1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Buying a new rig tomorrow, 2 choices.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by u2konline, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I am buying a new rig monday morning(YAY) and i have 2 choices. I am not on a budget but i only want to spend 300 dollars, thats my limit. So lets stick to these 2 choices , just wanted to ask on different forums which is the best choice. Also both rigs has x16 full slots, which is something i wanted, even tho i have no plans to buy a PCIE card anytime soon. But it will be a future option.

    Anyways, these are my choices and i also have some questions.

    Choice 1: :) BRAND NEW) eMachines - 2.4GHz AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor LE-1620
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=9170835&type=product&id=1218043607320

    Choice 2(USED BY SOMEONE WHO HAD IT FOR 2 months at a computer shop
    Gateway Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 2.50GHz
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...&cm_mmc_o=TBBTkwCjCVyBpAgf mwzygtCjCVRqCjCVRq

    NOTE: He has this same rig used for only $269 dollars
    ...................................................

    Questions

    #1 Is AMD good?
    I have been a Intel user all my life

    #2 Pentium Dual Core E5200 2.50GHZ VS AMD Athlon Single-Core Processor LE-1620?

    #3 If i would buy the brand new AMD LE 1620 2.4GHz , How much VS/FASTER is it compared to my Gateway Intel Pentium III 600MHZ?

    #4 How much faster is the AMD 2.4GHZ LE 1620 Vs that Celeron D at 3.0ghz i had?

    #5 I don't care about getting 60fps or more in games, but i do want to get 20-40fps solid with all my games, even tho i am sure i will get around 200 in most games. But say for example, with my P3 i get 15-18fps in Jericho at 1280x1024 all high settings, how much in Jericho with the AMD 2.4GHZ would i get ?

    Note: Using the 2400HD and 8400gs btw

    Anyways, thanks. :)
     
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    u2konline buying a new DECENT pc? Where are the pigs flying :laugh: seriously, congrats.

    as for your questions

    1- Amd for the price is good but single core now are crap.
    2- In your case 2 cores > 1 core = Intel > AMD.
    3- Light Years Away.
    4- Athlon 64 arquitecture KICKS IN THE BUTT Intel netburs arquitecture.
    5- Dont know which game is jericho so i cant answer but u will get some nice fps.

    EDIT: I say a lot of good things about the AMD rig but for one time, do the right thing, get the intel.
     
    u2konline says thanks.
  3. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Yea decent of course. That last rig that i bought before was half broken when i bought it, even tho it was fast, but then blew up. :laugh:

    hmmmm thanks. I do want to add, the guy is only giving me a 30 day warranty for the Intel. But i guess i will have to look it over really good. I did manage to check it out a bit, no damage to it, little dusty tho, but overall pretty good.

    Put it this way, if i don't like what i see in the Intel one, i am just going to go and buy the 300 brand new computer from best buy. Either way, i will be gaming hardware tomorrow evening. :rockout:
     
  4. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
  5. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    the gateway is better
     
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA

    Frys has a Compaq or HP AMD Dual Core X2 4450e 45w CPU + 3GB ram + 250GB HDD + DVDRW for $299. Check Last Friday's LATimes Frys ad section or walk into Frys and you can check it out.

    That Best Buy deal is not that great.
     
  7. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Well with either system, it does look like i will be buying a pcie card. I already have one mind, tho. Its one of the 4670's. It also looks like i have to buy a cheap PCIE sound card, because PCI sound cards does not fit in pciex16 slots right?

    Yes i agree, so i will do a good look over tomorrow at his shop. But if something does not look good in it lol, i will go for the amd one at best buy.

    Man i can't wait :D
     
  8. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    That would be a great deal if i was home in California right now, but i am not. :laugh: I am in maryland at the moment, been here for about 3 months now with my girlfriend. In a area called Owings Mills. I own a house out here, and i am out here for business. Not only that, i am waiting for this to open up:

    http://www.marketproshows.com/computershows/showschedule.php

    I mention already that i was buying a 9500GT PCI (60 bucks ) and a Diamond 4670 PCIE(75 bucks) next month. The only way you can get hard to find PCI cards, if you go to those market shows. The next one to open is may 9-10. :rockout:
     
  9. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    that a motherboard has pcie doesnt meant it doesnt have pci. All boards that have pcie have at least a pci (except the p6t Ws revolution)
     
  10. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    On the AMD, I'd prolly say anywhere between 15-25 or 30 tops, depending on the spot.
    I'll have to do a FPS run on my rig and see what I get and give you an even more decent scale.
     
  11. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    eMachines?

