1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSODs with newly installed HD 4850 on Win 7 64bit - Help needed please

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by LifeOnMars, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Hi guys, previously had a GTX 275 installed in my rig but downgraded today to a HD 4850 for various reasons. Thought I would try my luck with the already installed windows, ran driver sweeper and cleared all of the old Nvidia stuff of there, rebooted, installed cat 10.2, restarted and everything seemed fine. Ran WOW for my girlfriend and within 1-2 mins it crashed to desktop and then I got a BSOD. Checked temps out and they are excellent as this particular card has an accelero fitted.

    Decided, what the hell I'll do a fresh install to make sure there are no driver conflicts, reinstalled, installed drivers and seemed fine. Went on internet and BANG another BSOD within a minute. Currently running in safe mode typing all this which is absolutely fine and no issue - any ideas on possible problems and how I can rectify this please?
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    whats the error code on the BSOD?? Have you tried googling that??
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Did you check GPU temps and VRM temps or just GPU?
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Using GPUz I checked all of the temps all were at 40-50 and that was after 1-2 mins of WOW.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Make sure DirectX is updated. Since WoW is an older game and I've heard of others having problems with newer cards, and since it's working fine in safe mode try not installing CCC. Just go with the standalone driver.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  6. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I actually took a print screen of it, which bit of it all do I google as I have never had one
    before :D
     
  7. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I'll try that now mate, thanks.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    theres usually some sort of error code or at least a minor discription of what caused the BSOD near the bottom of it - google that part of it or upload the pic
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  9. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    [​IMG][/IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    The code to google is 0x00000116
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    seems to be an issue with Nvidia drivers.
     
  12. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I don't have any installed now, I did a fresh install. It looks like a driver issue for sure and I'm wondering on the compatability of the drivers with my build of windows 7 64bit which is 7600, it says on ATI site they are not compatible. I'm going to try erockers suggestion and then an early set of the 9xxx series drivers.
     
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    wait....its saying ati 10.2 drivers arent compatible with Win7 x64?
     
  14. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    No sorry, RC or beta - what is 7600 because i don't know ? :D:shadedshu:D
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    7600 is supposedly the RTM/Final build. but Ive ran a pretty 'early' 7600 build where it 'locked' some features out so in a sense its not quite RTM.....

    ----

    Try getting a more uptodate installation CD. & see if it makes any difference. It might - it might not. but I think theres very little difference between 7600 RC & RTM.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  16. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    OK, well I tried just the driver and bsod on 64 bit....trying 32 bit ,so far its ok but doing all the drivers now and will let you know.
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    Im not sure the 32bit drivers will work on a x64 system but good luck
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page