1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Built new computer turns on but no beeps or video.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by First timer, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. First timer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just built my first computer. I turned it on the first time and the motherboard lit up, the fans turned on but I got no video, beeps, mouse, or keyboard activity. My monitor is from my old computer it is hooked up with VGA, the same as the old computer. I hooked speakers up just to make sure that wouldn't help, it didn't. I even pulled the video card and tried to use the built in video, non of it worked. I think it is a motherboard problem. What do you think?

    SAPPHIRE 100352-2L Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

    Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 3000 BX80623I52500K

    ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

    COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M600 RS-600-AMBA-D3 600W ATX12V V2.3 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Bronze Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

    Western Digital WD Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive - OEM

    Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX

    COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R2 Continuous Direct Contact 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler Compatible with latest Intel 2011/1366/1155 and AMD FM1/FM2/AM3
     
  2. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Make sure your processor is seated correctly and that the motherboard has all of its power sockets filled. Take out all but one stick of ram and clear your CMOS jumper. If that doesn't work then you might have a more serious problem.
     
  3. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Rochester area
    double check all cables and connections make sure the cpu/ram/gpu is seated correctly and the power connectors are ALL plugged in
     
  4. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    What is most odd is that there are no beeps. Do you notice any LED lights flashing on the case or motherboard?
     
  5. First timer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This motherboard has a power button on it, it is lit up and a light that says Mem OK.
     
  6. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Rochester area
    remove the gpu from the system and try with the monitor plugged into the onboard
    you may need to go into the bios and change the video boot priority to PEG/pciE and then reinstall the gpu
     
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Rochester area
    make sure the gpu is plugged into the WHITE OR BLUE SLOT
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,055 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Thats not wierd lol. Some motherboards don't have the CMOS speaker. Mine doesn't and it boots perfectly fine, and i don't get a beep. The last motherboard I had that did beap was a Evga Classified.

    So its getting power. How do you have your memory Orientated?
     
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,116 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon
    Most likely a short. Bench test it out of the case

    fi it still wont fire then next check the CPU support list as well as the memory suport list
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,055 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    There should be ZERO compadibility issues with this system.
     
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,116 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon
    Your probably right but it's a bad assumption when troubleshooting
     
  12. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    It is not a short. The board lights up
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,055 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I have a feeling its an incorrect memory install, or the CPU needs to be reseated.
     
  14. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Ram or vga is my bet. I have this problem with all my systems at times. No idea why. Clearing the cmos and reseating the video card work in one system. In the other system i have to unplug all the ram and put it back in 1 stick at a time.
     
  15. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Same opinion here. Try with one stick of RAM.
     
    First timer says thanks.
  16. First timer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried using one stick of ram still nothing. I also reset the CMOS.
     
  17. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    You have lots of LEDs on the board that can show you if something is wrong. CPU, DRAM, VGA and BOOT DEVICE. Please see if one of those is blinking.
    Disable EPU and TPU if they are enabled.

    Have you inserted one stick of memory in A2?
     
  18. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    The video card has been connected to power right? 2x 6-pin from the PSU.
     
  19. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Have you tried removing everything from the motherboard besides CPU and starting it up?

    I would suspect it is a RAM issue and there would be beeps if there is no RAM in the slots.
    If it does not, and nothing else is attached e.g. HDDs, DVD drives I would believe it is the motherboard.
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,636
    I'm with Jetster on this . those trying to say its not aren't sure of themselves- so why remove the biggest cause of bootfails on first run before trying his suggestion? btw it don't matter if leds on a mobo light up ( other posters) its a matter if that video card is making contact with mobo edge and bridging a gap between mobo and case meaning improper card insertion or case/pcb aren't made to exact specs/case/ bracket warping. heck a improper standoff insertion can cause this too. bench running does allow for easier troubleshooting. for any LGA setup. if cpu isn't in properly or if the cpu cooler isn't seated right it causes boot fails too.
     
  21. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if he pulls the card out and tries with the onboard this would also confirm it ;p;
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  22. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Rochester area
    not really relavent his board has MeMok which defaults to 1333 @ 9 9 9 24 @ 1.55v I can't think of a stick that would refuse to post on that unless it was completely defective
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,636
    I've noticed a trend here with Asus -V series boards whether being p67/z68/z77 being problematic
     
  24. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Rochester area
    same sometimes those PCEi3 boards can be screwy a lot of it is do to people not knowing that if you have a Z75 or Z77 chipset that you need to have a ivybridge chip for the PCIE3 slot to work AT ALL not relevant to the OP tho
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2012
  25. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    ah, i didn't notice that your board had VGA.

    Unplug everything apart from 1 stick of ram. plug the video card in your mobo and try that.
    If it doesn't work, ensure the mobo has all the power connectors plugged in correctly. If it does Pull it out of the case and try to boot up with the mobo + 1 ram + cpu. you can short the poweron jumper manually with a screwdriver if the leads from the case don;t reach.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page