1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Build advice

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by freaksavior, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    First off sorry about the re-post

    Yeah like I said, that's my personal choices with the build. Posted that to give you a couple ideas.

    Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...

    Here's a combo deal with the case & psu.

    2 coupon codes on those that are valid TODAY only
    EMCKBJB37
    EMCKBJB36

    EDIT:

    They are only valid if not purchasing the combo but as seperate :banghead: But it comes out to be $10 cheaper when seperate ;)
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2011
  2. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    About Windows 7 get the 64 bit edition as it is GREAT ! As for the setup the OP has listed I like it all really I do . I am not familiar with DDR3 RAM but Kingston Hyper X RAM ( the kind I have ) Is the best I have ever had . So I would venture to guess that if you can get some in DDR3 then do so .
     
  3. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Yes and no, since I already have a license for every other machine, it's not much use to pay for that at this point.

    i5 is for sure, and again bulldozer if the build doesn't happen. i5 is plenty fast just like my current i7 but this is dedicated for gaming and i5 does pretty damn good at it.

    64 bit is a must, with anything over 3gb of ram and then the video card, it's stupid not to get it. :)


    I have crucial value ram, and it'll overclock to 2133 but I do know the kingston is good stuff.


    Right now with Jr's addons, i'm over the 1500. The SSD is what's killing me.

    $1,497.00 + the Price: $129.99 watercooling loop.

    Code:
    
    2 x SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
    ($59.99 each)
    
    
    XFX HD-695X-CNFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
    $274.99
    
    Team Xtreem LV Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000) Desktop Memory Model TXD34096M2000HC9KDC-L
    $49.99
    
    ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
    $159.99
    
    Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52500K
    $219.99
    
    Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit
    $139.99
    
    LITE-ON Black Internal 12X Blu-ray Combo with SW SATA Model iHES112-29
    $74.99
    
    OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
    $194.99
    
    Corsair Special Edition White Graphite Series 600T Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 
    CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply 
    $249.9
    
    Total $1,497.00 
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    2600k. ht is not useless, I've already found my flying sim + windows will actively use 6 threads, which gave a performance boost in my sim. even crysis 2 was showing activity on 5 threads. but if you have the money, i'd wait for sb-e and get a real cpu......
     
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yes SSD's are way over priced right now but man they are fantastic to have .
    All I know is that the kingston RAM I have has been better than any of the fancy name brand stuff I have ever had . Kingston RAM is a must have in my next build as well . I have been able to get my RAM to do things I could never get corsair , Crucial or Patriot RAM to do . If I were you maybe you could get the SSD drive later on maybe wait some and save up Just a thought . Could keep your price down some .
     
  6. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Personally, I like simple. Have you considered Intel's SSD caching with the Z68 chipset?

    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI S...
    SSD: Intel 311 Series Larsen Creek 20GB mSATA SATA II S...

    60GB is going to get pretty cozy. My 120GB filled up faster than I'd imagined with only OS + Games & Apps.

    Sure you end up with a smaller drive but it intelligently caches on the block level to maximize functional use. It's also an enterprise class SLC drive for better reliability / performance.


    It's up to you, though. Peeps seem to be opposed to SRT on this forum.


    And @johnspack: In the benchmarks I've seen, the 2500k and 2600k trade places for top performer in games. Some will see a benefit, some will see a hit. Save the $100 and spend more on GPU.
     
    freaksavior says thanks.
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    freaksavior says thanks.
  8. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yes, I guess if you know what you are going to run beforehand, and know you won't be running anything that could use more than 4 threads in the future, the 2500k is a stellar performer.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,105 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,167
    Saddly this is true, but I would still say they are some of the best boards around. Just not the absolute tanks they used to be. Or maybe it is just that everyone else is getting better, it makes ASUS look worse than they used to be by comparison? IDK.:laugh:

    Anyway, I actually agree with JrRacingFan's suggestion of an ASRock board. Since ASUS bought them ASRock has steadily improved in quality, to the point that I consider them in every build I do. The bang for the buck that you get with them is very good.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I would have to agree I have been hearing good things about Asrock as of late and maybe getting one myself soon . Almost time for a new build !
     
