1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSOD in 3D games

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Side Effect, May 1, 2011.

  1. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everybody, I'm new to this forum, I've always been reading things up on here and I've always found it very helpful, thanks for that.

    Lately my computer has been BSOD'ing frequently and I ran out of ideas what to do/buy and test.

    Information as follows:

    System Setup

    Video card: Gigabyte HD6950 2gb
    Memory: 4gb GeiL, it's really crap.
    Motherboard: MSI P55M-GD45
    Processor: Intel i5-750
    PSU: Zalman ZM770-XT
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
    HD: 3 x SATA 7200rpm

    All components are running at stock and have never been overclocked.

    The system started crashing when I installed Windows 7 64-bit and I had an XFX HD5850 and a 550W PSU. When I had Windows 7 32-bit the screen would go a random colour, mainly the colour that was dominant on the screen at the time, sometimes the screen would go into standby mode. This weird occurrence persisted in 64-bit.

    It never BSOD'd in 32-bit, only the standby issue.

    So after being a little fed up with this I bought the HD6950, thought the problem would be solved, I was wrong. The random lockups were gone, thankfully, but the BSOD happened more frequently. I bought the Zalman then after reading this(link below) thread.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140483

    It didn't help either. The computer crashes in Crysis 2, GuildWars, GTA IV, Starcraft 2 and World of Warcraft.

    Could it be DX11? GW still uses DX9 it seems.

    I ran memtest86+ found no problems with 7 passes.
    BIOS Update is current.
    Everything that needs to be updated is current.

    Currently running Catalyst 11.4. Ran driver sweeper before I installed it.

    I'm currently in the process of replacing the memory and motherboard. Let's hope the crashing hasn't damaged any other components.

    Error details as found in event viewer:

    - <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>2</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-05-01T07:01:09.520012300Z" />
    <EventRecordID>23581</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>APC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    - <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">2684354561</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x5</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">false</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

    EDIT: Additional Information

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 7177

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: a0000001
    BCP1: 0000000000000005
    BCP2: 0000000000000000
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: 0000000000000000
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\050211-21730-01.dmp
    C:\Users\MyNameHere\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-36145-0.sysdata.xml

    I'll be more than happy to send any additional information required. I don't game that often but when I do I really expect to play with no disturbances.

    Mods, feel free to move the thread, couldn't find a specific area to put it.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited: May 2, 2011
  2. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    first thing that comes to my mind....
    as there is no apparent problem, I would slightly increase memory voltage to keep them stable or/and loosen memory timings, for the same reason....

    try this and let me know...
    Godd luck!
    Side Effect says thanks.
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    can you record the temps when you are playing? that of you GPU and CPU.
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yaeh, make sure your memory is set to spec according to the spec sheet for that memory. You'll probably have to manually enter timings and voltage info for it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys, thanks for the replies.

    tzitzibp, I upped the voltage from the recommended 1.5 to 1.65, the system seems more stable. Will report back if the system crashes again. It used to crash at 1.65 with my old RAM.

    de.das.dude, Temperatures, CPU at load is 60, GPU at 67.

    I will try to use additional cooling.

    Pretty certain it's the motherboard and/or RAM as I went cheap on them.

    Thank you. Will keep you posted.
  6. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    most probably the RAM.
    your CPU temp is high, but not to cause crashing.


    one more thing. stress the CPU with a tool and use CPU-Z to check if the core voltage is stable or fluctuating. too wide fluctuation in volts may cause crash.
    Side Effect says thanks.
  7. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Currently trying to force a BSOD, maxing out settings on all games. Not happening...yet.

    de.das.dude, I increased CPU fan speed, temp dropped to 45/46, a little better I guess?

    I ran HeavyLoad and checked voltages on CPU-Z, initial spikes at 1.1V(idle 0.9V). After it reaches 100% load it stabilizes at 0.933-0.960V

    If there are problems with the RAM, any recommendations on a new set as well as a decent motherboard?

