1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

C2D vs C2Q vs PII

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DarkEgo, Jan 10, 2009.

?

What CPU/ motherboard

  1. Q9550 with Biostar IP45

    31.6%
  2. Q6600 with Biostar TP45HP

    7.9%
  3. E8500 with Biostar TP45HP

    2.6%
  4. Phenom II with Biostar 790GX

    50.0%
  5. Other

    7.9%
  1. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    I am going to upgrade my system soon, I am looking to future proof it is much as possible. I am getting a GTX 280, but i am going to need a new mother board to go with it. Because I am upgrading anyway why not upgrade the cpu for the future, so I have a few options.
    1. Q9550 with Biostar IP45
    2. Q6600 with Biostar TP45HP
    3.E8500 with Biostar TP45HP
    4. Phenom II with Biostar 790GX
    5. other
    If I go Phenom II I am going to have to get a new water block, or at least mount for my D-Tek FuZioN (all i have is the LGA 775 pro-mount.) What do you think the best solution would be. (The cheaper the better because then I can afford more games :rockout:)
    Thank you,
    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I say Q9550 and IP45, the CPU is good for future proofing and the P45 chipset is known to be stable and a good OCer.
     
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I've owned both of those boards. They are decent, but there are better options, particularly from Asus and DFI. One thing I really didnt like on the 790GX3 that I just had to RMA was the lack of mosfet heatsinks. Count that as an added expense. On a budget, I would with PII and a 790GX board from DFI or Asus.
     
  4. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Phenom II is also a good option if on a budget, like said above.
     
  5. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    wait for AM3 boards or do I7 if you want good futureproof hardware.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  6. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    if u can, go for the yorkfield
     
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The Phenom II are exceptionally low heat. If you got a bracket for your D-tek, you'd be sitting pretty man :toast: Enjoy!
     
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    LOL. Yeah, my LOAD temps on a 3.65ghz 1.45v run of prime95 were 39c under my Dtek. :D
     
  9. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    To my knowledge, the recent Q6600's selling on newegg are terrible overclockers which doesn't make them attractive at all. Out of all the deals listed, I would get the PII unless you are sure you can get 3.5+ on that q6600. Can't vouch for any of those mobos though since I have no experience with them
     
  10. Blacklash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    I got a Phenom II for my third computer because I already own well overclocked I7 920 and Q6600 G0 rigs. I figured it would be about like the Q6600 when OCed. My I7 920 does 3.96GHz on air 1.36v. My Q6600 G0 will do 3.6GHz 1.45v or 3.8GHz 1.55v. I go with the former because it's on air too.

    Personally, if I was on a budget and could only afford one rig, I'd go with your option 2. If price doesn't really matter, go option 1.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  11. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    The reason I was choosing most of those boards is $20-40 combo deals...
     
  12. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Poll added!
     
  13. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Would a Q9400 be a good processor to get?
     
  14. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If you Overclock it, yes the performance will be good.
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Go Phenom II man! A 920 would go awesome with the 280 you just bought!
     
  16. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If your on a budget, i agree with Shadowfold.
     
  17. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    If i get a PII i am gonna get the 940 so i can overclock it. I want at least 3.8 GHz.
     
  18. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    go for the q9550 BUT dont go in that combo, instead go for a gigabyte ud3p which cost the same as the biostar in the combo with the descount but overclocks way better
     
  19. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    If you got the first setup ( Q9550 ) you would be good for about the next 2 years but I would not say you are future proof no such thing IMHO .
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2009
  20. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    Yeah, but you're also good for the next 2 years if you get a top Dual Core (E8400, E8500 or E8600).

    You guys seem to completely ignore Core 2 Duo for no reason. Yeahm it's pretty good for you that you have a Quad, but I had the choice to go Quad 2 months back when I built this computer, but I decided to go with the E8400. And I don't regret it any way.

    A Quad is only useful if you do insane ammounts of multitasking, otherwise, if you just game, like me, a solid dual core will get you through all the gaming needs in the next 2-3 years.

    And I say this because you seem to forget that CPU architecture is also a major factor in performance, and you also seem to neglect that s775 quads are nothing more than 2 Duos glued together, so when Core 2 Duo starts to suck for gaming, you can expect your beloved Quads to suck as well. No other way around.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  21. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yes , you are right .
     
  22. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    So... Phenom II?
     
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That would be the cheaper choice. I am liking my 9750 over E7200 more. 2.8ghz on a Phenom is really fast, I can't imagine how fast it would be at 3.8 :rockout:
     
  24. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    I don't know man. Just because phenom II is brand new, doesn't mean it will outlast Core 2 Duo or Core 2 Quad. Don't forget that AMD has been lagging behind trying to keep up with Intel.

    My point is: if you want a computer to last you 2 or 3 years into the future, it doesn't matter if you go with Core 2 Duo, Core 2 Quad or even Phenom. They will surely reach that time and still perform acceptably.

    I just stepped in because, people neglect Core 2 Duo a lot, and seem to favour Quads. But the truth is when Core 2 architecture is not enough for games (which should happen only in a few years) it doesn't matter if you have a quad or a Duo, they will suck nontheless.

    I built this computer to last me 3 years, more or less. And I know my little E8400 beast will do that job :)
     
  25. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    The new Phenom II X4 doesn’t look too impressive against the background of contemporary Core 2 Quad and especially Core i7 CPUs. The results of our tests show that the top Phenom II X4 processors can only be worthy rivals to the Core 2 Quad CPUs from the “junior” Q8000 series. Unfortunately, Phenom II X4 cannot yet do better than that.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page