1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bsod: Graphics_driver_tdr_fault

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Valenciente, Aug 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Greetings TPU,

    A dear friend of mine have had a longrunning problem now. I've tried a lot of different solutions, but nothing seems to fix the problem.

    We've tried formatting his computer with a different OS and much more; he also have the newest drivers for his graphics card and everything else.

    His hardware is as follows:
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    MOBO: DFI Lanparty LT X48-T2R
    RAM: 2x2GB DDR2 (Can't remember the brand)
    GPU: 2xATi HD3870 in CrossFire (512mb each)

    I've also dugged out his crash dump file, so if anyone would like to have a look at it, here goes:

    I know it's a display problem, and I'm pretty sure it probably one of his cards that have some sort of problem. Any suggestions before I tell him to get a new card?

    Thanks,
    Valen

    P.S. There is no Overclocking of any kind on the system.
    P.P.S. This almost only happens when playing World of Warcraft. I've recently updated his drivers to the newest available, which seemed to make the problem worse.
     
  2. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,351 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    HEAT (inside the VGA cover and cooler because of massive dust) or a dead VGA is my bet...
     
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Have you tried the 3870's card seperately to see which one may be problematic?
     
    mastrdrver and Valenciente say thanks.
  4. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Come to think of it; We did try with one card at one point, but never got to try out the second one.

    I live kind of far away from him, and he's not exactly tech savvy, so nothing happens if I ain't visiting him.

    I'll try to get his brother to do that for him tomorrow, thanks for reminding me.
     
  5. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hi guys. I realize this is an old thread, but I completedly forgot about it. And as he's still having the problem, I thought I'd dig futher into it.

    So, we've determined that he still gets the error with either of his 3870's.
    Also, I've currently borrowed my 5850 to him, as I'm not using it at the moment.
    He STILL gets the error, however it's much less frequent.

    I've read around a bit on the web, and from what I've gathered it can be related to his motherboard's VGA BIOS. Any ideas on that? (I don't know much about BIOS's)

    Any thoughts on what might help here?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,302 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    I would bet there is a PCIe clock or timing issue, try a different motherboard, or bump the voltage to the northbridge a few tenths.
     
    Valenciente says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,141 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    What power supply is he running?
    Also make sure that the PCIe power saving is off in the power options.
    more on AMD Game forum
     
    Valenciente says thanks.
  8. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    @Steevo: Thanks for the suggestion, but we don't have another motherboard to try :( I'll give the voltage bump a shot though.

    @mastrdrver: At the moment he's running an Antec. Not sure which exact model. But it have happened with several different PSU's, including Corsair and OCZ. I'm pretty sure the PCIe power saving option is off, but I'll have a look. Thanks.

    And we've already tried about a ton of the suggestions on that site, no luck :( My own best bet would be his system RAM, something also suggested at that site. I dont have any DDR2 ram anywhere though, so we can't really try that >.<
     
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,810 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,344
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    if there still err on it try to check the bios, try to check the vga part, clock, voltage and so
    how bout the voltage? Is that enough?
    Does it start periodically or like that
    have you checked the heat: vga, the chipset, processor
     
    Valenciente says thanks.
  10. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    The bios is really just using default value's, but I'll have a look at it.

    The error ONLY happens when playing World of Warcraft. And it's totally random at that..
    (Another friend I play with is also getting this kind of graphics driver crashing while playing WoW, but he's using nVidia)
    He can play for hours on end, and the graphics driver just stops, giving him a black screen. Most of the time it will start back up, so he can play again. The amount of time it takes to start up the graphics driver is also quite random. Sometimes it takes 5 seconds, and at times it can take around a minute.
    Now and then his computer crashes into a bluescreen as well, but it's much less frequent now that he uses my 5850.

    There is no trouble with the heat at all, I've checked a dozen of times.
     
  11. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,141 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    If it is system memory causing the problem have him burn memtest86+ to a cd and boot from the cd. Let it loops for a few hours as it can take time sometimes for errors to show.

    Do you know yet if it even happens with the card you loaned to him?
     
    Valenciente says thanks.
  12. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I'll try the memtest as well when he visits me next time.

    It does happen with my card as well. It's much less frequent, but it does happen.
     
  13. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,141 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Might also have him check the voltages of the psu too.
     
    Valenciente says thanks.
  14. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    He just old me yesterday that as far as he remembers, this problem didn't happen with his old PSU. So it might actually be his newer PSU from Antec. I'll have to check up on the voltages of it, and maybe lend him my spare PSU (which I've never had any such problems with) to test if that works.

    Thanks.
     
  15. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,141 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Is he using molex 4-pin to PCIe power adapters to power the cards? Most (not all) Antec units are have "multiple rails" so it could be that (if he is using adapters) be overloading one of the rails.
     
  16. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I'm pretty fairly 99% sure that he isn't using any adapters.
     
  17. lemoen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Problem solved by memory voltage change

    I had TDR faults several times a day for weeks - very frustrating. I swapped out components (RAM, PSU, graphics card) and fiddled with BIOS settings to no avail, until I read some advice to newbies about taking some care with RAM voltages.

    I bumped my RAM voltage up from the recommended 1.65 V to 1.8 V and the problem went away instantly - haven't had a single BSOD for over a week.
     
  18. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    987 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Good for you, but I doubt it is relevant in this 3 year old thread about 3000 Ati Radeon series (finally I get to say Ati :rockout:)
     
  19. lemoen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well it's one of the top pages that comes up when you Google TDR faults. And the subject is "Bsod: Graphics driver tdr fault". But hey, the road to hell is paved with good intentions.
     
  20. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Depending on the hardware installed in a system it is not recommended in all cases to up voltage to 1.8 as it may damage CPU memory controller *if on cpu die

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
  21. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Ha! Well said! :)
     
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,298 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,091
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That will kill the IMC on an Intel CPU very quickly. I strongly recommend against this. If you're not running at stock, you should revert everything now and try again.
     
  23. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    A think a mod should lock this or something... o.o
     
  24. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Why? There's nothing wrong with this thread; I like it. :)
     
  25. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Well it's 3 years old, no longer relevant whatsoever, and getting highly off-topic. But maybe I'm just being grumpy :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page