    Everyone get your pitchforks, we've got a monster to chase down.
     
    thebeephaha says thanks.
  12. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Well i know when i had my Celeron D 3.0ghz from the time i did manage to play Jericho on it using my 2400HD, at the same settings, i get a solid 17-26fps. I guess i will find out tomorrow. Thanks for checking tho. I plan to use my 8400GS as my main card. But next month i will be using the 9500GT PCI and 4670 PCIE and just keep the rest of my 10 pci cards as backups. :)

    If everything works out, i will be getting rid of my Pentium III. RIP. It serve me well since 2000, now its time for its death. My P3 wouldn't be so bad, if it had 2.0 USB speed, its running on 1.0 speed and its slow as hell. In warhead, i can go take a shower , come out the shower, make a sandwich, go outside and look at the sun, and come back and its 70% done lol.

    Anyways, peace , i will report back tomorrow with some news and CPU-Z shot. :D

    I just found out acer bought them, or something like that. They are for the budget buyers. I could spend up to 700 on a pc, but just trying to save some money you know. I also do not feel like spending alot on a new rig, just something to get me some good performance, 20-40 is perfect in my book. Hell, 17fps is freakin fast
     
  13. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Alright, Yeah, I average about 35-50 FPS so you'll prolly get up to 20 ish frames.
     
  14. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
  15. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I tend to visit here alot. But it doesn't sucked. I hope you understand there are 3 parts to Maryland, Baltimore county, downtown Baltimore and Baltimore city. Baltimore Country is nice and for rich and wealthy folks, Downtown Baltimore is for rich folks, but also Baltimore City is well the Poverty area.

    None of the places suck, or a waste land lol. Even some parts up here in the county looks like trash, it really all depends on where you are at. Most of my friends lived in Baltimore City and in certain parts of the county, so its cool with me.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q5gZERHds4E
    Man, just go up to Towson tall center, or the Towson area. I might drive up there tomorrow :) or downtown baltimore.

    I only been to Florida once, when i was a little lad lol, i forget where i was at. But it was like 95 degrees when i was there.
     
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    u2konline

    Get the intel/gateway. And no I am not a fanboy.
     
  17. iandh Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    195 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    I am an AMD fan but that emachines system is garbage compared to the Gateway with the intel dual core.
     
  18. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    The LE-1650 is garbage compared to the E5200.

    And for those who are unimformed, E5200 is NOT NETBURST. It has inherited the Pentium brand name simply as a budget name, not architecture related at all!!

    Go with the gateway, and the 4670 will more than satisfy your needs u2k; just make sure you get a GDDR3 version, otherwise the RAM will bottleneck it.
    And please don't even bother getting the 9500 GT PCI, it will only perform worse than the 4670, unless you use it as a PhysX card. But even then, its not really worth it.
    If you get the Intel Gateway and a 4670, you will see mountains of performance benefits over even the Celeron D and your HD2400. It will leave your PIII in the dust.
    Also, I know you don't like overclocking, but the E5200 will easily clock up to 3.2 GHz on a stock cooler. If you ever feel like doing that, then it'll run fine. :)
    (I should know, mine is a C0 stepping (which is crappy) and it clocks up at 3.8 GHz)
     
  19. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    OEM = Goodbye CPU overlclocking
     
  20. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Get the Gateway! But you'd need to buy a new PSU if you wanted to get a descent PCI-E card (yeah right!:rolleyes:) later on.
     
  21. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Well i did not get the gateway dual core. Its used as i said, and its only a 2 weeks warranty , instead of 30days. He says, you buy what you see, etc. He did drop the price to 150 tho, but the guy and his shop are a tool, he don't even have pcie cards laying around, he says because nobody wants them :laugh:

    Anyways, so i just spent 317 dollars on the AMD 2.4ghz 1620 desktop. :rockout:
    With Vista basic. Vista has too much fu**** junk in it, google toolbar? are they serious.

    Anyways:

    [​IMG]

    :toast: I will play some games later., once i get use to this new OS and get rid of all this crap on it.
     
  22. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    OMFG- PREBUILT MACHINES are filled with BLOATWARE! A clean vista install is FAST, has nothing on it.... you even have to DOWNLOAD MSN messenger... So don't hate on Vista until you know the full truth. Go to MS and order a clean OEM Vista Basic disc and install with that... :nutkick:

    Also- if I give you an X1800GTO would you use it? lol.
     
  23. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Wow, u spent more than twice as much for an inferior machine? Congrats...
     
  24. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    That's not even half as powerful... oh well. His decision.

    No. Pre-builts have too much crap on them. Vista doesn't come with crap. OEM OS are actually quite void of extra 'junk'.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
  25. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page