1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSOD With Vista plz help

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Dbiggs9, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    408 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    I seem to have a BSOD issue with my pc. I use windows Vista been using it for over a yr now with never a issue till now. When i boot right when the Desktop shows up BSOD. It's says IRQ_Not_less_equal. These are things i have done.
    Installed Vista (Quick Format)
    Installed Vista (Full Format New raid setup)
    Installed Vista X64
    Installed XP / XP
    Installed windows 7
    installed New drivers
    Installed old Drivers
    Changed all Setting to stock.
    Changed Ram Slots
    Changed HDD ports
    Changed Heat sink

    Not sure what more i can do here i checked everything. i cant seem to get away from my BSOD.
     
  2. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    given what you've tried it sounds like a potential hardware failure....
     
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Seems like it's one ur hdd's. Put each one in, one at a time. Install the os on it and boot. See if that fixes the prob.
     
  4. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Bad overclock or bad driver on some new hardware, happens to me quite a bit.
    My USB wifi dongle is infamous for it.
     
  5. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    I think is your raid, you are not using the correct drivers.
     
  6. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    408 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Maybe my ram i get less BSOD @ 800mhz over 1066(rated speed)

    I no nothing about raids only that i need one. I Have 2x250g Seagate about 3m old.
    They are in Sata Slots 1 and 2 Striped ( i did Notice It says Ports A0-A1 B0-B1 ect. Drives are on port A0 and B1 i dunno why or if it matters)


    Im not overclocking. I used the same Drivers that worked for that last year. Installed Updated drivers and older drivers Same BSOD
     
  7. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Run memtest see if it gives errors.
     
  8. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    408 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Memtest...
    Yields None.....
     
  9. Guru Janitor

    Guru Janitor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    New York
    How long did you run it for? I would run it for at least overnight.
     
  10. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,315 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
    Reset the bios
    Set stock speeds for ram and cpu
    do you have onboard video, if so, remove GPU
    use only one stick ram

    install os
    get stable
    try your overclocks
    put in extra ram
    put in gpu

    good luck
     
  11. DMF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta
    The key being to strip all the devices that you can out of the system. Take it stepwise. At each step if something fails then you have a much better idea of what it is.

    Simplest possible setup: the board, RAM, video (onboard or some older card), keyboard, floppy. Clear NVRAM and reset BIOS (if you've ever flashed it do it again). Run MemTest overnight. If you get any errors, test each stick individually.

    If no errors, add mouse, one HD (no RAID), one optical drive. Install OS. Install NO drivers. Run Prime95 Blend (or something similar) overnight. If any of the threads stop running you've got hardware issues with the core system and you probably can't fix it. Try replacing HD and re-test, then CPU, then MB.

    Then install your video card and video and board drivers. Run Prime95 overnight.

    Then install your game or whatever it is that is most likely to cause your BSOD and try to make it fail.



    BTW, running the system drive as RAID-0 is stupid, IMO.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2008
  12. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    agreed my netgear wifi dongle was killing me I just said screw it and ran a 20ft cat5
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page