1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management Helpdesk

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by tkpenalty, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Okay, got another item I just bought that might help you with cable management - especially if you're using a Raven 2 with a Crosshair IV Formula and an optical drive plugged into the Marvell controller. I was looking for one of these for ages, didn't even know whether they existed or not.
    It's called a Horizontal Right Angle Sata Cable. The only place I've found them so far is on cheesefeat's shop on eBay. He's only got them in 15cm lengths, and he said his supplier is very slow so don't expect longer ones soon.
    I just bought 2 of the cables and a male-male connector (to connect the two short cables together) and I'm pleased with the (small) difference it's made in my rig!
    Before and after's, plus a pic of the cables + connector:

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  2. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    They are pretty sweet!

    Anyone had a joy and quick and easy fix in making power cables more flexible? The Corsair cables are stiff as hell and I have a hard time moving them about.
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  3. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Seems I'm plugging cheesefeat's shop everywhere :laugh:
    Yea I got that problem with my cables - I just grin and bear it. I think the size of my case helps though. The biggest help for you would be upgrading your case IMO. With a decent case, you won't have to worry about bending the cables too much I reckon.
  4. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,916 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    There are a lot of sellers of right-angled SATA cables over here, some are even sleeved already too.

    My MSI board also came with one (the other three aren't right-angled).
  5. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    They're not normal right-angled cables, look again.
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Those cables are awesome, nice find! Looks a lot nicer. :)
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    If anyone needs help sourcing any of these bits I post about, just chuck me a PM. I regularly buy wierd niche bits, and I'm well versed in shipping abroad ;)
    I figured I'm not going to be able to contribute much to helping people with their cable management, so I'll just post about bits that help me that I haven't seen before. The glue lined 4:1 heatshrink I mentioned in the last page is one that excites me somewhat :eek: cable pr0n FTW!
    Athlonite, kciaccio and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  8. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    He's got some very interesting bits n bobs in there and good prices to when compared to what I'd have to pay here in NZ good find Scaminatrix
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  9. FTW PC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Here are a couple pics of some crunchers. Nothing special. I still have to sleeve the cables with our custom sleeving which will take time. I also need to change the tubes of the watercooled rigs, as the stock XSPC tubing looks a dingy, nasty brown.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Those systems are i7-2600K at 5.0 ghz. One with a GTX 580 Direct Cu II, and one with 2 GTX 580 Direct Cu II.

    Here's a third 2600K at 4.8 under a Corsair H60 with a GTX 460 768mb Direct Cu.

    [​IMG]

    Here's the sleeving I'm going to use.

    [​IMG]

    Folding stats.

    4 million points in a month and a half isn't bad. :)
    specks, MT Alex and scaminatrix say thanks.
  10. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,482 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    Here's my improvement:

    Before:
    [​IMG]

    After:
    [​IMG]


    Hadn't thought about that!!! That'll surely come in handy. Thank you!!! :rockout:

    I'll reverse the HDDs and take a new picture.





    EDIT: Done. I had to actually mount the HDD cage backwards to achieve this.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    EDTI: There's still room for improvement. I've ordered 75cm SATA cables to route them below the board. I'll also need a longer IDE cable and I've left the floppy unplugged for the time being as my Physx card makes it impossible to plug it but I'll order a longer cable too.
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2011
    scaminatrix says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    What can I do about this? Little bro's pc.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  12. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,482 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    Based on what I've experimented so far:

    [​IMG]

    You might need longer SATA cables and extensions for the 4pin connectors in order to achieve this. Also zip tie mounts. If your case is like mine, there's enough space behind the tray to arrange the cables as flat as posible (do not twist them).

    By the way, is that the Scythe Gekkou case?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. fast fate New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Well, just looking through and I shall comment.
    First why not have a working computer for us to comment on/
    Plugging in a PSU with a few lights does not = a working computer.
    Let's see HDDs and optical drives, maybe some RAM, is there even a processor under the cooler ??
    Callin' it the way I see it.
  14. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Lol, wut? Tell me you at least see the RAM:confused:
  15. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,482 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    HDDs are in the bottom cage by the PSU; just follow the cables.
    Optical drive is missing but I guess he has an external one or installed Win7 from a USB stick.
    The processor I can't tell but there's definitively RAM in the red slots.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Nothing wrong with "callin' it how you see it", thing is, you just saw it totally wrong.
  17. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,482 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    Done for at least the following 4 months:

    [​IMG]
    I forgot to plug the 24pin connector before taking the pic :eek:

    [​IMG]

    What I did:
    - Got a 2TB drive to replace 3 500GB ones. I now have only 3 drives: a system drive, files drive and a media drive.
    - Routed the 4pin molex, 6 pin PCIe and CPU 12V connectors below the motherboard.
    - Got a longer SATA cable for the DVD burner
    - Got an extension for the CPU 12V connector
    - Reversed the HDD cage to hide the cables
    - Used some zip tie mounts to keep wires in place


    Looks nice and runs cooler. Nothing compared to the rat's nest I used to have. I'm still deciding whenever to use the TX3 sans fan or the stock intel HSF to cool the i3. :confused: What do you think?
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
    Athlonite and Soylent Joe say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    nice job TRWOV I'd say you've very successfully banished the previous rats nest :toast:
    as for the HSF I'd personally go with the TX3 with a quiet fan those stock ones from Intel can get a little annoying when they spin up and down every few seconds....

    OH just before I go don't forget the 24pin power cable
    TRWOV says thanks.
  19. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,482 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    The stock CM fan that comes with the TX3 is very noisy. There is a 92mm exhaust at rougly the same plane as the TX3 fins and I think it might be enough for the i3. I'll test and report.





    EDIT:

    Idle:
    Intel HSF 44ºC
    TX3 no fan 41ºC

    running 10 loops of Intel Burn Test maximum
    Intel HSF 70ºC max
    TX3 no fan 66ºC max
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    you wanna see if you can find one of those fan ducts they put on case sides so the gap between HS and exhaust fan is limited
  21. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,880 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    I have done some cable sleeving on my rig. I'm not to sure about the results though :(

    I really want to make it a little neater. The ATX cable, i'm going to route behind the mobo tray after i finish sleeving an extender, but beyond that i am not sure what to do. I think that the GPU power cables look kinda messy from where they come out behind the mobo tray. Would cable ties help with this? I only have a couple of spare black ones so i don;t wanna use them all up if it won't help.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  22. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,764 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Mine needs a little fine tuning.

    [​IMG]
    Chummmleee says thanks.
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    :shadedshu

    I think the first thing you need to worry about is the major dust build up in your system in that second pic it looks like it's about to become a sentient dust bunny :D think about fan filters they save a shitload of cleaning :D

    also you do realize your killing you PSU quicker by running all that on it
    an OC'd CPU and GPU + all those HDD's = Minimum PSU Wattage: 537 W
    silkstone says thanks.
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    If you can find a way to get a piece of aluminum, then you can bend it into shape and cover the PSU area. Like it can go in front of the PSU then along the mobo tray towards the HDD cage. Then you can route the wires behind it neatly zip tied together or something and they won't be seeing. If you can do it nicely, it'll look good.

    As far as your sleeving, it didn't come out bad bro, sleeving takes a lot of practice dude.
    silkstone says thanks.
  25. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,871 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,156
    Just leavin' this here [​IMG]
    Athlonite, Chicken Patty and Frick say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page