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,870 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    That's good to know about the ASRocks. I'll consider this as a budget buy for my non-computer literate friend who needs a new PC at the moment. :)

    Since I bought my Gigabyte board (see specs) I haven't looked back. Rock solid stability and awesome set of features and overclockability. I especially like the dual BIOS feature for peace of mind. :rockout: My next build is likely to be based around a Gigabyte mobo.
     
  12. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    That's 20gb. meh not enough. The z68, I have no problem with.

    That may be closer to what we go with. It doesn't need to be big, just enough for the OS and a game or two. Everything else can go on the mechanical drives.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    20GB isn't really 20GB when it's block level caching. Have you read Anand's review on SRT?

    His test ran about 6 games a couple times to see the performance increase as it got cached. Was pretty close to a stand alone SSD. His only complaint was stuff getting ejected when he loaded the *entire* adobe creative suite.

    I'm not sure if that's a realistic test for you (it's certainly not for me).

    If you think you do need more than the 20GB and you're looking at OZC the switch from Agility to Vertex would probably make a difference given the higher write performance.

    OCZ Vertex 3 VTX3-25SAT3-60G 2.5" 60GB SATA III ML...
     
  14. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I have tried many different motherboards with SB and have found all capable. Go with the cheapest you can find...Biostar seems to lead in that respect right now.
     
    freaksavior says thanks.
  15. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I would go for an Asrock before a Biostar JMHO. Never had a good Biostar MB ever .
     
  16. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    I really like the flag feature which I just used on your useless post.

    From price point, OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-60G 2.5" 60GB SATA III M... is more appearling. This puts me just at $1500.

    Good to know. Thanks.

    ______________________________

    Currently listed

    2 x SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
    ($59.99 each)


    XFX HD-695X-CNFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
    $274.99

    Team Xtreem LV Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000) Desktop Memory Model TXD34096M2000HC9KDC-L
    $49.99

    ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
    $159.99

    Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52500K
    $219.99

    Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit
    $139.99

    LITE-ON Black Internal 12X Blu-ray Combo with SW SATA Model iHES112-29
    $74.99

    OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-60G 2.5" 60GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
    $94.99

    Corsair Special Edition White Graphite Series 600T Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
    $249.9

    Total $1,397.00
    + watercooling 129.99 = 1526. Need to shave down about $30

    I think I would still like 8gb just because but since we are so close to the $1500 limit i'm not sure.

    I could skip a hard drive, but the recent trend i've had with drives id rather run a raid 1 just in case one died out.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2011
  18. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  19. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    True. That's nearly $20. Need about 10 more shaved off.

    Also, anybody else have suggestions/concerns on the mobo or psu? I'm liking everything else so far.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    I saw some ASRock Boards with bad capacitors, what I can't know if it were cause by bad board, bad PSU or bad cooling. I believe the last one!

    However I have friends with ASRock ones and they are working strong for years :) and very budget value ones


    I also have told that Corsair builder series aren't recommended because of bad experienced with vented caps and failure rates I didn't experience for my own (I don't have that PSU) but maybe they are right (or no).
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2011
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,890 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,292
    I suggests you keep your own thread on topic. This discussion is not relevant to it. If you have a problem with a post, report it. Stay on topic.
     
    freaksavior and digibucc say thanks.
  22. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Edited cart with the 1gb 6950 again. At 1920x1080, there is no gain and $40 wasted.

    So replace the 2gb in my previous list with 1 gb and total is $1,342.10 + 129.99 + 1471
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I am not sure about this but you could get 2 of these HDD's and save Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 ...
    But this depends on you HDD requirements . 1T x2 is a bit much for me . I have 2 500GB in RAID0 and find that is more than enough for me .
     
  24. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Actually in some newer high end games the 2GB is very much needed at 1080p. I usually play in eyefinity, but some stuff just on one screen and I've seen vram go over 1GB easily with everything fully maxed.
     
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,202 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    He has a larger collection ;)

    Actually I am pretty interested with the 1gb/2gb decision, when the 8800 came out the 512mb became quite a bit faster than the 256mb version after only half a year because of new releases. Do you think the 1gb version will suffer the same problem? At least on 1080p that is.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page