1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building A Computer. Experts Help Please.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TCanuck42, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,535 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    Illinois
    He has the wrong memory doesnt he? 4200? The 6600 cpu is 800mhz fsb. 800mhz memory is pc6400. Choosing the gigabyte board he can o/c that 6600 to the moon and strap 1:1 with better then 6400 memory right? Or did I miss something here? I'm sort of in the same endeavor. Slap me if my facts arnt straight. :slap:
     
  2. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,535 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    Illinois
    It's a 1066 cpu so 533 memory (pc4200) would work just 2:1. "My bad" (god I hate that term)
     
  3. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    One slap.

    Two slap.

    Core 2 Duo has the most ridiculous ratios that its almost something to literally ROFL at.
     
  4. TCanuck42 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for your suggestions. XVI, I will look to find some dual channel memory. KTR, thanks for the board suggestion. I am going to purchase this one over the EPS board. In my current machine, I have a gig of mem and it is compatable with the board you suggested, so I would only need to buy one more gig of mem. Thanks again for all of your suggestions!
     
  5. Supernova New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    should have got the GA-965P-DS4 instead of the DS3
     
  6. Greek

    Greek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    572 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    personally i wud go with an asus mobo and maybe a diff case. i have the kandalf ma self and its one hell of a case, jus depends what ur budget is i supose
     
  7. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I could be wrong (Afterall, I'm an AMD fanboy), but from what I heard..
    It's not a 1066FSB CPU. It's a Quad Pumped 266FSB CPU.

    Quad Pumped at 1066FSB = Real 266FSB = 266MHz FSB Memory = DDR2-533 = PC4200
    1066FSB divided by 4 = 266FSB. 266FSB at 1:1 = 266MHz memory. 266MHz memory times 2 (Double Data Rate) = DDR2-533. DDR2-533 times 8 bits = PC4264 (Aka: PC4200)

    Again, I could be wrong, but that would explain why DDR533 is so popular (compared to higher speed memory)...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. rizzo

    rizzo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    165 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You can do it but you're going to decrease your oc potential.
     
  9. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    True. That's why these DDR800 chips exist.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page