    Thanks
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I wouldn't worry about it. Your RAM is probably unstable at whatever settings the board auto-selected for it. It's rare for your memory to get the correct settings right out of the box, usually you have to manually set timings, frequency, voltage and all that good shit.
    Side Effect says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Hat, appreciate it the help. I'm not too good with hardware settings and things like that, so every bit of advice is golden.
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    dont think the voltage is the problem but i doubt it as i dont have any idea about intel :p
  11. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    And I'm back. Was busy playing GuildWars and the computer crashed twice in close succession.

    RAM running at 1.65V. Temperatures were normal.

    Could it be due to faulty RAM/Motherboard/Processor?

    Maybe HD dying causing a bad install of the OS?

    It's a little frustrating. Hopefully it isn't damaging the other components.

    Any input will be greatly appreciated.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,883 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,963
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You have 4 power conecntors for hte videocard, correct? have you tried using the other two?
  13. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cadaveca, no I haven't tried that yet. The PSU provides enough cables for the power to the card.

    The little connectors that came with the gfx card need to be connected through other cables. I'll be sure to try them all during the week. I'll also clean the motherboard and all connectors while I'm at it.
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    You mean these?

    [​IMG]

    You really shouldn't be using those. These adapters are meant to be used as a last resort to get a card running if you don't have a power supply with PCI-E cables. Your power supply does have PCI-E cables on it already, I suggest ditching the adapters and using the ones on your power supply.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Hat, Yes, it's those ones that came extra. I don't use them at the moment.

    As mentioned above, I'm already using the ones directly from the PSU(the 2x 6 pin ones), they plug directly into the card.

    Sorry if my previous post was a little ambiguous.
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Looks like your video card, power supply, and memory should be good to go looking at the original post. Maybe it's the cpu or the board. If I had to choose between the two, I'd say board. Before you go replacing it, try running a chkdsk (drive properties > tools > error checking, make sure both boxes are checked and start). Maybe a reinstall of Windows is in order as well.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'll be sure to install Windows again. I ran chkdsk. Will do a format and a full clean install today. If it crashes again I might as well start looking for a sandy bridge CPU + Mobo I guess.

    Thanks for the help thus far

    EDIT: Formatted HD after running chkdsk. Problem still persists.

    I was told that maybe due to a power spike something on the motherboard was damaged and the CPU might not be receiving the correct power.
    Last edited: May 4, 2011
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Try clearing your CMOS. Your motherboard manual should tell you how to do that. I've seen many strange issues be fixed by clearing the CMOS.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay so I tried resetting the CMOS, what a fun adventure that was. The system still crashed.

    Then I tried to turn off the CPU Phase control. No result.

    Seriously keen to simply buy a new CPU + Mobo + Ram
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Man, I'd really hate to see you throw more money down and still not have the issue resolved... not saying that would happen, but this seems to be a very strange issue. Sorry I couldn't help you more. :(
    Side Effect says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    just a thought try underclocking your gpu see if it's stable. i recently had memory on a video card go corupt and i was pulling my hair out trying to find the issue. i dropped 100mhz off the core and mem, and it worked just fine. worth a shot, before spending all that money.
    Side Effect says thanks.
  22. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,077 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    99.9999999999999998% sure its the RAM... over volting bad RAM doesnt fix it... Try a friends RAM in your computer to see if it solves the problem.
    Side Effect says thanks.
  23. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ShiBDiB, you're the 3rd person to tell me it's the RAM :) I'll be sure to test it out this out tomorrow. (Test today)

    d3fct, I really don't like messing with my Gfx card but I will give that a shot too.

    hat, no worries mate, you're advice was good, i'll be sure it will come in handy sooner than later.

    Thanks again for the support, will update once I've tried all the additional methods.
  24. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    sorry to see the problem persist ...
    from what i figured up to now, its 90% RAM Issue....try a different set if u can to see if that fixes it! I give 10 % to faulty memory slot! (ie mobo problem)
    Side Effect says thanks.
  25. Side Effect New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    d3fct, dropping the core speeds didn't help either :(

    So I tried a different set of RAM, well more accurately, a single stick of RAM, I left GuildWars running, no problems so far. It's been going for 5 hours, usually it crashes after 30mins - 1hr.

    This is actually awesome news as I can buy a decent set of Corsair or Kingston now and save some money for either Bulldozer or Ivy Bridge in the upcoming future

    Thanks for the help up to now, appreciate it alot. Will update within the next 24 hours.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page