1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Budget Build for $500 css, cod4 etc Happy New year!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by GLeN, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Well, instead of getting my q6600 build for xmas, i got a hdtv 26" for my bedroom so im still very very grateful and pleased, I couldnt get it because my mum didnt know what components to get me and where and how etc:laugh: so more mistakes on my part.

    Anyways i got a good bit of money for xmas around 500$usd
    I decided to get a build for the mean time,then if i want to upgrade I can
    I want to put in componets such as the case and maybe mobo that i will keep in my uber build(q6600,8800gt) but can use for the mean time.
    I want this to handle css,bf2 and cod4 if possible, office 2007 and photoshop :D
    Anyone fancy putting together a rig? Would i be able to put in 2gigs of crucical ballistix or go for another set of ram?

    So:
    cpu
    gfx
    ram
    mobo
    hdd
    psu

    Happy new year and hope you all had a merry christmas! What did you all get?:toast:
     
  2. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    My got a PS3 :D merry Xmas to you boyo!

    I bagged some cash also!! I will be spending 500 - 600 Euros mid janurary :D happy buying man!!!
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Like you said Crucial ballistix, Patriot is good ram too. A decent p35 board (Gigabyte/Asus/DFI BloodIron). You may not have the money for an 8800GT so go with something like maybe an 8600GT/HD2600xt, you never know an HD3850 may even be good enough to hold you over.

    What monitor are you using?
    How low are you willing to go for a processor? Maybe e4x00/e2xx0.

    I know I am one to talk but don't slack on power supply, that and the motherboard are the 2 most important parts.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  4. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Gigabyte DS3L
    E2160
    2 gigs DDR2 800
    HD3850

    That is what I recommended for my friend when he asked for a sub $500 computer.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  5. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    my bro got a ps3 too :D It didnt came with a hdmi cable though, cant wait to see what resistance is like in hd!!
     
  6. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,650 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    320
    ^^^ i'd go with that like jc said, get 2gb of ballistix and a good cpu cooler and overclock the nuts off it.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  7. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Yea its the same with me :( the only thing is..I dont have a HDTV :p iam buying one soon! cant wait to see Resistance:FOM run on HD either :toast:

    Good luck with your new build ;)
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  8. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    I will use my 26hdtv for laughs, its optimum res is 1340:768 or close that or i can use a 17 inch 1024 768.

    Im not sure how low, i want a fast one lol amm anything that can hold up with games like css bf2 cod4. other than games, converting movies, internet photoshop. This is the main things i will be using. I may be able to get another 200$ in january though.

    So around 700$usd would be my absolute max for the mean time. hopefully that gives me room to breath. I hear there is a dual core that is cheap but can overclock better than the top of line? e6750? Just firing out random names here because im alittle tired from eating so much :rockout:
     
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    jc316's suggestion is actually a damn nice rig if you clock the processor.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  10. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ also cheap
    4GB DDR2 cheap to!
    Radeon 3850 or 3870 also cheap to

    ;)
    radeon 3870/3850 both have UVD so you can play hd dvd and blu-ray when you get them ;)
    good performace in games to!
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  11. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    he's going q6600 in the future, so a socket 775 rig is what's in order.;)
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  12. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Im hearing that the e2160 is an overclockin monster!, Half the price of the e6750 but when ocd to 3.2 it beats it :laugh:

    What fan would i have to buy to get it to 3.2ghz? The price allows me to get a good one. I dont want water cooling though.

    As with the gfx card, i looked at its benchmarks and decided to go for a 8800gt instead, I will be able to spend a bit more for it :rockout:

    Ah this is getting exciting now, went to pcworld today and nearly got convinced by the low prices but caught myself and now I know what i want :D.

    EDIT: Would that Gigabyte DS3L mobo allow me to oc the cpu to 3.2ghz 1333mhz fsb(Not sure about fsb numbers) without limiting the ram or anypart of the system?

    From the GIGABYTE site: GA-P31-DS3L

    * Because of chipset limitations, do not populate both DIMM sockets of the same channel (e.g. DDRII1 and DDRII2), or populate 4 DIMM sockets with double-sided memory modules to prevent system's failure to start or incorrect detection of memory modules. Please refer to the user manual for the memory configurations table.

