1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

bulldozer temps?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by tilldeath, Feb 21, 2012.

  1. tilldeath New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    200 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    just trying to get an idea what I should be seeing on the 8150 with a stock heatsink. In BIOS the temps are lik 44C idle. Seems hot to me, although I could be wrong. Also this is my first time applying IC Diamond so not sure if I may need to re apply.
  2. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,064 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    ^ that seems pretty average considering you are on a stock heatsink. My Athlon II X4 idles at around 40c with my monster heatsink. You have 4 more cores than me on stock heatsink and get around the same. I wouldnt worry, seems normal!
  3. tilldeath New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    200 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    really? I was looking around and have seen temps under load at around 46C
  4. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,204 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    No 2 pc's are the same even if you use the same parts, There will always be diffrent temp readings between diffrent systems. Also your ambient room temp will efffect your readings to, Remeber not every has the same room tempreture. 44c idle seems ok to me, The main test will be to see what your temps are like under full load.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  5. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    202 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    yes, at idle it seems that is high. but is cool-and-quiet on?.


    in any case, i would change the heat seat compound, to arctic silver 5. and before appling that use the arctic cleaner two step product.

    i use it everytime a change a Heat Sink.
    use paper towel to wipe off the old compound, use the cleaner 1, wait, then apply cleaner 2, repeat the process again, then apply the arctic silver in a thin line, in the center (or your preferred method).

    if they are still high, get one of the high end air-coolers. (i use the antec h20 920, due to the fact that i shorted the cpu fan controller header, and needed fan control.. the antec 920 has fan control built in, now that I have a new MB i am still using it because it does the job) though depending on your needs the high-end coolers are more efficient, or quiet.
  6. tilldeath New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    200 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    okay, well haven't run a full load will do that here soon. But just installing drivers it peaks to 61C Should I turn off cool and quiet? Also for some reason the built in fan spped controller on my case is not working. Any ideas why?
  7. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,064 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875

    They are probably running custom heatsinks.

    61c seems high. Shouldnt be reaching those types of temps unless the CPU is under intensive load, like player a 20+ minute session of BF3. Under windows conditions it should be around about 45-50c.

    But as the guy above said, no two systems are the same, your case might just have restricted air flow, or insufficient inbound and outbound fans.

    I'd recommend enabling cool n quite in the bios. If you haven't already.
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2012
  8. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,741 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    My FX 8120 @ 4.40 GHz with all 8-cores runs on about 18C on idle and 56C on full stress load. Though I am using the Corsair H100 cooler and all fans are running on LOW.
  9. tilldeath New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    200 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    okay so I ran occt and can only run it around 30 sec befoe my temp hits 60C and I shut it down. I have tied two different TIMs and reseated cooler 3 times. Thoughts? Should I just swap for a new chip?
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    Normal temps for using a stock cooler. Bulldozer is a hot CPU to begin with. People claiming 18c have borked temperature sensors which is pretty common.
  11. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I have an FX-4100 i run at 4.5 on a stock cooler 20x multi 225 bus. its at 35c in my bios about 55 under stress according to Hardware monitor.
  12. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I turn off cool and quiet... What program do you use to get your temps?
  13. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    You're saying my FX4100 doesn't idle at 8 C? :(
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    If you're ambient temperature is under 8c by a bit, sure.
  15. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Unless your room temperature (which I doubt) is 8C. The temperature can't be lower than ambient by itself.
  16. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Water chiller! :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page