1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bulldozer Information Thread.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AlphaStormX, Aug 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    His desk is right next to the desktop guy. I'm sure he has a much better idea of what's going on than we do.

    Plus, with all of the trolling he has to deal with, I am sure he has made it a point to find out. I would just for the lulz.
    heky says thanks.
  2. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    If I lean over and look out the door of my cube, I can see the FX guy.

    But I don't comment on client and I don't comment on launch dates.
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Welcome back man. Nice to see you around again!

    Question if you can answer it.

    I understand the bandwidth for the memory has increased for the new architecture but what about the IMC. Is it more robust to support the increase or are we looking at something like the Phenom 2 IMC?

    Please forgive me if you have already covered this elsewhere.
  4. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    memory controller is completely redesigned for more throughput and aggressive power down so you get better power efficiency as well.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    On the Phenom 2 tight timings are very important. Will it be the same thing with Bulldozer? I ask because tight timings are always important but on your competition not as much. Can the same be said with Bulldozer?

    If you cant say I fully understand. Gotta ask!
  6. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    If it is anything like the APUs then no tight timing will not be nearly as important. The IMC on the APU lives and breaths on higher clock speed for the RAM. At 1866 Mhz 9-9-9-24 the APUs gets 1.65 times the memory bandwidth of a Phenom II. I am hoping Bulldozer will get 2 to 2.5 times more bandwidth than Phenom II at its best which I don't think is unrealistic any more.
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,430 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Is it dual single-channel like on Barcelona or single dual-channel?
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    lol at the flood of questions.
  9. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    not sure of the answer on that
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,867 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,942
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I think the question is:

    a)will the memory controller be a single unit, 144-bit, with dual 72-bit channels,



    b)or is it multiple 72-bit controllers, each with thier own channel?

    I'm pretty sure this info is in the public domain via HotChips?
  11. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    A
    Damn_Smooth, TheMailMan78 and cadaveca say thanks.
  12. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Why doesn't the FX guy talk?{I feel like I asked this before, strange}

    Why do you talk when the FX guy can clear up a lot of conspiracy theory and rumors of demise?
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2011
  13. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    He's probably not allowed to talk about it yet man. Think about it. There's not much he could say, as this is very serious business.
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    I'm thinking the man who handles the FX end of things would rather not deal with a bunch of fanatical fan boys on a tech site. JD on the other hand might have more patience to do so. I'm just grateful to get ANY info. :laugh:
    Damn_Smooth and happita say thanks.
  15. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
  16. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    If you saw how much crap I get from the enthusiast market, I can understand why they don't. This is not my job, I do this for fun.
  17. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Glutton for punishment? :laugh:
  18. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Stick_ideology

    maybe you need to adopt some of this :toast:

    But thanks for everything JF-AMD
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2011
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    When the lid on leaks is kept so tightly shut, it's normally because the new product isn't as good as the competitor's existing products (Intel here).

    Well, we know next to nothing about Bulldozer and it's getting real close to launch time, so isn't it likely to be another disappointing performer from AMD, like the original Phenom?
    Goodman, LordJummy and IlluminAce say thanks.
  20. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Probably, but we will just have to wait and see. i would really like to be prooven wrong.
  21. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Or, it's corporate policy. Letting info out before launch only stalls sales. And OEMs don't like that because their supply chains are long. They placed PO's last month for the processors that they are buying today for desktops that they will build next month that will be sold to the channel in november for the christmas season. When you have that long of a lead you don't want anything disrupting the process.
    TheMailMan78 and Damn_Smooth say thanks.
  22. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    186
    So a leak about incredible performance would disrupt the process?
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2011
  23. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    I think JF was clear enough.
  24. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,037 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    799
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    I can't fucken take it anymore:mad: I want AMD BULLDOZER NOW!!!!!!!!!!!:banghead::banghead::banghead:
    [​IMG]
  25. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Yeah if the performance is mediocre, than sure. But if the prformance was awesome even i would click a pre-order button. But that is just not case i reckon.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page