1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building A Computer. Experts Help Please.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TCanuck42, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    He has the wrong memory doesnt he? 4200? The 6600 cpu is 800mhz fsb. 800mhz memory is pc6400. Choosing the gigabyte board he can o/c that 6600 to the moon and strap 1:1 with better then 6400 memory right? Or did I miss something here? I'm sort of in the same endeavor. Slap me if my facts arnt straight. :slap:
  2. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    It's a 1066 cpu so 533 memory (pc4200) would work just 2:1. "My bad" (god I hate that term)
  3. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    One slap.

    Two slap.

    Core 2 Duo has the most ridiculous ratios that its almost something to literally ROFL at.
  4. TCanuck42 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for your suggestions. XVI, I will look to find some dual channel memory. KTR, thanks for the board suggestion. I am going to purchase this one over the EPS board. In my current machine, I have a gig of mem and it is compatable with the board you suggested, so I would only need to buy one more gig of mem. Thanks again for all of your suggestions!
  5. Supernova New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    should have got the GA-965P-DS4 instead of the DS3
  6. Greek

    Greek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    572 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    personally i wud go with an asus mobo and maybe a diff case. i have the kandalf ma self and its one hell of a case, jus depends what ur budget is i supose
  7. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,857 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I could be wrong (Afterall, I'm an AMD fanboy), but from what I heard..
    It's not a 1066FSB CPU. It's a Quad Pumped 266FSB CPU.

    Quad Pumped at 1066FSB = Real 266FSB = 266MHz FSB Memory = DDR2-533 = PC4200
    1066FSB divided by 4 = 266FSB. 266FSB at 1:1 = 266MHz memory. 266MHz memory times 2 (Double Data Rate) = DDR2-533. DDR2-533 times 8 bits = PC4264 (Aka: PC4200)

    Again, I could be wrong, but that would explain why DDR533 is so popular (compared to higher speed memory)...
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. rizzo

    rizzo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    165 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You can do it but you're going to decrease your oc potential.
  9. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,857 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    Washington, US
    True. That's why these DDR800 chips exist.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page