUT!
    The card is recognized as Standard-VGA Adapter.
    GPU-Z and HWinfo64 gives me a Core clock value of 13,6 MHz and a memory clock of 3196MHz.
    Also the Memory Interface Width is read out with a 512 Bits oO?

    So installing the proper VGA Driver ends up with a Black screen (while using the GeForce 8200 onboard VGA).

    I already tried flashin the bios with different bios versions from the TPU-DB, also tried several flash options (like -newbios, -f, -fa)

    Any Help please? I'm sure I hadn't fried anything while soldering the bridge over the eeprom.

    My Sys-Specs:

    Main Sys (which is home of the 5850, and I also used for the first flashing attempts)

    Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 AMD770/SB710
    AMD Phenom II x4 965BE
    8 GBytes RAM DDR-II 800
    OCZ Vertex 2 SSD
    2x Samsung P2270 Monitors


    Backup Sys (a.k.a. my grilfriends PC ;) which is the system I tried to recover the 5850)
    ASrock K10N78M-Pro nForce 720a
    AMD Phenom x4 9550
    4 GBytes RAM DDR-II 1066
    OCZ Vertex 2 SSD
    2x Samsung P2270 Monitors

    Both systems are sourced by Enermax Liberty PSUs


    KR
    Bene
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    **If you are able to access windows with a spare vga card or on-board vga; Uninstall and deep clean any AMD drivers for the vga card before the flash process**

    Use bootable flash drive with atiflash and original vbios image

    Type at the dos prompt - dir to view the content of the flash drive

    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -ai 0 [see if adapter is at this address and is recognised]

    Re-flash the original or Backup/copy of the original vbios image
    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -f -p 0 [VBiosName].rom

    [Note: 0 is the primary card PCIe slot one & 1 is the secondary PCIe slot two]
    [Note: when booting from on-board vga / igp also = primary position 0]

    reboot once finished and remove the flash drive

    reinstall AMD Catalyst Drivers

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2014
  3. Nviduum New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi Law-II,
    already did that a couple of times but I don't even get a POST screen with the 5850. That's what bothers me
    Also after having tried several different bioses (which are all correctly recognized by GPU-Z) I still have no video AND if I reinstall drivers (jupp I did use the removal tool and even tried a newly set up system) I get a black screen even from the onboard VGA.
     
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Would double check the solder points, make sure the PCB trace is not in contact with any wire or old solder on or *near to pin1 & pin8

    Note: no vga from on-board vga /iGP would suggest dead hardware has been placed in a PCI/PCIe slot [*may be due to a short on the 5850] assuming that the on-board vga /iGP works once the 5850 is removed.

    Also Note: EEPROM cannot sustain flashing and that it can only be flashed a certain number of times before failing [although I have not had this happen; its not to say it dose not occur from time to time]

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2014
  5. Nviduum New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    No No you got me wrong!
    The system works fine even with the 5850 installed as long as it operates as a generic vga device.
    Installing Radeon Drivers causes the the IGP graphics to black out.
    I will take it apart... hopefully I'll find something

    Thx
     
  6. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    540 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    well you said it wont post with it attached so you cant flash it..
    but you just said it will post with it attached..

    you just boot from your onboard gpu then flash the pci-e card as stated above...
    Its a bit confusing what you are saying..

    are you saying when you have flashed the card so it is detected as a standard vga card it will post. but if you flash it with the correct bios it wont post?
     
  7. Nviduum New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oh okay sorry for the mess.

    The Backup -Sys will POST from IGP with the R5850 installed -> it is then also recognized by ATIFlash thus flashable

    In my main SYS with the R5850 installed i have no POST
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,845 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Did you try clearing your bios? Im talking about your mobo bios.

    If youve tried this but the same thing still happens then id say you've installed the wrong bios on your 5850... Sometimes cards are identical - same manufacturers code & partnumber etc etc but one bios wont work with the other because the revision of 1 card is different from the other
     
  9. Nviduum New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Bios reset... still nothing.
    Disassembled the card, found a tiny solder bridge between pin 8 and 7 of the eeprom....
    looks like I fried the card >.<

    This is what my HWINFO reading looks like...
     

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.
  10. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    Did you RE-FLASH the card after you removed the" tiny solder bridge between pin 8 and 7" ?? The .jpg pic shows a bad bios.
     
  11. Nviduum New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yupp already did that but no change-.-
     
  12. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    Can you post a pic from the atiflash cmd?
    -ai [NUM]Display advanced information of ATI adapters [NUM] if specified

    Have you tried flashing with an 'empty' rom file the reflashing with the org rom?
     
  13. Nviduum New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sorry, didn't notice the reply....

    I'm going to post a screenshot here on weekend (much work to do ATM)

    AFAIK, flash procedure seems to work fine with different versions of ATIflash.
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    If the igp blanks out move the video chord to the video card
     
  15. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,630 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Rochester area
    solder two leads onto the pins you shorted before and wired that up to a toggle switch make sure the switch is OFF when you power the machine on once you are booted to a atiflash prompt turn the switch on complete the flash and then turn it OFF again before doing a reboot
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page