1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Budget Gaming Rig suggestions

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Israar, Jul 5, 2012.

  1. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    473 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Hey Guys and Gals! Long time no see!

    Sorry it's been such a long time and truthfully, with what I have going on at the moment I can't spend the time I would like to on reading up and getting myself back into the know with all the latest tech and deals! :)

    One of my best friends wants me to build him a decent gaming rig, it doesn't have to be super crazy or over powerful! Just enough to play games such as World of Warcraft on decent settings and maybe some Steam games.

    The budget he has is £400 to £450, he needs a case and everything inside as well as Windows 7. He's not fussed whether he has 32bit or 64bit, that is dependable on the build suggestions.

    Hopefully it's not too much a hard task for you legends, but for me right now, it's too much a task for me to take on :S

    Hope to hear back from you guys and gals soon and hope everyone is taking damn good care of themselves!

    --Lee
    theJesus says thanks.
  2. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I tip my hat to whoever pulls this off..
    A "gaming" rig for under 500 bucks.. That is gonna be tough..

    Consider my hat tipped.. Dam nice build there, at an amazing price CD.
    Cases are overrated..lol.. He can wait for a case or not even get one, if he really wants to save money..
    Win 7 without the case, within that price, should be easy enough to find.
    Or tell him to save for another week or something..
    I'd be worth it.
    Israar says thanks.
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have windows 7 pro COA for ya at a good price :)
    Israar and D007 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I made an imaginary build from that website and basically got what you got. Pretty good system.

    EDIT: actually I chose a 7770 rather than a 6870 just because it uses less power. I personally would not use a 6870 with a 430W PSU.
    Israar says thanks.
  6. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    I've used my sisters 6870 with a 300 watt power supply and its currently running on a 380 antec earthwatts, you'll do just fine with picking it over the 7770.
    Israar and Yo_Wattup say thanks.
  7. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    maybe he should wait till trinity desktops come out?
    Israar says thanks.
  8. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,296 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,385
    You will need to consider this or a get a slightly larger PSU- the Corsair 430w has only one PCIE connector (the 500w model has two)
    Israar says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    When I had my Phenom II 940 and Radeon HD 6870 in the same box, my 550-watt PSU wouldn't even boot. I ended up replacing it with an 800-watt Corsair and it worked out of the box, no problem. The 6870 is a good card, just don't skimp on power. It does overclock very well, I might add. 1Ghz core isn't out of the realm of possibility.

    Have fun, my Phemom II 940 and Radeon 6870 at stock speeds would use more than that. She is going to fry something on that machine before you know it.
    Israar says thanks.
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The reason is that the phenom II 940 is a 140W CPU by itself and the I3-2100 is a 65W so he maybe able to get away with it but I wouldn't trust it myself.
    Israar says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    473 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Thanks matey, not looked at the items yet though I will scan through it! I never actually thought anyone would come up with something so quickly, and truthfully from the looks of skimming the links it looks pretty good for the price too! :)

    Again, thank you very much for the VERY fast reply with links too! Really appreciate it! :)

    Let me know how much it costs mate then I can get back to you, though I'm not sure when my friend is actually having this build of his done =)

    So you'd rather go with a 7770 over a 6870 to drop the load weight from the CPU, saying that as I said above I've not fully looked into the build suggestion yet though I will definitely keep my eye on this :) -- Thank you!

    Never even heard of a Trinity Desktops until now, they any good?

    I'll definitely keep this in mind matey, chances are, after going through the list and checking it all out, based on the suggested links and help from you guys I'll more than likely go for a spread which will end up upgrading both, though depends on the budget, if it comes to budget then most likely will end up with which ever is more suitable at the time. Not sure which would be the better choice if to chose one over the other though, normally I'd go PSU over most things due to it being a core part to the system haha! Needs to be decent otherwise it puts the rest of the equipment at risk :S

    Thanks for the very helpful information and suggestions everyone, once I go through the links above I'll get back to you lot and let you know what's going on after I've talked my mate through it all then we can see how it pans out :)

    --Lee
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Why are you eating that womans face in your avatar?
    Israar, adulaamin and Yo_Wattup say thanks.
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937

    they should be. laptop trinitys are awesome. combining 76xx series GPU on board the CPU die. and they are cheap!
  14. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    Good info, i need to build a new rigg now too, on bros lappy atm, im going with matx mobo and big juicy gpu ie small form factor but lots of power haha.
  15. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You can probably save a bit of money knocking the hard drive down a bit. 1TB is an awful lot of storage.

    Maybe something like this http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Stor...3.5" Hard Drive - CLEAN PULL ?productId=48044, that save you ~£20.

    Also if you have a student in the family, check out Software4Students, and also if you know of any NHS employees you can get Win7 for cheaper than off the shelf.

    Edit, and don't forget to have a bit of ££ left over should you need to purchase some SATA cables etc. OEM stuff rarely come with cables.
    Israar says thanks.
  16. Nokiacrazi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Sorry to hijack this thread a little. Wondering about a new build, which would better i5 2500k or i5 3450 bearing in mind I won't be over clocking. The IB one is about £15 cheaper.
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The 3450 would be faster and cheaper if you don't overclock at all, if you decide that you want to overclock though, you're not going to be able to do a whole lot with it though.
    Nokiacrazi says thanks.
  18. Nokiacrazi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Fair enough - if you don't mind, what dya think about this build (for gaming)

    CM Storm Scout + Coolermaster Silent Pro 700W Modular PSU
    Intel Core i5 3450 3.1GHz Socket 1155 6MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Socket 1155 VGA DVI HDMI 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
    G-Skill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX Memory Kit CL9 (9-9-9-24) 1.5V

    And my current 3870 to be upgraded to 7850 when I see a cheap one.
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Not bad, I would opt for the 7870 if I were you though.
  20. Nokiacrazi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Hmm, but the 7870 is quite a lot more expensive but not greatly better performance wise unless I'm mistaken?
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I know that you already said that you don't plan on overclocking but the 7870 is already clocked a lot higher than the 7850 and it also overclocks really well. I keep forgetting that you're not going to be overclocking, but that in itself is reason to get a faster GPU imho.

    According to TPU's own review of the 7870 and 7850, the 7870 is roughly 15% faster than the 7850.

    Take a look for yourself.
    Nokiacrazi says thanks.
  22. Nokiacrazi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I think I'll stick to the 7850 tbh - it won't have a problem fitting in that case will it? Also 700W should be more than enough for the system?
  23. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    In the Storm Scout? It will fit no prob. 700W is overkill for one 7850 and non-OC Ivy Bridge.
  24. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Overkill for overclocking as well. :)
  25. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    600W will be nice

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page