1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Build for Music production and gaming hybrid?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by DJBrael, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. DJBrael New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, I produce Dubstep and Hip-hop using Cubase, FL and other programs. I need to upgrade from this POS computer because it is 10 years outdated and can barely keep two tabs open. I also like to play WoW and CoD in times of beat-block. I've come up with this configuration:

    Newegg

    Do you think that this will get the job done? I know that soon those headphones are being swapped for better sennheisers or Beats by Dre. It seems to be a solid build for both hard-core producing and decent gaming, but does everything match up? Any ways I can save money? This is my first build and I think it'll come out good, but I need an expert's opinion.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,463 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    i dont know the specs of your current rig but if it is 10 years old then that amd x4 will do nicely.
     
  3. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
    For a first build you did much better than I did! lol. I ended up having to sell half of my things cause none of it went together.
    Everything in your system is looking good to go :)
     
  4. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Get atleast a 5770/ GTS 450. A 5670 can barely power anything on a Full HD 21.5 inch screen these days.

    This would be better IMHO, then you can add your own things such as a sound card etc: Newegg.com Shopping Cart
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
    DJBrael says thanks.
  5. dustyshiv

    dustyshiv

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Dubai, U.A.E
    6 Gigs of ram would be better.
     
    DJBrael says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    If you're short on cash you can go with a Corsair CX430 instead, they're only $39.99 and are pretty sweet for the price.

    And to you record stuff as well? Then you might want a "real" sound card ie external interfaces. If you don't have that already.
     
    DJBrael says thanks.
  7. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    DJBrael says thanks.
  8. DJBrael New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay, so after some research, I've come up with both an AMD build and an intel build. I cannot afford a soundcard, but 2-3 months after I purchase the parts, I'll be able to buy a soundcard and some more RAM.

    Intel: Once You Know, You Newegg

    AMD: Once You Know, You Newegg
     
  9. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I take it you put lyrics on your beats since you have Cubase.
    I agree with the above. Instead of a soundcard, you want an external USB interface. I use a Tascam US-144L. I make hip-hop beats and put lyrics on them, and this interface is perfect. It's an older model so it's cheap to get hold of, but there's also support for W7x64, so it's not too old.
    Also, stay away from the Beats by Dre, they are apparently schiit.
    Someone here has a headphone buying guide somewhere - I'll try and dig it out.

    EDIT: Here it is. Apparently old, but still a good guide.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
  10. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah, my local comet had some of their headphones on a display to try out and some of the other brand £40-£50 sennheisars etc beat some £160 Dr dre headphones, i wanted to see if the £250 ones were equally overpriced but they didnt work.

    i'm using these at the moment - http://www.goldring.co.uk/headphones/ns1000.htm

    their pretty good considering i paid £50 for them and they beat everything that my local shops sell, however they are not as base heavy as some other headphones, this can be fixed easily with an equalizer however i don't use the noise cancellation as it increases the treble to the point where it dosn't sound that good anymore

    edit: also get SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cac...


    or SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB C...

    They are both faster hard drives and one of them is $10 less for same size and one is $5 more whilst being faster and twice the capacity

    also SPARKLE SXX460768D5UNM GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 768... is faster and the same price as the 5770 dropping to a lower price with a rebate
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
    DJBrael says thanks.
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    For the AMD build,

    Get rid of the 760G motherboard, its a old chipset. Get the 880G, 890G chipset.

    With memory being so cheap and the intensity of your work, I would get 8 GBs of ram.
     
    DJBrael says thanks.
  12. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    You won't regret going with the Biostar/2500K route...One thing is you need the TP67B+ mb instead of the H67 version if you intend to overclock at all. Otherwise drop the K chip.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. DJBrael New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, I guess it comes down to core i5 or Phenom x6?
     
  14. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    There is really no right answer. I doubt you'll find a benchmark or review on Cubase or FL that is run on i5 or Phenom II X6 so you'll have to base your decision on other factors such as:

    • Price
    • possible longevity
    • upgrade paths
    • performance in other tasks
     
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    core i5, its faster then the phenom even in apps that will use all of the phenoms 6 cores, and in single threaded apps the boost will be even bigger

    also read my earlier post on your hard drive and video cards, they could both be better for the same price
     
  16. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    DJBrael,

    I had another look at your list.

    I'm not sold on the APEX PSU, for a few dollars more you could probably find a more well known brand.

    Also the TP-LINK USB wireless card is only 150Mbp/s I would recommend looking for a 300Mbp/s wireless USB/card over wireless N.


    Edit:

    Sort of disagree with that. Although the 2500K might be faster in 2 threaded applications (the majority of applications) I've seen the X6 hold its own in true multi threaded apps, primarily transcoding. Saying that, if money wasn't an object I'd grab the 2500k!
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
    DJBrael says thanks.
  17. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
  18. DJBrael New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay guys, I think this may be the final revision. Can someone guarantee that all the parts should work together? Once You Know, You Newegg

    @cheesey999 @ Dent1, Suggestions have been noted.

    Cant afford a soundcard right now, but thats next priority.
     
  19. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Looks great...roll with it! ;)
     
    DJBrael says thanks.
  20. DJBrael New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just one last question, will the RAM I selected work in the Biostar TH67+? The bus-speed is not listed on the detailed tab of the page.

    Thanks for your help everyone!
     
  21. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Yep, memory is just fine. That will make a competent game rig as well.
     
    DJBrael says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page