1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management Helpdesk

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by tkpenalty, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    The PSU has been going strong now for 2+ years. I would like to get a new one, but i'm saving for an i5. The added voltage for the overclock isn't that high, my calcs were a fair bit lower than 537 W.
    As for the dust... tell me about it, i hat just wiped the whole case clean 2 weeks prior to that pic, it builds up so damn fast. I can;t get hold of any filters without getting them imported from the US which is just too expensive. I tried using a pair of the wife's tights, but the dust built up so quickly on them that the fans had blown them off after a week.

    Thanks. I'm not sure where i can get a piece of thin aluminium to do that, but i'll keep my eye out. I'm not sure i could do it tho, as i have a fan down there that takes up a lot of the floor of the case. I think it'd look much better if i sprayed the inside black, but i don;t have any real space to spray paint as i live in an apartment and it'd be a full day project. Maybe when i upgrade i will wash the whole thing out and take it outside somewhere to spray.
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,768 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,330
  3. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Any particular reason your bottom fan is blowing down?
     
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :respect::respect::respect:

    There are places online, I just can't remember or come across it now. As far as painting, yeah the black interior just makes the case look better automatically IMO.

    Check out this THREAD. The first post has tons of useful links and in there you should find a store that sells aluminum.
     
  5. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    It's blowing down so that it doesn't suck up dust. i have 1x200mm intake and 2x120mm intake and the fan on the bottom is real slow so it shouldn't effect airflow too much.

    Thanks, the problem for me is getting the stuff imported from the US. Most companies quote ridiculous shipping prices. I was looking at getting a bit of sleeving imported from the US the other day and the quote for the shipping was $40!

    Can you think of any way to tidy the semi-messy looking gpu power cable from where it comes out from behind the mobo tray?
     
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,936 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,375
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yep dust is the reason
    if you wanna make it as intake dont forget to use dust filter
    air from bottom flows direct to vga card but the effect is it may suck dust more
     
  7. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    yeah tights are ok for short term use but as you've found out they fill up rather quick

    some proper micro mesh filters would be better and you want to stick them under a fan so they get dust sucked into them not blown into that way the fan stays clean aswell

    as for cable ties use the black/clear ones where they can be seen use any other colour everywhere else
     
  8. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,791 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Does anyone have any good homemade solutions for zip tie anchors like these? It's pretty weird that my 700D doesn't have any behind the motherboard tray, which makes things a real pain. Everything is already in there, so I don't want to drill any holes.
     
  9. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,928 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    I often have one cord that is really tight and I often use that as a anchor and base everything off that.
     
  10. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,791 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Yup, I have some of that going on, too, but it's a big area back there, with a lot going on. I have all my fan cables and such behind the drive bays, the all the gpu and 24/8 pin jazz on the other side of the case, all of which have extensions on them. It's a real goat rope. It's a 3 handed job getting the cover back on.
     
  11. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,928 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    yeah with my sleeved extensions it makes the entire side a huge mess. I have the fan adapters in the front bezel of my case, you know how you can have fans mounted on the outer side of the case, the hole they have for you to bring the cables through I have the adapters and a molex in there.. my psu already has some awesome sleeving and with the HDD rack you can't even see the cable.
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ...as far as sleeving have you tired MDPC-X?
     
  13. Core_MGL New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    [​IMG][/IMG]
    my case modding :nutkick::nutkick:
     
  14. Core_MGL New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i5 2400, p8p67, Gskill 4GB 2x, Twister 120, rosewill 700w, SG 500GB, Asus 7800GT
     
  15. Core_MGL New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i5 760 Gigabyte p55-s3 cable managment:banghead:
    [​IMG][/IMG]
    after
    [​IMG][/IMG]
     
    dustyshiv and MT Alex say thanks.
  16. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Excellent clean up job ! .....:toast:

    *+
     
  17. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    Most excelent job +1
     
  18. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    @Core MGL
    That FP_Audio cable you removed would have been a bit of a pain to hide and keep it looking as tidy as it did in the final result.
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    About the only way to make that look good is to sleeve it nicely because I personally can't think of a way to hide that. :laugh:
     
  20. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    maybe extend the cable and hide it behind the mobo tray or behind the HDD cage, or just remove it all together it's not really needed if you've headphones or speakers plugged in the beep sound will come out of those well atleast it does on my mobo

    DOH never mind thought we were talking about the little piezo speaker

    although that FP audio cable could quite easily have been hidden if

    taken behind the mobo tray and out under the PSU bracket then behind the mobo and back out just above the video card to plug it in
     
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I don't have mine connected, screw that. :)
     
  22. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    True.
    I see his case has a gap near the PCI back plates which the cable could possibly run through if there is enough length.
    Other wise sleeve it as mentioned, then have to tied with the P4 power cable I guess.

    None the less, I don't use FP Audio either.
    I don't think many builders set up their rigs with FP Audio as most PC speakers come with a a head phone jack.
     
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That's the exact reason why I don't use mine. :)
     
  24. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Most speakers give you a headphone jack, but not a microphone jack, which is why I would use FP audio.
    Fortunately, my keyboard allows me to plug in my headset there :)
     
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Ah, good observation. I don't use a microphone so it's all good.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page