1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

buying ram.. which of these three is better?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by simaomacaco, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. simaomacaco New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C4 800MHz Black Dragon DDR2 Dual Channel Kit (GB22GB6400C4DC) 800MHz RAM Speed, CAS 4-4-4-12 Timings, 1.9-2.0v VDIMM, Lifetime Warranty with GeIL.

    GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C5 800MHz Value DDR2 Dual Channel Kit (GX22GB6400DC) 800MHz RAM Speed, CAS 5-5-5-15 Timings, 1.8-1.9v VDIMM, Lifetime Warranty with GeIL.

    OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) PC2-6400C4 800MHz ReaperX HPC Enhanced Bandwidth Edition Dual Channel DDR2 (OCZ2RPX800EB4GK) 800MHz RAM Speed, CAS 4-4-3-15 Timings, 2.1-2.2v VDIMM, Lifetime Warranty with OCZ.

    Which of these is better for overclocking and 2.4Duo2 with an old intel XBX board?
     
    theonetruewill says thanks.
  2. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    I would say Geil Black Dragons, flagship.

    - Christine
     
  3. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    I agree...geil have produced some really great mem sticks and the new dragons are no exception....
     
  4. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    If your going for higher ram clocks 2 gig will overclock better than 4 gig. But what I have found is that more bandwith beats faster bandwith. So I would go with 4 gig and not run them as fast as 2 gig.;)
     
  5. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    why don't go buy transend axe modules (2x1 gb, 1066mhz) X2 = 4x1gb :roll:

    still....great memory amongst others....
    If they were available, where I live, when I was building my rig, I would surely get them....:rockout:
     
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Thats a good suggestion with the axe ram. For awhile, Geil was putting out crappy ram. They seemed to have redeemed themselves with their Esoteras and other lines.
     
  7. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    I will sell you my 1200 kit.:D
     
  8. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    in the last 6 months i spent about 3000$ to build my rig and my media center....and in about 1 month our baby is due. So I won't be spending a cent on pcs, until next September...

    :rolleyes: how much for it?

    lol... lasted 5 seconds...:laugh:
     
  9. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    How about $150. Supply and demand you know.:p
     
  10. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    4 gig is useless unless u want to run a 64bit os which are normally a pain in the ass anyway especially vista if you plan on getting most preformance out of your rig stick with xp 32bit and get 2gig.

    I have 4 gig of ocz reaper and i wish i had got 2gb now cos ive had all i can take from vista why slow up a good machine on a operating system that requires 1gig for its self.

    XP RULES!!
     
  11. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago

    Thats a good, valid point nitro.
     
  12. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    I run that same OCZ kit on XP64 and it KIKs AZZ, originally I ran it on Vista64 (for about 3 hours) before going back to XP, this kit overclocks awesome for a 4 gig kit, mine is running 1066mhz without breaking a sweat 5-5-4-18 on stock voltage 2.1. At 2.2V at the same timings you can easily stroke 1150mhz outta these puppies :) BTW, I haven't had one issue whatsoever with 64bit XP, everything I toss at it works.
     
  13. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I have the Black Dragon kit- nice stuff. Hasn't let me down yet. I have them at 1033- not taken them higher.

    EDIT: Right now testing them @ 1100MHz 5-5-5-15 (2.2v) for you :)

    EDIT2: Seem to be stable on orthos for a decent while- sorry, I won't check if they can go higher as I will not put any higher than 2.2v through them.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2008
    Smartbomb says thanks.
  14. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    Man theonetruewill's post got me playing, here are some references on OCZ ReaperX PC6400
    @800mhz 4-4-3-10 1T (2.1v) @1066 5-5-4-15 2T (2.1v) @1100mhz 5-5-4-15 2T (2.2v) not gonna push any further but there are people on the net (especially OCZ forum) that will back this kit hitting 1150mhz
    BTW I am more than happy that I got a 4 gig kit stable at 1T. Also I used TRFC 32 on all.
    Will add to this post again later, going to tweak my timings even further and see how many rabbits I can pull outta the hat.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2008
  15. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    This is the best that I can do on 2.2v
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    theonetruewill that is a very good overclock, very worthy :) BTW my tweakings are done, anymore I push I am locking my system up. Forget about prime95, I kick in Everest Ultimate and freeze my puter out. My whole body hurts from cringing so hard doing hard reset after hard reset.
    The best benchmarks with SuperPI I got of running at 1066.
    Edit: After further playing around I got this kit running 1120mhz 5-5-4-15 with my SuperPI 1M dropped 1 second. Kept my voltage at 2.2V. I was able to get into windows with it running as high as 1133mhz but wasn't very stable (Love BSOD's) 1120mhz stabablized. Ran Prime95 X64 for 4 hours. Numerous runs with SuperPI and benched a few times with 3DMark06.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2008
    theonetruewill says thanks.
  17. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Well we both seem to have pushed our RAM to the limit. I hope this helps the OP. Personally I suspect the OCZ kit is slightly better - but I have no idea of the pricing difference between them in your location. If it is much more expensive then I do not think it is worth it. However, if this is not true- go with the OCZ kit. Always get the best you can afford.
     
    Smartbomb says thanks.
  18. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    theonetruewill has a very good point, the OCZ kit isn't the cheapest, roughly $150-$160 not to mention I have seen guys get way lower SuperPI than my 16.125s at 1 meg with 2 gig kits, hope this doesn't furthur confuse things. There is a guy Mr. Natural on evga forum (we don't see eye to eye) who is a memory master, he pulls 12.79s 4,3,3,9,2T,3,15 with crucial ddr2 1000 kit running at 950mhz. I also realize this kit isn't on your hit list but I hope this info helps anyways
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2008
  19. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    On a side note- the Black Dragons have no Heatspreader on their kit as standard. I thought this odd at first as only very cheap brands normally fall foul of this. However, I have noticed that the kit simply does not get hot (also the Dragon-eye LED's are thus visible). I keep considering and reconsidering getting a RAM cooler- but even with 2.2v and under heavy load the kit does not get more than slightly warm. It does beg the question as to if basic heatspreaders actually do help or hinder heat transfer. With kits like the Corsair Dominator series I think that the Heatsinks do actually work. But I remeber my old XMS2 kit with basic heatspreaders were as hot as hell even at only about 2v. Personally I don't want to state anything as fact but I am wondering of the merit of basic Heatspreaders- but I still notice the cooling performance gain in the more expensive cooling methods.
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  21. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'd pick those too. I would say my Ballastix but they aren't Micron's anymore... :cry: The transends can oc like a beast.
    Wile E knows a little to much about this set of ram! lol
     
  22. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I just don't think those transcends are going to be worth it in his system. they are for severely hardcore overclockers.
     
  23. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    maybe, but they are also for those who are just want to try something new and learn from it.... OC wise. What i mean is that these sticks are forgiving....
     
  24. miniquake32

    miniquake32 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    98 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    me

    i would choose OCZ
     
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yes they are. Very forgiving. I have a set of D9 Ballistix, and they won't post on my board from a default CMOS, even with just one stick. These Transcend fire right up. I've had them up to 1400Mhz on 2.34V, and 1290 on default voltage (2.2V). The best ram I have ever owned, ever.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page