1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSOD at random times in the last 4 days - Help pls

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by jonathan1107, Aug 10, 2012.

  1. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
  2. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,078 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,275 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Unstable overclocks of CPUs, Ram, GPUs and VRam can cause such issues.

    You maybe overclocked pretty high but as a suggestion to troubleshooting is to back the CPU clock down to factory and see if the issues disappear. If the issues do then your CPU/Mobo/Ram have unstable clock speeds/timings.

    Sometimes throwing voltage is 50/50% of fixing issue or not. Check for Voltage Droop on that board

    Normally BSODs can be unfixable thus resulting in a OS Reinstall which is a cleanslate install.


    http://www.aumha.org/a/stop.htm

    the following errors from your dump file

    http://www.aumha.org/a/stop.php#0x1e

    http://www.aumha.org/a/stop.php#0x0a


    database of most common BSOD codes
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  4. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,078 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    How so, I've had my fair share of BSOD's and they were all fixable (with 90% being bad RAM)
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,275 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Its happened with me and the ram, cpu, gpu, motherboard were all fine, it was something in the OS causing the issue and a fresh format fixed it all.


    *Team Fire ShiBDiB, clean your Goggles LOL*
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  6. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok guys. Hear me out:

    Here's a recap of everything I've done so you can have a better idea of my situation and help me out.

    A) I've been having BSODs. They happen when I playcatan online (which is an internet browser game... nothing fancy, java scripted game...) and when I play "Assassin's Creed Revelations". MOSTLY when I play Assassin's creed revelations. I googled a bit, and found out that I'm not the only one with this issue:

    http://www.sevenforums.com/crashes-...le-playing-assassins-creed-browser-games.html
    This guy has the same problem than me (EXACTLY the same...)

    My Observations: : I've noticed that I tend to get BSODs in Assassin's creed after about 20 min - 45 min gameplay... I also noticed that after first installing the game, the game ran PERFECTLY smooth at 60 FPS (all the time). It is only after 2 days that I started to notice my FPS becoming VERY unsteady (going from 40 to 60fps) and even when it reaches 60 it doesn't stay 60... it hovers around 57 ... 58 ... 60 ... and when CUTSCENES from ACR come in, I get drops when the camera angle changes...

    So I now know 2 things: My BSODs happen when I play ACR or playcatan, and ACR's unsteady FPS appeared at the same time I started getting BSODs... Very important: My FPS is Perfectly Stable and up there in other games like Diablo 3 and Skyrim and the Witcher 2... so something's up with ACR... dunno what

    What I've done to solve the problem:

    - Uninstall - re-install ACR
    - SCAN for malware and viruses
    - CLEAN re-install of w7 (I wiped clean my SSD and re-installed everything... I only kept my other Hard drive with all my docs and games intact...)
    - I checked every single piece of hardware in my PC
    - I removed one stick of RAM and ran without the other, than I did the same with the other, still getting Weird FPS inconsistency in ACR...
    - I RESTORED factory defaults of my Bios (no more overclock)
    - I installed the latest ATI drivers and flipped the switch of my card back to normal bios...
    - I checked all my temps, and ALL my temps are Perfect. I tested my CPU and Hard drives with stress tests, and they're all good.

    Yet I still have BSODs while playing ACR. I really don't know what's causing those BSODs...
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,275 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Run your cpu with less overclock. Also is that game patched?
  8. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    Here's my LATEST BSOD .dmp text file:

    ==================================================
    Dump File : WD-20120815-1832.dmp
    Crash Time : 8/15/2012 6:32:18 PM
    Bug Check String :
    Bug Check Code : 0x00000117
    Parameter 1 : fffffa80`081de4e0
    Parameter 2 : fffff880`03cfa250
    Parameter 3 : 00000000`00000000
    Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000000
    Caused By Driver : atikmpag.sys
    Caused By Address : atikmpag.sys+9250
    File Description :
    Product Name :
    Company :
    File Version :
    Processor : x64
    Crash Address : watchdog.sys+a577
    Stack Address 1 :
    Stack Address 2 :
    Stack Address 3 :
    Computer Name :
    Full Path : C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\Kernel_0_0_cab_12a8a247\WD-20120815-1832.dmp
    Processors Count : 8
    Major Version : 15
    Minor Version : 7600
    Dump File Size : 506,355
    ==================================================
  9. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    I restored "default factory settings" in the BIOS, so I got NO OC at the moment...

