1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

building the first comp

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by rraines72, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. rraines72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi you all.
    I am trying to build my first computer.
    I think I got all the parts that i need. but i am not sure whether the parts are all compatible.
    This is my shopping list so far.

    Asus Rampage III Formula Socket1366 X58 $375.00
    Intel Core i7 950 Processor $329.00
    Kingston Hyperx 6G(3x2G) 2000Mhz DDR3 CL9 Intel XMP $190.00
    Corsair HX-850 ATX Power Supply $220.00
    Thermaltake Element G Touch color $145.00
    LGE BH10LS30 Black BlueRay SATA LightScribe Writer $115.00
    Seagate XT 2TB 7200rpm 6GB/s 64M $282.00
    Linksys WMP54G Wireless-G PCI Network Adapter 802.11G (54Mbps) $40.00
    Sapphire HD5870 1G GDDR5 PCIE 2D HDMI DP $409.00
    Acer G245HBMID 24inch Wide Black 5ms VGA DVI HDMI Spker $199.00

    Can anybody advice me on this?
    my budget is about $2500,00

    thanks before hand for taking the time to help me.
    greets.
    raines
  2. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Looks like all will go together nicely...enjoy! :toast:
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Swap the graphics to 6870 and we are good to go. Also, get an aftermarket cooler, eg Xigmatek Dark Knight or better.
  4. rraines72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    why the graphics card to a 6870???
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Because 6870 crossfires better?
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    becouse its newer? likely more efficient and faster.... + better crossfire scalling.


    personaly i would also not run wireless.. run an ethernet cable imo.

    you could get the i7 930 instead of the 950 if its a bit cheaper...

    also why does that HDD cost $300?.... even 2tb blacks are only $200.. or less
    for example : Western Digital Caviar Black WD2001FASS 2TB 7200 R...
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2010
  7. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    ^ Where was it stated he was going to run two video cards anyway? Moot point as any one card is more than enough for any game. My 5870 pulls 200fps in BlackOps already...why would one spend more money on another card for little to no gain?
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    If he is not going do (or thinking) Crossfire (in the future) then why is he getting a top end mobo with a 850w?
  9. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    6870's are a fair bit cheaper and the performance nearly matches that of a 5870 :rolleyes:
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    I checked on Newegg, they are about the same. Different story in this side of the pond though.
  11. rraines72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    At this moment I don't know what I want to do with my pc.
    But I had my last computer now for 7 years. (still running windows 7)
    And it is s...t wayway to slow. and no guts or power.
    I want a computer that will last for a while and that I can upgrade if needed.
    That is why the mobo and power.
    And using more graphics cards. Not for this moment but later maybe.

    Thanks all for your info:toast:
  12. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Its clear that he picked a SATA 3 HDD,not SATA 2..
  13. rraines72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  14. rraines72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what a little bit of reading can do.
    I still don't know if it is sata 3 but it is the fastest there is.
    hihi
  15. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    and you think that justifys the price?




    dont buy that HDD it is not worth it. get your self a WD Black, seagate 7200.12 or samsung F3.
    The sata interface has no effect on how fast the HDD will be. (iv yet to see a single harddrive exceed 150MBPS.)
  16. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    No point buying a ferrari when the speed limit is only 10mph. Save your money and buy some cheaper drives, and use the money saved to buy an SSD.
  17. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Oh come on,you know what I meant to say...SATA 3 = new tech = initially high price
    thats all I meant
  18. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Yes it is,it says interface 6Gb/s in the item specifications,Sata 2 is 3Gb/s
  19. rraines72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Allright I am convinced.
    I changed the hdd to Western Digital 2TB Black 64MB SATAII WD2001FASS.
    But I am still not quite sure about the graphics card.
    this week is the first time that I hear and read about crossfire.
    Why the second card and crossfire??
    can't the Sapphire HD5870 1G GDDR5 PCIE 2D HDMI DP play most of the recent games?
  20. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    "Why the second card and crossfire??
    can't the Sapphire HD5870 1G GDDR5 PCIE 2D HDMI DP play most of the recent games?"


    Absolutely... (Asus 5870 1GB @ 900/1250) Save yourself some money and grief and stick with one good card.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  21. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    are you ATI fun guy, if u r not go with gtx470
    +1 with Fourstaff about SSD and xigmatic dark night
    so do u need this much for HDD size, i see u picked up high speed HDD 2Tb so what about take normal 1Tb HDD in half price of 2tb and pick small size SSD like 64G for windows and applications
  22. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Yes indeed, the 5870 can play most of the recent games. But in 2-3 years time, it will struggle to push enough pixels if you want to play with high end graphics. This is where crossfire comes into play. Instead of getting another expensive graphics card, you can get a (by then) cheaper 5870 to greatly increase your performance. That's the idea anyway, most people upgrade by then.
  23. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I can't see a 5870 struggling in any game now available. In two or three years if need be get yourself another card and then only "one". ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page