1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management Helpdesk

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by tkpenalty, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I also forgot about the mic.
    I do use a mic but I do not use it for gaming which I run from a mixer which has phantom power.
  2. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Nothing new. Just tried to tidy up some cables with little effect:mad:

    Excuse the dust and the blurriness

    [​IMG]

    You can really see the sticky residue from adhesive tapes
    [​IMG]

    I was finally able to get the 4pin out of the way and change the IDE to black, too.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    m343 says thanks.
  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,597 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,934
    Is there a hole above the board near the left? Would be nice if you could run the 4-pin power behind the motherboard and through that hole, then down to the board.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    Hey guys, still a bit of cable management needed, but here she is all in action with the Asus 6950 Direct CUii at 940/1400 shaders unlocked... and the core i5 2500k@5.0ghz

    I painted the inside of the case black with some matt black hammerite and i'm happy with the looks.
    Was a bit of a rush job as i couldn't wait to get the goodies installed.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    a bit of feedback would be appreciated

    I really need to sort the cables out for tidiness, i'm happy with he cooling aspect and airflow, the other side of the case is spaghetti junction but its hidden so doesn't really bother me too much..

    heres the untidy wires..

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  5. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
    How about shortening your loop by moving your pump to the upper 5.25" slots?
    dipsta says thanks.
  6. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    i did originally have the pump higher but had i sat sideways and it caused some vibration, what would you suggest i do? if i move it to a 5.25 bay which i can by moving the HDD lower down then what should i mount it on to make vibration quieter?
  7. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    some Neoprene would stop the noise from vibration
    dipsta says thanks.
  8. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Not a hole at all and the space beneath the mobo is waaay too tight
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,597 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,934
    Mod it and make a hole then ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    Right well i have some plastic which ill cut to shape to fit the bay, ill mount that on some car stereo dynamat, then mount the pump on some sponge ontop, does that sound okay? Also are there fittings you can get so when u disconnect a water pipe from a block the water doesnt leak??
  11. adi518 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I was in this cable management fiasco too... luckily, found my way out with modular psu :D

    [​IMG]
    TRWOV says thanks.
  12. DirkAction New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Do I win an award for best job ever? :D

    This is what I built several years ago lol, been sitting forever... thankfully I'm gutting it soon and starting over.

    Attached Files:

    m343 says thanks.
  13. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    Holy crap you better hope none of those cables get caught in any of those fans an starts a fire
  14. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,462
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    Think it may be a new way to use the cabels as dust filters?:laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. ranviper

    ranviper

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    78 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Adirondacks, NY
    I made do with the Lexa S - has very little space between the mobo tray and the back panel. But, That didn't stop me!

    [​IMG]
  16. GTX

    GTX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    ranviper says thanks.
  17. ranviper

    ranviper

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    78 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Adirondacks, NY
    Thanks man. I think the white cables made a huge difference.

    My next step is upgrading hardware. Though what I have performs well for my needs - I really want a more powerful machine, and then I can hand these parts to the wife, aka build her a rig. My goal by the end of the summer is upgrade my ram, ssd, and psu to corsair product (my ssd and ram is corsair, but I want sata 3 and 16GB of dominator ram), and replace my mobo and gpu with an msi board and msi gtx 670. Im content with the case and fans, all work fantastic. :D
  18. NeotonicDragon3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    450 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    Wow my case sucks for cable management! lol! People on here have Skills :p
    Cooler Master 430 Black Elite...I don't know if I cant do it right or there is a hidden way for my case...
    Before:
    [​IMG] [Total Win]
    [​IMG]
    Attempt 1:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [Sorry I forgot to take photo without cover and I didn't want to mess it up :\

    And the worst thing of all I'm getting a graphics card lol! [and possibly another harddrive.]

    ;_; I wonder if I should just get a new case :\

    Attached Files:

  19. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,921
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Part of your issue is that cheap PSU. With a decent PSU with some nice long cables you could have that case cleaned up in no time. I've used a few cooler master cases and ones like yours can be a bit of a challenge. Don't' give up on it though. With a some proper planning you can have that nice clean look in no time.

    Also is your rear case fan set up as intake?
    Last edited: May 29, 2012
    NeotonicDragon3 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. NeotonicDragon3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    450 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    Thanks, yeah I'm probably going to replace the PSU sometime, and I don't know if my rear fan is intake or not lol
  21. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,280 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,195
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    [​IMG]
    you can try put the 24 pins in front of board, then run 4 pins on the back
    make loop sata cables and run molex cables behind 3,5 drive bays, maybe you need to add some wires for the back fan so it has long cable to get connected

    Attached Files:

    NeotonicDragon3 says thanks.
  22. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Your rear fan is sucking in air.

    I don't know muich about the cable management of the case you have, but it would be a shame if there are no holes to run the cables through and no vent at the base of the case to point the PSU fan down.

    Seems pretty cheap of Antec to make a window case with poor cable management chassis.
    NeotonicDragon3 says thanks.
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    you could turn you PSU over as your case does have a vent in the bottom of it for your PSU intake that will put all the cables closer to the tray side and make it a heap easier to keep them in a tidy bundle

    also if there's no room behind the mobo tray then use plenty of zip ties to keep cables in a nice clean bunch and just have leads come out where and when you need them

    also turn that front fan around so it's 4pin connector is behind the 3.5" hdd cage and feed that 4pin connector for your ccfl over the top of the DVD drive and down the back of the hdd cage aswell

    you can aslo use zip ties on your SATA cables aswell and tie them in with the power cables that'll tidy those up too
    NeotonicDragon3 says thanks.
  24. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Could also tuck the sata cables in behind the HDDs if you do not want to curl them.
    NeotonicDragon3 says thanks.
  25. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    when you finished with all that it should look a little like this
    [​IMG]
    NeotonicDragon3 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page