1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bulldozer 50% Faster than Core i7 and Phenom II

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    I own a few games that utilize all 6 of my cores.
     
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Being an Avid AMD Fanboy and lover of their procs, I take this with less than a grain of salt. IF true, well done and about time, but you have to look at this within reason of what Intel has been doing since AMD whooped its ass and it came back strong and continues to do so. I will wait to see performance numbers but hopefully the new architecture will be amazing.
     
  3. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    :(
     
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    What else besides BF3?
     
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,883 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Funny that this thread has been dug back up. 10 months later and now we know the answers. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,761 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,134
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    This thread is old... No sense in beating a dead horse :( it should be locked
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Shogun, F1, Any source game, Supreme Commander and a dozen others.
     
  8. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    AMD also shared with us that Windows 7 isn't really all that optimized for Bulldozer. Given AMD's unique multi-core module architecture, the OS scheduler needs to know when to place threads on a single module (with shared caches) vs. on separate modules with dedicated caches. Windows 7's scheduler isn't aware of Bulldozer's architecture and as a result sort of places threads wherever it sees fit, regardless of optimal placement. Windows 8 is expected to correct this,
    LINK:
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4955/the-bulldozer-review-amd-fx8150-tested/11
     
    Super XP says thanks.
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,812 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    some said ms was working on patch for win7 to fix this.
     
    Super XP says thanks.
  10. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Interesting....
    http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.p...k=view&id=831&Itemid=63&limit=1&limitstart=17
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    the extra PCI-E lanes make me think it may be worth it for crossfire/SLI


    edit: really, windows 8? thats an interesting comment
     
  12. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Oh you caught that too...Yeah...kinda like spitting in someones wound to get the salt to spread better.:banghead:
     
  13. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Let me clarify that for you...

    It's nothing fancy really.


    Bulldozer has 4 "packages". Each of them contains 2 cores.

    For Turbo mode to work correctly, workload must be on a single package. If workload splits between 2 cores between 2 packages, the cpu won't be able to turn off cores that are not in use.

    Bulldozer can turn off "package" but not individual core.
     
  14. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    If its true then :rockout:
     
  15. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    seems like what they wanted but not what they achieved... especially when you compare it to PII X6 1100T or X4 980, let alone the last 2 generations of core i5/i7....

    I am so idssapointed in Bulldozer, almost heartbroken... I wanted it to succeed and compete against SB quite badly, but it's almost like they are still in the water at the moment, they added 2 cores but made each core do less than a PII... ?
     
  16. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Woa, what happened between January an October?
     
  17. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    We were trying to kill off this thread, and now you resurrected it :laugh:
     
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Only mods can truly kill threads!
     
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,812 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    i dont think they can kill news threads. anyhoo keep to topic or leave this thread.
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I find it funny that I was warning about the poor marketing creating false expectations for months before the launch, as seen in the quote above, from back in January.

    Nothing really changed over those months, per se...at least for myself. ;)


    No need to hide this thread!:roll:
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  21. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    We know you said that, you've mentioned how you've said that multiple times. Really the best strategy that i think most people should take is to not expect things will go a certain way no matter what people are saying, as the only people who were really mad or sad about the FX chips were people who saw ''new architecture'' written everywhere and hence proceeded to wet their pants and expect more then what they got.

    When it comes to this thread though, even a blind man could of easily seen that this threads prediction was not going to come true, 50% faster then a Core i7 is significant and felt mroe like wishful thinking as opposed to anything factual.
     
    Heavy_MG, Damn_Smooth and cadaveca say thanks.
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,808 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    Aren't you people tired of this conversation yet? Don't get me wrong, I find most of you amusing.
     
    Damn_Smooth, 95Viper and CDdude55 say thanks.
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure. But it seems that I cannot stress this point enough. I'm not some boy-genius or anything..as you say, it's obvious, but many have ignored the obvious.

    I'll be using this same example for some time, not because I'm tooting my own horn...but because really, I don't know jack.:laugh: It's pretty painful to see peopel ignore the obvious, and then be upset because of it.

    meh. Bulldozer will be talked about for years and years. I still cannot get FX-8120 or FX-8150 in lcoal shops, and I was at them all yesterday. Not ONE chip has come into town yet. Until it does, this is the best and closest I can get to playing with my own.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  24. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Well since we are on topic, what about this post about the Bulldozer's L1, L2 and L3 cache. What I am reading is Bulldozer may need a complete cache overhaul. Am I correct? Or AMD can fix this with minor process revisions and tweaks.

     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  25. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I honestly thought that they had a chance though. AMD's marketing team did a great job of leading me to believe that they were on to something. Oh well, lesson learned.

    Truer words I have not heard spoken in a long time.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page