1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building system for Mum & Dad

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Bundy, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    I'd appreciate some feedback on my selections for a new machine for my parents. I've got some difficulties ahead, they are aged 66 and 70, and have never used a computer before. Now they want that broadband thing everyone talks about.....

    I was thinking the following
    Case: Coolermaster elite + 350W PSU
    Ram: Corsair val select PC 5300 2GB
    Drive: Samsung HD161Hj 160GB
    processor: my current E6320
    Screen: AOC 22"with inbuilt speakers
    OS: Vista home premium

    I have three mobo I'm looking at, all Gigabyte with integrates graphics

    GA-31M-S2L
    GA-PVM-S2H
    GA-G33M-DS2R

    What is better, Intel 3100 or Geforce 7100? Will they run a 22"screen? If any games are played, it will be solitare...

    Thanks in advance
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    PSU on the small side ...
  3. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    yes, it's 'economical'. Do you think I should definitely change it?
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I always question the quality of power supplies that come with cases, but a 350w psu will be fine on a budget "mom and dad" rig, with onboard video.
    Bundy says thanks.
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You can always get a psu later, if it does die. Oh, and the Geforce 7100 is better onboard graphics, and will be fine for solitaire on that monitor.
    Bundy says thanks.
  6. TrainingDummy

    TrainingDummy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    411 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Do you think they need 2GB of RAM?
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    The 2GB is worth it, considering the price of RAM right now. If he goes with 1GB, then wants to upgrade it in a year, finding DDR2 for a decent price may be a lot harder, since DDR3 will be the new standard by then.
  8. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    649 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    A quick google for those graphics solutions....the nvidia option seems to be the better solution
    the intel seems only to have vga not dvi connection..i gather your getting the coolermaster elite 340 (micro atx)...looks awesome...the psu included will be fine...try and use sata hdd and cd/dvd to keep it neat...great little build.
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2008
    Bundy says thanks.
  9. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    probably not but where I buy from, the prices are

    512Mb = $35
    1GB = $35
    2GB = $59

    I couldn't see there was much benefit in cutting the RAM back. I'm also unsure whether the on board graphics will want to use some of the RAM
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    They WILL want to use the RAM. Money well spent here.
  11. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Yes - that case looks exactly what I had in mind and a tidy price too. $62AUD
    and yes, I'll be going SATA. Might even try and do the cables tidy as well (if I can get better than 5/10 from tk, I'm on the right track)
  12. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Can i just say if you buy a psu thats 600watt it will still be as economical as a 350watt because it will only use 600watt if the systems hardware needs it. Its also better to buy a slightly bigger psu than the system requirements "even if its cheap" because it puts less strain on the psu and stops it from overheating which should give it a longer life too.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page