    And yes, ACR is patched with the latest update
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,610 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
    AMD/ATi Driver issue. Way to fix it? Try different drivers and make sure to thoroughly uninstall each time.
  11. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    Just got another BSOD while playing Assassin's creed revelations... :(

    Man, I so don't know what to do anymore... I get the "hardware failure" BSOD while playing assassin's creed revelations...
  12. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    Alright did the following:

    - Furmark burn-in test for 20mins... no artifacts or crashes, min temp = 45 max = 80
    - Memtest for 6 passes, no errors

    I'm now gonna do some S.M.A.R.T tests on my drives
    Jetster says thanks.
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,275 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Read these for help

    http://www.sysnative.com/forums/showthread.php/35-Video-TDR-Timeout-0x116-0x117

    http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f299/bsod-random-blue-screen-603474.html

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff557271(v=vs.85).aspx

    http://www.sevenforums.com/crashes-debugging/80816-crashes-bluescreens-year-no-solution-found.html

  14. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Sorry if you have already ran Memtest 86+ but here's the link which makes Memtest 86+ install on a USB and bootable.

    Make sure you do not have anything vital on the USB key.
    http://www.memtest.org/#downiso

    I personally think it could be RAM or motherboard related even though windows states it is ATi driver related.

    I have had problems like this in the past and windows would accuse all sorts of files as being the reason for the BSODs when in actual fact it was indeed hardware related.

    In my case it has ranged from Memory controller to memory.
    Since you have an i7, hopefully it is not the on chip memory controller and rather the memory.
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,275 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Ive had that happen before too, normally a bad overclock is always the culprit of BSODs ive noticed

  16. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    I've reduced my OC to something way more "safe" altho it was already stable (according to all stress tests I did...)

    Anyhow, I did the memtest using my USB drive, I got a link from someone else who's also trying to help me... on windows 7 forums...

    None of us have been able to pin-point the culprit in this situation, I'm starting to think that my HDDs in Raid 0 might be the problem.

    Here's why: Read the thread (if you have time and really wanna help me, I've uploaded many Benchmark results and other useful hardware info... it's got 2 pages like this one)

    http://www.sevenforums.com/crashes-...es-2-times-day-last-4-days-2.html#post2052834
  17. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    WELL What do you know! Frigging Game studios just can't life their "pinky" to optimize their games for PC properly now can't they !?!

    Well guess what? The cause of my problem was Assassin's Creed Revelations V-Sync !!
    When I turned it off, my FPS sky rocketted and became super stable... no more BSOD, no more instability...

    But I HATE playing without V-Sync, so I tried forcing it thru CCC, same problems... then I remembered that AWEsome D3D overrider tool which I had used on metro 2033 in the past, and so I tried it... and guess what? Everything is Flawless now in AC revelations...

    Gosh I just hate it how they just "port" their crap onto a DVD and call it a PC game and sell it for the same price than their "properly optimized" counter parts on those "out-dated" consoles...

    Glad this is over, forgive my out burst, been trying literraly Everything the last 6 days...

    So if you guys play Assassin's creed (ever) on your PC, use D3D overrider if you want V-Sync, beats the "in-game" V-Sync Hands down!
  18. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    Quick question: How can I get the S.M.A.R.T. values for my 2x WD hdds in Superspeed config?
  19. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    I had to do the same with the first Dead Space. No BSOD but lots of other game issues, once i turned to V-sync off all was well. shot straight to 199 fps but for some reason it didnt tear at all and the controls became much more responsive. I hear ya about these lazy PC ports. Hopefully the next gen consoles will give us some love since hardware will be more similar.
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,149 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,960
    Cooler clean? Cpu over heating? But I'm with Mailbag it sounds like a software glitch.
  21. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If your drive, OS drivers, and/or I/O controller supports it, then you will need to try some of the programs that claim to support it.

    You can begin your search here --> Comparison of S.M.A.R.T. tools

    Hard Drive Support in Acronis® Drive Monitor™ This free to use for personal use.

    You can direct download English US version here -->Acronis Drive Monitor

    Some quoted useful info from the above page:
    jonathan1107 says thanks.
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,275 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    i normally shut off SMART on a drive to reduce performance/compatibility issues

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page