1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building a new desktop for college...

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by arover, Jun 21, 2007.

1. arover New Member

Thanks Received:
    So, heading off to college, after much contemplation, I decided to bring a desktop with me. I'm going to miss home enough, why not bring a little something to help me not miss it so much :D

Anyways, since the specs are going to be pretty decent, I know I'm definetly going to need some physical security solutions, with which I have zero experience at all dealing with. I'm looking at getting a Lian-Li case, and wondering if anyone has had any experience with specific desktop locks, or any other sort of reccomendations for locking up the case door (so none may open and steal the hardware inside) as well as just the case itsself.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

fyi, the specs are going to be something like the Q6600 Quad Core (after the price drop) 8800gts, 2gb ddr2 800, etc....If anyone has any advice to give with what mobo/ram/hardware in general is good to go with these days, it'd be greatly appreciated. For the mobo I was thinking of going with the MSI P6N SLI Platinum NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI. I havn't built a new pc for myself in about 4 years, so I'm greatly looking forward to this one.

2. TXcharger

TXcharger New Member

Thanks Received:
    laptop bro, thats what i am looking at getting for college. i'm gonna get a gaming one so i can do both :)

3. arover New Member

Thanks Received: