1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Buying ram this any good?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by animal007uk, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
  2. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    hmm @ 39.25 pound , to be honist [​IMG] this is specs on your currant motherboard ,, any memory you going to put in will better it because your using under minimum spec 667 ,, minimum is 800 , personaly o would go for the corsair dominator @ £56.75 [​IMG]

    http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/products.aspx?cat=23&subcat=443&brand=22

    but i see your a ocz lover ,,then try spennding that small little bit extra for the 1066 , there a reason your mobo has such high memory suppor as to 1200 mhz ,, its intence and dedicated for memory ,, especialy ddr2 ,, from what i read ,, if you dont go for a expensive ROG of same stat , go for this gigabyte mobo at budget price with extream perfomance , £43.50 is the 4 gig ocz at 1066 [​IMG]

    http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/products.aspx?cat=23&subcat=443&brand=66 just my personal opinion ,, i'm a corsair freak ,, might not look as fancy , but it does its job ,, tight timmings or low latency , its passed . any how , i'm new here hope i was of any help.
    animal007uk says thanks.
  3. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    but now i feel like a ass ,, the corsair memory needs 2.1 V Corsair TwinX 4Gb DDR2-8500 (2x2Gb) Memory Kit... and your mobo can reach that but with a OC of 0.3 V on your Dram V . so mabye your better with ocz then , but like i said that little extra for the 1066 will help
  4. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Thanks for the replys :D My PSU is weak so i will hopefully be able to buy a new one next friday, so i wont be doing any cpu overclocking.

    ram will stay at stock speeds but i don't mind having to push the ram to higher volts. due to the latest bios update witch my mobo already came with we can now push ram past 1333mhz from what i have read so im guessing at that speed i would need more volts anyway.

    money is tight today so i might just get 2x1gig of ram then 2x2gig at some other point.

    as i wont be realy clocking ram would this be any good?

    Kingston HyperX 2Gb (2x1Gb) DDR2 1066MHz Dual Chan Kit

    # The electrical and mechanical specifications are as follows: Power supply : Vdd: 1.8V ± 0.1V, Vddq: 1.8V ± 0.1V
    # Double-data-rate architecture; two data transfers per clock cycle
    # Bidirectional data strobe(DQS)
    # Differential clock inputs(CK and CK)
    # DLL aligns DQ and DQS transition with CK transition
    # Programmable Read latency 5 (clock)
    # Burst Length: 4, 8 (Interleave/nibble sequential)
    # Programmable Burst type (sequential & interleave)
    # Timing Reference: 5-5-5-18 at +1.8V / 5-5-5-15 at +2.2V
    # Edge aligned data output, center aligned data input
    # Auto & Self refresh, 7.8us refresh interval (8K/64ms refresh)
    # Serial presence detect with EEPROM
    # High Performance Heat Spreader
    # PCB : Height 1.180” (30.00mm), single sided component
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2009
  5. Sir_Real

    Sir_Real New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Lincoln England
    I found my Kingston HyperX 1066mhz is dam good stuff. Its running with my E5300@3.5ghz very stable.

    Seems pointless to just get 2x 1gb sticks tho. What you saving over 2x 2gb? £10 or £15 tops !
  6. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    I wouldnt go for them reapers, you can only run 2 sticks of them in most boards because of the size of the heatsinks on them. Although 4gb is plenty if you have that rig for a year or 2 you might want to upgrade to 8gb.
  7. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    £31.75 - £45.50 is kinda alot in my currance thats 412.75 - 591.5 ,, wait thats cheap !! i pay about R 1000-00 for a 2x2gig kit her were i stay thats £77 holly crap !! you thik i can import from them ??
  8. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    hmmmmmm ,, damin fine print !! £65.26inc. VAT +£5.64 IF YOUR IN THE UK ! * 13 to get R 921.70 and then the tax comes in and the government ,, ( for the corsair ) wow that site is uptodate on the phenom series they got the 965 already ,, but dont have the crosshair formula 3 ROG !! aw !
  9. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    cheers for all the replys, well in the end i coulden't get what i wanted due to not being able to get a lift to where i needed to go. the other local shops are a rip of for ram and stuff so i will save up some extra cash and try and get to eclipse next week. i settled on a new keyboard and dvi cable today.
  10. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    i'm glad you setteld thou ,, any other questions and sugestions ,, pop em in this thread ,, they will be attended to ,, ( hell i always wanted to say that )
  11. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    that site i use is pretty cheap as they have there own shop and warehouse to, i usualy ring them first tho as i can get the stuff i want for the web price if i ring and go pick it up, and yeah there also pretty uptodate with the new cpu's and stuff
  12. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Its not worth it. You can get PC8500 (1066MHz) for cheaper than those sticks.

    OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 Gold Memory £38.06inc vat
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/149202

    Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 HyperX Memory £36.99inc vat
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/148859

    The OCZ gold memory are known in the enthusiast community for being overclocking beasts!


