1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Butt splice PSU wires

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by coljarcker, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. coljarcker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    What are you doing that would require butt splicing into your PSU wires? I wouldn't even bother attempting doing such a thing unless you are fixing something that is broken.
     
  3. coljarcker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    the question is not why, the question is whether or not it will add resistance or if there is any other specific reason not to. if it's a bad idea, I understand but would like some reliable sources and specific reasons why.

    but yes some of it is for repairs, some for customizing
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Well, most PSU's seem to use 8 guage wire. Most PSU's are also designed in a fashion that there are not to be customized, however with a multimeter, you could find a line that you could add to if it is supplying enough juice. That's about as far as my knowledge goes on the subject. I would suggest starting a thread in the "Cases Modding and Electronics" section with some sort of a plan as for what you want to do. There are a couple guys here that are electrical geniuses. :toast:
     
    MKmods and coljarcker say thanks.
  5. coljarcker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    thank you! sorry, should have posted in that section. I did not realize those psu wires were that thick either
     
  6. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    It "can" be done, but I would not recommend it. Ive been working in the electrical trades for about 10 years. So Ive seen just about everything. Butt connectors are fine if used in the right applications. This would not be one. PC components are very sensitive to amp and voltage changes. If you can get a good tight connection you should be fine but if you dont.... you will know it real fast. I would not recommend using connectors on your main "rails".
     
    coljarcker says thanks.
  7. coljarcker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    thank you hogan, any recommendations for alternative ways to shorten, extend, and repair wires for various purposes? maybe i'm just obsessive compulsive but i like to be able to put wires exactly where i want them and to modify as needed without having to buy overpriced adapters and the like.

    what about those liquid-filled connectors? i'll see if i can find a link.
     
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    MKmods says thanks.
  9. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    This would be how I would do it. You can get new "push pin" kits for cheap on good "mod" websites. Cut your wires to you desired length then put new pins (male or female) on the ends. That would be your best and safest bet.
    MKmods would be a great wealth of info on something like this. Hes done it all.
     
  10. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    they arent, I think he meant to say 18ga (some are 16). Making but connectors are fine as long as you solder them and cover with shrink tubing.

    The crimp connectors can work but there is a chance of a poor connection so its really not worth taking the chance.

    The best way is how Panther mentioned

    those are designed for home/industrial wiring that will be exposed to the elements. there is no reason for using them in a comp.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Yes, that is it. My guage thinking was backwards. Some things I just never learn.
     
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i dont know if it fits here,
    but have you thought of deans connectors?
    they are useable up until 30 amps, i believe, and they have a very,very tight fit. sometimes, too tight, i find:) they are not very small tho (but they have a micro variant too;))
    Normal Deans:
    [​IMG]

    Micros:
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page