    * Because of chipset limitations, when using FSB 1333 MHz CPU with populating all DIMM sockets, memory frequency will be reduced from the original, and system instability or incorrect detection of memory module may be occur.
    Please refer "Memory Support List" for memory support information.


    OR go for the p35 chipset?
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2007
  13. Duxx Guest

    p35. All of the e2xxx series are mosters when you OC them, the e2200 has a multiplier of 11, 10 for e2180, 9 for 2160, and 8 for the 2140, so the higher you go, easier it is to OC to the suggested settings. Im getting the e2200 and hoping to OC it to at least 4.4 with a 400 fsb and then getting the new quads in march. It should hold me over fine. :)
     
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,991
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    This is a good sub $500 budget build. I wouldn't buy ballistix. If you want good overclocking memory on the cheap, try Super Talent. They have a set of DDR2 800 Micron D9's for $51. I've got these, and they clock as well as my Ballistix and run 900, 4-4-3-7 at 2.1v. With 5-5-5-15 timings, I've had them up over 1100mhz with 4 sticks.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  15. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Yea, definitely go for the P35. There's plenty of vendors out there, but the most consistent brands are Asus and Gigabyte. Any P35 mobo from them will definitely treat ya good. For CPU, go for the e2180 for the higher multiplier. Mine goes up to 2.8 on stock, and with my Zalman 9500 it idles at 20 C and I've never seen it break 30 C on full load. You could get away with using the stock, but if you're going to go with a Q6600 or Penryn in the future, then a good cooler is a must. There's plenty of choices out there, but for the price / performance, I went with the Zalman 9500 since it's only ~45 bucks here in the States.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  16. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    The E2200 is only 10$ more than the e2160, so would it give me better results? stock and overclock?

    So those sticks over the ballistx? Are they not dodgy, the name seems dodgy. what are they like for gamin?

    oh what about these http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=T800UX4GC5 4gig set :D I know windows only runs 3gigs but surely these are as good as the 2 gig set
     
  17. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    The e2200 would give you better results since it's 600 mhz faster than the e2140, and has more overclocking headroom because of its higher multiplier.

    The Ballistix are over-rated. They start out at 2.2volts, so you don't have much thermal headroom at all in terms of overclocking. Those SuperTalent are good, and I've been quite happy so far with my G.Skill.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,126 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,187
    Super-Talent makes good RAM, they are new to the business. They only really became popular this year, but they do make good stuff.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,991
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I've got a e2180 for sale. It's only been used as a "in between" chip for about two weeks. $65 shipped.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  20. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Thanks I got this rig sorted very quick, as for paul ill get back to you about that sale. Thanks everyone


    So now Im on to the psu, i need a reliable one as the last one i had went on fire and ruined my pc :(
    it will need to power

    Dual core e2200
    2/4gig of supertalent ram
    xfx 8800gt
    gigabyte mobo
    500gig hdd
     
  21. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,991
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Any psu from PC Power and Cooling, Corsair, Silverstone or OCZ will do. I'm partial to Corsair, as my HX620 had the most stable rails I've ever seen.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  22. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  23. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    go with the Cosair Vx550w http://www.ebuyer.com/product/132563

    this psu is better than the other one that is trying to do too much with being modular and having 3 rails it doesnt have the dependability or reliable clean power supply to your components that this one will have.

    a link to ram: OCZ 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 Memory Gold GX XTC CL5 DUAL CHANNEL £45.99
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/114728
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  24. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Powercolor Radeon2600XT
    AMD Athlon X2 6000+
    A-Data RAM
    Gigabyte mobo.
    Cheap case with cheap power supply.
    Cheap DVD burner
    WD HDD of sorts.
    Doesn't take much to support those games.

    I get 100fps on BF2 maxed, about 140 with CS:S/DOD:S with overclocking on my 2600XT.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  25. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    you need at least somekind of case with somekind of airflow or something. Maybe the case will be 20$ more but its a good investment, unless you plan to upgrade cases.
     
    GLeN says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page