1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building computers for a couple co-workers

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by kciaccio, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I am building computers for a couple of co-workers. Nothing too fancy. They don't need a lot of storage and with the price of regular HDD's going through the roof, I'm setting them up with SSD. They will be using dual monitors so I will be using a video card instead of on-board video. They don't game. Mostly be used on surfing multiple sites at once.


    I will be building at least 3 maybe 4 of these things.

    Is there any good CPU and motherboard bundles out there that you recommend? I usually shop at Newegg, Amazon,Frys and Micro Center but open to other outlets.
     
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    what will they be doing on these machines?
    Budget?
     
  3. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,681 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,040
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    1) As Bo$$ said, we need a pricing range.
    2) What do they have? Monitors, OSs, office software. All of these things are often overlooked, but are a huge part of the pricing equation.
    3) "Don't ever play games?" A little bit of extra money now might make gaming better in the future should they change their minds.



    Blind Recommendations:
    Minimum cost: APU set-up with a hybrid crossfire setup for multiple monitor support.
    Good performance, medium cost: A core i3 setup has cpu power, but you'll spend money on gpus.
    Better performance, higher price: core i5 2500k with gpu.
    No pricing cap: i7 3930k can destroy just about anything.


    Just as an idea, the cheapest build can be completed 100% for around $600, with the more expensive build topping out at several thousand dollars. This is why we need a price window to give you any really helpful suggestions.
     
  4. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Interacting with multiple online streaming video streams and accessing web based data bases. No, it's not porn related, lol

    Software is not an issue, I have that covered. They have monitors so just the tower part and $400 range.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2011
  5. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I can go either way on AMD or Intel. Proably looking at i3 series if intel.
     
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    im tempted to recommend running away from said work mates as only stress and pc fixin will follow, but you may like that sort of thing in which case i would recommend a cheap AMD FM1 socket motherboard , a 3650 APU( a cpu and gpu in one) a 2gig stick of 10 quid ddr3 1333 and a cheap case without psu and a corsair 450-550 vx value psu a a ssd of choice and your off for low money

    id say on budget but the APU could be downspecced and made cheaper all in without much performance loss in use
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2011
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I don't have time to spec out an entire build for you, but I would recommend paying premium for a reliable SSD. Something like a Crucial M4 or an Intel 320 Series drive would do wonders to reduce headaches and stress down the line.
     
  8. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Great advice from both you guys! I was wondering about both those things. I was scared of what ssd to get because like theoneandonlymrk said, I want to keep my fixing time with them minimal. I have not built a FM1 yet and am interested in that too.
     
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    Lol i never implied porn, i meant what they were doing.

    Do you have a prefered retailer? i can whip you up a build if you give me your favorate one



    Crucial are NOT reliable, intel are.
    Ocz have a better track record than crucial
     
  10. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Newegg. :) Thanks!
     
  11. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    729 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    I came across the exact opposite when researching SSD's for my new build. From what I gathered at the time, Crucial and Intel were more reliable with Intel having the issue where the drive would show up as only an 8MB drive occasionally. I don't have a problem with OCZ but their drives with the sandforce controllers were just as susceptible to the bsod problems all the other sandforce based drives were seeing.

    I decided on the Crucial m4 and have had no problems with it yet. There are some issues with the LPM on some Intel chipsets and the drives so if you do go with Crucial then look into either using Microsofts driver or disabling the Link Power Management feature,
     
    kciaccio says thanks.
  12. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    i have an ocz ssd and it does what it says on the box and has worked well on a very very old mobo lol with a special written by ocz mobo bios(not that special but it seemed odd using it)
     
    kciaccio says thanks.
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,255 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,293
    Honestly, with a $400 budget, I wouldn't even bother with an SSD. Yes, HDD prices are going through the roof, but they are still miles ahead of SSDs when it comes to $/GB and performance on a budget system isn't going to be that much improved by an SSD.

    This is what I would build:

    AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W ...
    ASRock 970 EXTREME3 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3....
    PNY XLR8 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 160...
    ZOTAC Zone Edition ZT-50602-20L GeForce GT 520 (Fe...
    Seagate Barracuda ST500DM002 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB C...
    Xigmatek ASGARD II B/B CPC-T45UC-U01 Black / Black...
    CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 V2 430W ATX12V v2.3 ...

    Total comes to $465, so a little over, but a good solid machine with room to improve over time too(why I went with an AM3+ board).

    I went with the cheapest Dual-DVI card I could find, you can go cheaper if you only need VGA or HDMI for the second monitor. You could also save some more by going with a cheaper AM3 board if you don't care about upgrade room for the CPU in the future.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Ok?
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,255 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,293
    Sorry, hit the Post Quick Reply button instead of the Go Advanced button on accident, I edited it to put in the build.:toast:
     
    kciaccio says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,460 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    you should be able to do dual monitors with a lot of the newer motherboards out there that have an igp/gpu on the cpu. might need an adapter for one of the ports depending on the monitors used.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  17. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I was trying to look up motherboards with that ability. Any links?
     
  18. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Wow, I like a lot of your ideas, some of it is close to my current rig. The only part I am not a fan on is the Seagate drive. Had bad luck with those. Never thought of that video card, looks very good. I usually went with 5550's but open for a change. Thanks!
     
  19. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,460 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    well here's this one if you want to do some gaming, but its a bit over the top for their needs i think (may not?) but would put the build out of your price range. ZOTAC Z68ITX-B-E LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/...

    here's an example of a really cheap option. BIOSTAR H61MGC LGA 1155 Intel H61 Micro ATX Intel ... or if you want hdmi and dvi... MSI H61M-E33 (B3) LGA 1155 Intel H61 HDMI Micro AT...

    all of which should do fine for their needs. throw in an i3 at 3-3.2ghz, and a case with about a 300w psu. 4gb ram for around $50. for that price range you'd better make sure they don't need much storage at all if you plan to get a SSD. Although HDD are pricy right now, you still get more GB per $.
     
    kciaccio says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  20. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but AFAIK all mobos with IGP are capable of dual display provided they have 2 outputs (from my past experiences with AMD-based IGPs, most common would be DVI+VGA ). I would go with an FM1 route in this case.
     
  21. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
  22. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,460 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    here's a build i worked up for ya... i'll let you decide hard drive lol

    [​IMG]

    you should be able to do dual monitors on that. Here's a link to the manual for the board just in case. http://www.msi.com/service/download/manual-16010.html

    edit: on a side note... the copy to clipboard link with the TPU uploader doesn't seem to work with Google Chrome
     
    kciaccio says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  23. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    Fix your img URL buddy
     
  24. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,460 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    It's fixed... the techpowerup.org image upload site doesn't seem to be 100% compatible with Chrome
     
    More than 25k PPD
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have a simular setup as my cruncher (see specs <<<) it works very well for crunching and all other tasks, It even plays BF3 on medium at VERY good FPS!
     
    kciaccio says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page