1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building a Media Center?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Live OR Die, May 26, 2010.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    well im going to build a media pc just to play HD movies on and i need some ideas whats best to get CPU,Board and so on i heard awhile ago there were some cpu with GPU in them would that be the way to go thanks to any one willing to help, ps ill be back to reply as soon as i wake up need to goto bed, got crap work in 4 hours :eek:
     
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Live OR Die says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,499 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,330
    do you want to go with a fancy case? if so check to see what size mobo it fits. then you can decide on a mobo.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    Are you going to be hooking it up to a surround sound system or an av-receiver? Then you need to think about the audio limitations on chipsets.

    I've been happy with a PII 705e + 785g chipset, but I don't have more than a 2-chan setup at the moment.
     
  5. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    yer ill will want sound out via hdmi
     
  6. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    BIOSTAR H55 HD LGA 1156 Intel H55 HDMI Micro ATX I...
    With HDCP Supporting all HD formats including 720P, 1080i, 1080P. (Required processors with Intel HD Graphics)

    If your wanting HD audio decoding then this isn't going to work from what I can tell.

    edit:
    ASRock H55M Pro LGA 1156 Intel H55 HDMI Micro ATX ...

    it will do hd audio, had built in video and is matx. :)

    LUXA2 are nice cases and also, if you haven't seen my guide under system builder advice check it out (not the best, but it works quite well once setup)
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
    Live OR Die says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    so going for some like that will be better than going for like a normal chipset?
     
  8. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Are you using it just for video playback? If you are then I think thats going to be a better idea.

    You also need to think about how your playing the videos. are you going to rip them all like I did and play them from a media server, or just use the discs? if your doing the first, you'll need several Tb's to rip the content.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    well atm im using a WD media player i have 3TB worth of movies on ext hdds, so it wont need a dvd drive at all just lots of hdd space
     
  10. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Well in that case, a small drive for os, and a blu ray for ripping and then maybe a nas?
     
    Live OR Die says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    so out of the P55 and H55 because there are some P55's with HDMI out i was lookin at some EVGA boards what would be the best, yer sound about right
     
  12. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Well p55 has no video. but you could go with p55 and get a nice low end 5650 with hdmi :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    get the 5450 with hdmi. It can run 2 simulatenous 1080p streams plus it has hdmi, low power usage, low heat, zero noise and only cost $50. plus using mpc-hc you can use it to play the video and your cpu will never be used bec of DXVA http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-5450-review/8

    I just put one in my machine and it's awesome
     
  14. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    This is a great media pc and believe it or not fast as hell for what your doing and does True HD 1080P on up to 100 inch screen. Watch some of these reviews this is a very cool media pc. I have one. It has a dual core atom cpu and augements performance by using the gpu to help the cpu.

    http://www.youtube.com/results?sear...evo AR3610-U9022 Intel Atom 330(1.60GHz)&aq=f

    Acer Aspire Revo AR3610-U9022 Intel Atom 330(1.60G...

    add this with it
    SAMSUNG 8X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 6X DVD+R DL 8X DVD-R 6X...
     
  15. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Whats the fun in that trt?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    if you decide to go with AM3, check my FS.
     
  17. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Cheap and effective enough for a HTPC look at my specs and just change the HDD. Onboard graphics are good enough for small gamers and HD TV . Spdif audio, hdmi port, 8.1 channels, lot of specs ...
    Asus M4A785-M
     
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    yer your right i was looking at this looks good? http://www.evga.com/products/moreInfo.asp?pn=123-CD-E635-KR&family=Motherboard%20Family&series=Intel%20H57/H55%20Series%20Family
    i dont beleave it its cheaper over here than from evga :confused:
    http://www.itsdirect.com.au/com_products.php?view=detail&category_id=37&Product_ID=8185&sub_category=9&keywords=EVGA_H55V_Intel_H55_Chipset_Socket_1156_Motherboard__111_CD_E630_
     
  19. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Live OR Die says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    so here my list hows it look? i wanted the next model up on the case but the price was way to high
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  21. zanzabar

    zanzabar Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    if u went am3 u could get a cheap cpu like $60 and something like an msi e65 for cheaper than the h55 setup, it will also let u play some older games, have more 3d power, and let u use shaders to decode so u have more flexibility than the h55
     
  22. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Im going with the H55 because i stick to evga boards its just me i like them and it will be only for media so i doesn't need to a good GPU.
     
  23. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    Just to give you an example of what an AMD setup would cost you, over 250$ cheaper. I understand you like EVGA, but I can vouch for the mobo, I have one on my HTPC. Also the proc is quite enough.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    thats US prices not AU
     
  25. twilyth Guest

    I have box hooked up to my hdtv but i wouldn't call it a home theater setup.

    the one problem I have run into is memory. Get a mobo that can handle at least 8gig of memory - and of course an x64 OS. I would also highly recommend at least a 60-64gig ssd. You can get away with less but W7 eats up a lot of space. If you intend to install all your programs on the boot drive, it's even more important. That was also the sweet spot last I checked in terms of bang vs. buck.

    Finally, some wireless speakers can make you life a lot easier too. It can get expensive if you are going 7.2 or something like that, but if you're happy with basic stereo and a subwoofer, you can still do it on a budget.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page