1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Buy the Q9450 or keep my Q6600?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by J-Man, Jun 17, 2008.

?

Q9450 or keep Q6600

  1. Buy the Q9450

    3 vote(s)
    17.6%
  2. Keep your current CPU

    14 vote(s)
    82.4%
  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Thing is, I have been thinking about getting the Q9450 because the main thing to me is that it runs cooler then my Q6600 and I want opinions. If you guys say get the Q9450, I will be selling the Q6600 on eBay for like £80 or something.
     
  2. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    TBH, your Q6600 @3.4 is more than you need. You can even clock it down a bit.

    A much bigger gain would be to sell your 3870x2 NOW, while you can still get some money for it on ebay, and get the 4850/70/x2. Much better bang for the buck... and for the disruption.
     
  3. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    The q9450 wouldn't offer enough of an upgrade to warrant the trouble. Your q6600 should do ya good until nehalem. The q9550 would offer a decent upgrade and should be down to ~$300 sometime in the near future, but again, you might as well wait for the true upgrade w/ nehalem.
     
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    yeah I agree with lemon. you wont see much if any improvement over your current CPU. Save for a new GPU :D
     
  5. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I might as well buy another 3870 X2 then.
     
  6. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I'd wait and sell it for a 4870x2.
     
  7. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    My card sucks in CoD 4 right now so hopefully the 4870 X2 should give me 100 FPS :nutkick:
     
  8. kyle2020 Guest

    buy the new Q9450, let me buy your Q6600 for £50 :D
     
  9. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Well if bought the Q9450, I'd sell my Q6600 for about £80.
     
  10. kyle2020 Guest

    youll have to keep me posted then, Im looking to go to intel soon so keep in touch please.

    :toast:
     
  11. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    No worries. But if I don't get the Q9450, I'll buy another 3870 X2.

    :toast:
     
  12. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    I almost bought a new 45nm quad, and with the advice I got from here, it would be a terrible idea.

    The OCing potential of the q6600 will keep that quad core in top ranks for the entire life of these new 45nm procs. My q6600 running at 3.4 ghz even is fast enough to keep up with all the new 45nms, and the FSB you would need to hit ~3.4 Ghz is VERY high. Requiring a high end motherboard with high end cooling.

    I am holding off for the release of the new socket type being released at the end of the year. No point in upgrading now and then wantin something new all over again in 6 months. I would say it is worth it if the proc would be even a small percentage faster, just not worth it
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,373 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    Q6600 is quite fast by todays standards. I'd say grab another x2
     
  14. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I got a blue screen today and it said... PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA and it said intel.ppm under it. I presume it has something to do with my processor?
     
  15. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Generally when I get blue screens, I google them.
     
  16. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Well I have looked in Google and can't find nothing on intel.ppm.
     
  17. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I bet it's my CPU. It's getting old.
     
  18. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    Agree, Sell the 3870x2
     
  19. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    And use what in the meantime?
     
  20. CStylen

    CStylen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    449 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    AZ
    Keep the Q6600, sell the X2 while you can. Or add a 4850/70/X2, they CF together with the 38XX series.

    Most retailers have a 30 day return policy so there ya go. I hope I'm clear enough.
     
  21. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    According to W1zzard, he was unable to get CF working with his 3870 and 4850.
     
  22. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    For now ;) The 2k and 3k are suppose to crossfirex also.


    J-Man, Do you have another card laying around?
     
  23. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I sold my 8800 GTS.
     
  24. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    makes very little sense to move to a Q9450 from a Q6600 they both average 3.6ghz and the extra on chip memory is not worth it.
     
  25. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    It'll be a better overclocker then the Q6600, runs cooler.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page