1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Broken Power Switch

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ex_reven, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    One of my computers powerbuttons has broken.

    I dont think I can fix it, I was wiring up the positive and negative wires to the front power button of the compy when the positive terminal snapped off... I have nothing to wire it to.

    Is there any way I can rig up a decent DIY switch on the front of the computer?
     
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    can you take a pic of it, ive ripped mine off so many times but Ive been able to solder it back

    but if you cant just solder it, im sure you can use something else

    something like this
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2007
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i think you can use a jumper to short the 2 pins on the mobo and cause it to boot up, or just solder the wires if you want, or use the onboard power button if you have one like me lol.
     
  4. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    you can just hold the wires to each other for 1 or 2 secs then the pc will boot.
    I did it for a few months when my power button broke.:toast:
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    just rip a push to make switch off any old piece of crap electronics.
     
  6. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    just use your reset switch as power button

    if not pop out one of those bay covers and drill a small hole for a momentary push button sswitch you buy at radio shack or electronics store.
     
    ex_reven and AsRock say thanks.
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,997 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    Just what i was going say go buy a switch from RS maybe install it to a spare 3 1/2 drive bay ?. just make sure you solder the wires right and cover them up with some electrical tape or even if you can find a switch that has the cover already with it.
     
  8. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    OMG thats a brilliant Idea.
    I cant believe I didnt think of it :D.

    Thankyou everyone for your ideas!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page