    Edit:

    How old are you? Surely you have a card. I believe you can get a solo card at the age of 16 these days?
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  13. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    Ebuyer FTW!!! :rockout:
  14. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    i cant pay online thats why i have to go to the shop :( its to much hassle getting other ppl to sort out payments online and to much hassle and time waiting for things to be replaced if somthing goes wrong.

    http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/products.aspx?cat=23&subcat=443&brand=33
    Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 HyperX Memory £38.24inc. VAT.

    only few squid more than ebuyer
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  15. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    due to problems when i was younger i ended up being in a lot of debt so i no longer have a bank account and poor credit rating.

    i also prefer to just go the shop and have a good look round as i somtimes come acroos some nice bargins.
  16. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    That is a good deal, its PC8500 so you'd benefit from the extra bandwidth opposed to PC6400. Ideally I would of went for the OCZ Gold on ebuyer, but this would be my second option based on price and bandwidth rating.
    animal007uk says thanks.
  17. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Im just taking a good look at my mobo and as someone else said earlyer the ocz reaper might not fit and my ram slots are pretty close together. slots 1/2 are realy close then there is a pretty big gap then slots 3/4 are realy close aswell.

    i wont be overclocking the ram i buy maybe ill tweak the timings if anything but the speeds will stay at stock so i might just get the kingston ram as its a little cheaper.

    with my current setup and keeping all volts on auto i managed to get my cpu to 2800mhz / 400mhzFSB and ram to 800mhz but i don't like pushing any ram that far. i did a quick test of 3dmark 2006 and passed without any errors but i would still need to do other test such as memtest but i rekon it would fail with my currnt ram at 800mhz.

    one thing i should mention again, my PSU is not very good so untill i get a new one i wont overclock the cpu. i must change my system spec to as everything is at stock now.

    just had another look on eclipse website and i like the look of this ram to.
    Geil 4Gb (2x2Gb) DDR2 1066 Dual Chan - Black Dragon £49.16inc. VAT

    they dont seem to sell the ocz gold :( but i might ring them and ask if they have it in stock anyway, maybe they just havent put it on there webpage
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  18. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    OCZ reapers are very big in width so if you've got a smaller case it can restrict one from putting on the heatsink+fan or restrict other components. Personally if you are not overclocking the bus much OCZ reapers are are not worth the price. You'll be happy with the Kingstons HyperX PC8500s.


    Edit:

    Do not spend more than £40 on 4GBs of PC8500, anything more isn't worth the price.

    Looking at your rig at the moment the weak link is the ATI 4650, I'd be looking to replace that first even before the ram.

    The E6550 I'd attempt to get that to 3 GHz, even on your PSU.
  19. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Im in no rush to update my GPU as im also in no rush to buy a new screen, my max res on this screen is 1280/1024 @75hz and almost every game i like to play runs at max settings or almost max settings :D and with good FPS, soon ill update the gpu and screen but wont be for a good 6 months, im waiting to see what the new DX11 cards from ati are gonna be like.

    Everything i buy will take time as im paying money out all over the place fixing my past mistakes when i was a young boy.

    I might be able to get my sister to get me some ram from ebuyer but ill have to wait and see. if i can get it from ebuyer i think ill just go for that ocz gold as it is a nice price.

    dident see the part you typed about the case, my case is massive if anything i would have to say its full size atx, im looking at it now as it has see thru side panel and there is so much room in there my cables are also realy tucked away so there is nothing blocking airflow.

    when i look at the volts on the psu in bios they seem low to me 12v jumps up and down between 11.98 / 12.10 and the 3.3volts drops down to 3.28 and 20 amps just dont seem enough even for the basic setup i have.
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
    Darren says thanks.
  20. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,807 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    420
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    I just wanted to add that I run those OCZ Reaper's and I think they are just fantastic. I had been running Crucial BallistiX(PC8500) a 2 gig kit and while they were very stable at 1066 they were DAMN hot to the touch. I caught a good deal and picked up the 4 Gig PC8500 Reapers and wow those heatpipes really do the job. They are just "case warm" at the same speeds and just as stable.
  21. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,096 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,996
    Not sure if they are available in the UK, but in the USA, you can buy pre-paid debit cards that don't require a bank account or credit check. That's what I use for online purchases(they are also great in preventing identy theft)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. FemTech New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Many types of RAM are on the market, but you only need to worry about getting the type that's compatible with your motherboard.
  23. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    +1 on that. I'm UK based and you can get a PayPal pre-paid card (among others). You can put money on it at the post office or at the shops with those top-up machines (around 100,000 of them IIRC), they charge £1 to top up. Then just use it as a credit card online.
  24. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    rather save a £1 than get a topup card caUSE im a tight git and going the shop works for me so its all good:p
  25. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Well its payday again and i have a bit of extra cash to play with so before i go ahead and order some ram i would like to ask a few questions.

    1. edit going for next day delivery.
    2.what are there return policys like if an item is faulty?
    3.if faulty how long till they send a replacement?

    never used ebuyer and will be getting my sis to order for me so just want to make sure they don't mess people about.

    thanks in advance and thanks again for all the other comments.

    p.s gonna get this http://www.ebuyer.com/product/149202 next day delivery
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page