1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Budget board for an AMD 6000

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Atnevon, Jun 20, 2008.

  1. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    439 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138106
    BIOSTAR A770 A2+ AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard

    or

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128014
    GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

    So I got a 6000 for 75bucks NIB. Yay for me. So I am looking for the budget build, and looking for a decent mobo. I cam across these 2, and wondering what you all think.

    Also, if you have any recommendation of other boards, I am well open to those as well. THis is my first AMD build, so not really all that knowledgable of what lies outside the realm of Intel.

    And before it starts, I have the CPU already. PLEASE No Intel pursuation. Then agian, its bound to happen.

    Thanks TPU,
    -Andrew
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The BIOSTAR for sure! they make some quality stuff!
  3. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    For under $100 the AMD 780G isn't a bad choice.
  4. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
  5. Sly.P.I. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm after the same help!!

    Hi All.

    I have a technical question and have searched high and low for an answer but
    can't find one hence my email.

    I'm looking to build a new system (upgrading from opteron 165 on asus 3200 xfire board)
    and have a 5000+ BE and hd3850 gpu.

    I'm not fussed about multiple gpu's so initially thought i'd go for the 770 north bridge.


    BUT i'm now thinking 780g north bridge in the hope that it will off load some of the jobs from the gpu
    namely physx processing.

    Is this true?

    I know hd3850 will not work with hybrid crossfire (which is a real shame since the card is nearly new!)

    So will the 780g do anything when I've plugged my hd3850 in??

    Will it in XP or is that reserved for the great Vista!!



    Next quick question..

    I was going to settle for the sb600 but upon reading reviews it seems sata and USB performance is slow.
    So now I'm thinking sb700, which is already paired with most 780g and now paired with 770 on a few boards.

    So is the sb700 much better than sb600 when implemented with 770nb or the 780g?

    Or should I wait (and for how long?) for the sb710/750?

    Some manufacturers have already got pictures of these boards but I have no idea when they'll be out?


    Please reply asap as I really want to get 3.4ghz from my new processor!!

    PS I will prob do it just using multiplier... I'm sick to death of cmos resets after high fsb non-reboots!!!
    Sly.P.I. is online now Report Post Thanks Edit/Delete Message
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,159 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    it is better if try amd 780g gigabyte mobo
    Sly.P.I. says thanks.
  7. Sly.P.I. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So just a couple of questions.

    I like the thought of low power consumption by dissabling the Graphics card for normal use then firing it up for 3d action.

    So much so I'd even use Vista, prob 32bit since I only have 2x1gb of ram and 64bit is heavy on ram....I think??

    So will this feature work with 780g sb700 with later drivers, or never??

    Will it only work on 790gx sb700?

    Thanks to all for your replies!

    Ste
  8. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Some Answers:

    Vista (64) is heavy on RAM because it uses roughly 1GB sitting idle, but 2GB will work just fine if you don't do any heavy gaming. And to my knowledge, Hybrid CrossFire only works with Vista (32 or 64 Bit).

    Anyways, new Radeons do not consume much power to begin with (excluding 4870, 3870X2) and once you enable PowerPlay, the graphics card will clock down when not in heavy use to save energy.
  9. Sly.P.I. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Damn this is frustrating!
    There's an msi 790x board on ebay for £30.
    Maybe a good choice for now!
    I'm sick of waiting!

    I would have liked the 770 + sb700 from biostar, foxconn or jetway but no reviews.

    according to kenkickr sb700 not so good for games!

    sb600 not so good for usb and sata performance

    So I'm stuck...

    Just have a 5000+ BE and some g-skill ram sitting here waiting!

    Can someone save save me??

    Cheers, Steve

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page