1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSOD on lightly overclocked X58+980x

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by vziera, Apr 19, 2012.

  1. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    Last night(around 10PM) I tried to run prime blend with this setting:

    [​IMG]
    Not BCLK overclocking, it's multiplier overclocking

    [​IMG]
    I bumped up the QPI voltage because the qpi is x24, please anyone confirm that bumping up qpi voltage is in fact unecessary at that speed.


    And then in the morning I got this:

    [​IMG]
    o_O

    [​IMG]
    in view event logs(windows), it's reported that the BSOD occured around 8:08AM

    any clue? thoughts?
  2. Kast

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    124 stop error is usually means not enough vcore
    vziera says thanks.
  3. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,904 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Rochester area
    needs MOAR VCORE
    vziera says thanks.
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Qpi/vtt
    vziera says thanks.
  5. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    vcore or ram voltage is x124. not qpi/vtt IIRC
    vziera says thanks.
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,292 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    i don't think it's the ram voltage at 1.65v i think he needs to bump the cpu voltage up to around 1.280 or 1.300v bcs it's an 6core not just quad-core so i think that will be oki to try.
    vziera says thanks.
  7. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    But it's just 3.73ghz which is just 133mhz faster than the stock max turbo boost ratio, why more vcore? and normally, for an EE chip that tiny increase should not require anything right?

    and actually I've previously got 124 BSOD at stock speed as well! strange aint it?
    This chip was once ocd to 5.9ghz 1.7v by the seller I've bought it from(like 2 years ago)
  8. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    490 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Put your cpu and qpi/vtt voltage @ 1.3v and see how that goes. Bump the memory slightly too, @ say 1.675-1.7. If this crashes then u have another problem! Dont u love troubleshooting? :)
    vziera says thanks.
  9. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    How long should the prime95 test go before you call it stable?
    and looks like you got a golden chip there, might want to share your configuration recipe with me ;)

    oh and I do love shootable troubleshooting
  10. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    490 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Well it depends. I can b prime stable but then play games and have it crash on me. Youll just have to dick around testing. Some people go 24h others 30mins. Its up2 u. Id say as a general rule if it can pass a couple of hours your sweet. Then play sum games (if u do) and then reassess.
  11. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    so no definite measure I take it, well that sucks
    as you can see in the first post, I get BSOD after 10 hours of prime but never had issue in games +_+

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page