1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building new pc - which memory to choose?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by alonbl, May 20, 2013.

  1. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Specs will be:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
    i7-3770k + Nucota NH-U12P SE2
    GeForce GTX7xx
    nzxt wisper
    750w seasonic

    I need the memory to wont interfere with the Nucota NH-U12P SE2

    I want to buy 8GB memory what do you reccomend between the memory's in this page? (I can buy only in the following shop) I hope you understand the site (price is 1 NIS to 0.27 USD) :
    http://translate.google.com/transla...%5D=3136&filters%5B1570%5D%5B%5D=1578&act=url
    Last edited: May 21, 2013
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,979 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,749
    Which ever is cheaper.
  3. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I added info
    Last edited: May 21, 2013
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,377 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Any specific reason you are only looking at 1600MHz? Upping that speed will give you a bit better performance if you can afford it. Otherwise I suggest the black G.Skills or black Corsair Vengance.
  5. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    1600 because I read everywhere that more is neglectable. Besides the board supports up to 1600 if I'm not mistaken.

    Is the single stick better then two?
  6. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,066 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    You'll want 2 sticks of identical RAM (the kits that have 2 sticks will be perfect) to run optimally for Dual channel support on the mobo.

    For brands really I'd recommend G.Skill or Corsair. I've had about 10 packets of RAM from G.Skill without any issues. And I've heard Corsair to be pretty good.
  7. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Can you be more spesific? They have couple of gskill and corsair
  8. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,066 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Well from the website;

    For G.Skill I'd get;
    Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz G.Skill Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2 (the black sniper one)

    I do prefer G.Skill purely because I've had good experience with them but up to you. :)
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,763 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Less than 1% in most apps...


    OP for memory Lo-Profile Hyper X does the trick
  11. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,865 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Just adding this...
    [​IMG]
    It does make a small difference that I only notice in Benchmarks...
    However at 1866mhz with uber tight timings it does make a difference...but not enough to be worth buying....i bought this 2400mhz memory kit for one reason and one reason only....
    It matched my motherboard...and I got lucky cause it was on sale at the time for $55 shipped...and I also got lucky because it's certified for my mobo...
    G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR...

    So basically I'm just reaffirming that memory above 1600mhz wont really make any difference..

    Good Day.
  12. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    ty
  13. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    All those memory's have same spec except the white Vengance it needs 1.35V. So is it better?
  14. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    What about it?
  15. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    753 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Czech republic
    I got an impression Gigabyte boards, at least the Z77 line, are a bit picky when it comes to memory. I wouldn't go for Corsair again myself. Currently looking at some G.skill as a replacement.
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Gigabyte boards can be finicky with memory. He should verify the memory he selects is on the qualified memory list from gigabyte
  17. StormyNights New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mankato Mn USA
    I personally have the Gskill Sniper. I love it. I went throught different sticks of ram and I ended up with gskill sniper. It looks great in a case with a window, affordable, and reliable. I would stick with his preference.:toast:
  18. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I used to review memory. IMO, Kingston Hyper X lo profile 1600MHz is the most reliable memory I touched. Just my humble opinion. I have owned Corsair and have been happy but in motherboards where compatability is an issue when I reviewed motherboards, hyper X was always a safe bet with good performance and reliablity.

    The tall heatspreaders on your choice may be an issue with some air coolers plus you can get Hyper X cheaper with same performance. make sure you choose Lo-Profile memory. Large headspreaders do not work with some air cooling solutions.
  20. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It's not tall at all the name is vengeance LP- low profile
    Plus the hyperx is more expansive here
  21. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    The Vengence should be fine as long as its on gigabytes QVL list
  22. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Too bad you didn't tell me this before I ordered it lol and well its not in the list but few are.. the Gskill sniper is not there as well.
    There are other memory's of Corsair listed there
    http://download.gigabyte.ru/memory/mb_memory_ga-z77-d3h.pdf

    When I get the PC how can I see if its making compatibility problems?
    Last edited: May 22, 2013
  23. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    90% you should be fine. Gigabyte has not tested the board with that particular memory. They do not add a particular model unless their engineers have tested it with that board. I would not worry. If it won't boot, you pretty much know its the memory and then return it to your retailer. Sorry I came in late
  24. alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    92 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks anyway it's good to have that info. By the way I will give my oldtime store that i buy everything from the pleasure of putting all together so if they come up with problems they will handle it.
  25. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,865 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    B-b-b-But that's the best part of the whole experience....putting it all together and turning it on....
    getting everything and then having someone else build it is like bringing a girl home, getting her naked on your bed and calling in your friend to do the deed.....its just not right...no at all..no not right not right at all.
    hellrazor says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page