1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bsod

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by J-Man, Jul 11, 2007.

  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I am sick of BSOD while I'm gaming and also the "odd" times I get BSOD when I'm listening to music and doing my usual things but this time my computer froze but that's very rare my computer freezes but what I want to know is when I get a BSOD while gaming especially.

    1. Is it possible to take a screen shot of it?

    2. By you looking at the error, how would I know what's causing it

    I'm sorry for making these threads over and over but the others I post in I don't get any more replies from so I thought it was ok to make another.

    Anyone that gets BSOD that says DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL, PDF_FILE_CORRUPT let me know if you have ever had this and how you corrected it and/or what caused it. I think it's PDF_FILE_CORRPUT or something like that. I especially get BSOD while gaming but I'm not sure if it's my graphic card I know my RAM has problems because I ran memtest and when it ran for 10 minutes it found an error and it found 2 in total so I'm getting them sent back and tested and hopefully get a replacement by getting new ones.
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,709 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    You need to let your RAM Memtest run for at least 100%, don't go by time on that test. But you're getting set to get those replaced which is good.

    So do you have different RAM in your PC and still getting BSOD's or same RAM and still getting BSOD's, if you have the same RAM in, then you will probably get BSOD's of variying types like what you've posted until you replace them.
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,709 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    By looking at the error if you have windows set to NOT restart when a BSOD apprears you can write down the error code and the title (IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR....) and google it. You will be able to find out some information that way, that's how I found that the IRQL_NOT_LESS... and DRIVER_IRQL.. can both be memory related and to run Memtest to verify. Hope that helps!
  4. shoe16

    shoe16 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    225 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    proc isnt stable. ive got that before. lower your clock or mess with your ram timings to get it stable
  5. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Considering you're overclocking, I'd set everything back to stock, or test the overclock with Orthos for at least an hour, otherwise, leave it running for a whole 24 hours for complete stability test.
    It's not possible to take a screenshot of a BSOD, AFAIK, but noting down the problem is easy enough.
    DRIVER_IRQL[...] points to graphics problems. Sometimes it elaborates more, meaning you can diagnose whether it's just the graphics driver getting stuck in an infinite loop, or whether the card is getting errors.
    Never encountered PDF[...] though.
  6. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Wow, I took too long to type, so I didn't see the other suggestions.
    But for one thing, I just rememnber that there was a thread about 8800 BSODs and a fix.
    IIRC thread by d44ve, I'll have a look.
  7. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I have the same Corsair PC2-6400 RAM in (2GB) and I requested an RMA today so I'm waiting for a reply so I can return them and get them replaced, hopefully I shouldn't get charged if they test them their end they should get errors too and if so I'll get a replacement and they should test them on their PC and if they work I'll get those so I'm hoping so. I'm sick of this computer sometimes. Actually. I got a BSOD a minute ago. DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL and it says at the bottom something like processr.sys.
  8. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Found the thread:
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=31266
    I don't have an 8800, so I can't say whether this works, never tried it, don't know if you're having the same problem, but it's worth a read.

    EDIT: If it says processor.sys, it's a different problem, with... the processor! Or I'd guess at least.
    Probably the ACPI driver that's the problem.
    I don't know about a fix for this.
  9. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Wow. Loads of people viewing the topic :D. Watch out, I'll get another BSOD in a minute.
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,528 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    @ O.P. I just went through a bout with IRQ...... the important part is the STOP:0x0000....
    If you google the stop numbers it usually leads you to( in a round about way) the problem.

    Just so you know everytime I got said IRQ..... It was my RAM!
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,709 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yep that's right! D44Ve had a tweaking and fixes for 8800's up somewhere. I read through it, good article, you may have some more stuff yet to do to your PC J-Man but the work will be worth it in the end if you stay persistent! :toast: Ripper will getcha that link and you'll have more stuff to do, but it may help you for the time being. But it is a good idea to set and keep everything stock, the more you push your RAM the more chances of BSOD's when it's getting errors in memtest. On the orthos deal, if your proc can't pass an hour, then you're either choking it for voltage, pushing too hard, or have permanently damaged it and it is going faulty, but I wouldn't stress about your CPU too much yet. CPU's are pretty hardy when properly cooled and not overvolted at least in my experience. I still have an old P4 Williamette (first P4) that runs like a champ, granted wouldn't OC for much, and ran pretty warm, it still runs good and it's a good 5-6 years old and very, very well used!

    But like I said before, if you're still running that memory that you need to RMA, you will most likely get BSOD's even if they point to something else, there's still a large chance your memory is the culprit due to the fact that your RAM is a main component for anything that does information transfers, which is just about everything save the fans. But keep your head up man, you'll be back up to par soon enough! :toast:
  12. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Hope so. I will write down the stop code when I come across another BSoD :(.
  13. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,709 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    You can do your best to fight and correct the errors causing the BSOD's but if it turns out your memory is culprit you may be spinning circles right now. But you should at least look into them, I hope all your errors are solved with your memory RMA so you can be back up and running! RMA does suck, but at the same time it's nice to have it for when something does fail. All we can do is hope that once you get the memory in and everything tweaked and setup up again, that you'll be good to go! :toast:
  14. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Well I am downloading the NVIDIA ForceWare 162.18 beta. Before I had the 158.22 installed but I doubt it's my graphic card driver.
  15. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    When you get a BSOD the system is basically hanging. The OS itself is no longer in operation (Im pretty sure). So you cant printscreen, you have to take a photo with the camera.
    Usually if you google the error Microsoft will have something regarding it including some possible fixes.
  16. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I can use my mobile to take a clear picture since it's one of those expensive ones with 3.2 megapixel cameras :D.
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,528 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    If you really want a BSOD start up MSN mesenger or the like and run a game with WMP running in background .....or just orthos and WMP will usually do it for me if something is off.
  18. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Dude, if you get a BSOD from running MSN, WMP and a game, your PC is royally screwed.
    I'm able to run virus scanner, MSN, XFire, WMP, monitoring software, Setpoint, Steam, uTorrent, Daemon Tools, Opera and a game without a BSOD. So can about sx other people I know.
    I have friends that don't stop playing music on their PCs, even when in-game. Never had problems.
  19. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Not necessarily. If its driver or overclock related it could easily happen.
    If youve ruled out drivers, unstable overclock and overheating...THEN your royally screwed :D
  20. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,528 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    If you read the whole post ...I said if something is off(like the RAM is tweaked too far) Under normal conditions NO, a pc should not BSOD with said apps running!

    As the O.P. states music and gaming seem to cause the issue, so the MSN was just extra overload for a BSOD to show itself.
  21. Glitched System New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    213 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I often get the BSOD with the same error when booting Win Vista 32 bit.
  22. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    True, heheh. :D

    I thought you were going from personal experience. You :slap: Me

    When I'm tired, and skim reading, I tend to miss obvious things, heh.
  23. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Well I hope it's my RAM cause I RMA'd it so I should get a replacement.
  24. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Did you reset your bios to default?
  25. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Yes, I updated BIOS and reseted them.

    I ran Prime95 yesterday and after the test it found an error. But this isn't the only BSoD I've got.

    [​IMG]

    I will take a picture of the BSoD about the most common BSoD I get while gaming and or while just listening to music and posting/doing my usual when I get it again.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page