1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management Helpdesk

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by tkpenalty, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Still a lot you can fix, reduce the slack in the IO wires at the bottom... it looks ugly with the excess wiring dangling out, use some tape or something to hold them.
     
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    ok :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Hmm freaksavior.. what else... oh yeah. With your SATA cables connecting to the HDD, need cleaning up, the power cables are just dangling there, make an effort into making them "arched" instead of just leaving them there, dangling looking rather messy. Try sliding the excess cabling behind the hdd tray, or mobo tray...

    [​IMG]

    Whats the point of a cathode there? I'd instead run it down the mobo tray or the side panel... as if that cathode will light the case up with the tooless brackets and the 5'25 bay in the way..

    If you follow my instructions, also move the inverter somewhere else; thats out of our view or more convenient/neater for wiring.

    I'd also consider making a hole for the CPU 8 pin power.
    The burner, SATA wire make it go STRAIGHT into the gap and not curve around the place when going in, its even better if you route it down, behind the HDD cage then go behind the mobo tray gap. The loose fan wires could be twisted to reduce length (not by much) and will look better. Do the same with the cathode wires but DONT overdo it as the cathode's wiring is fairly fragile. I'd invest in multi fan connector block with the number of fans you have... its purely for aesthetics remember.

    Apart from that , your PC practically is 100% fine. Just remember what I told you to do is bordering on OCD, see i spend like minutes adjusting wires, lol. Very subtle changes can mean BIG things...

    On a side note I think I should make a "Your wiring has slack in it" logo or something
     
    freaksavior says thanks.
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    :roll: go for it :)

    and thanks for the tips. i will when i get a chance to take my comp apart again so i can hid the 8-pin cable.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    [​IMG]....


    Heres just some inspiration for those who need it.
     
  6. Rapid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Show off :D

    *edit*

    On another note what GPU is that? and what cooler?
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2008
  7. PrudentPrincess

    PrudentPrincess New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    669 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Eugene
    Hey guys I need some advice on how further improve my cable management. Please keep in mind I don't have the ability to feed wires underneath my motherboard tray etc. because of my form factor.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    What do you guys think of mine? :p

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2008
  9. Rapid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Fair play BrooksyX that looks ace imo :) could you not slot the floppy cable directly under the mobo instead of making that sort of triangular shape?

    PrudentPrincess that looks fun :D I dont envy you :D
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  10. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    You mean the ide cable. I probably could put it under the motherboard but I really don't feel like taking off the motherboard to do it right now. I am glad you think mine looks good, honestly I just wanted to show off like TKpenalty. :p

    edit: I think I am going to try to stick the ide cable under the mobo real quick.
     
  11. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    ha its amazing how much difference good cable management will make on cooling!
    my gpus dropped 5 deg each after doing a little management!
     
  12. PrudentPrincess

    PrudentPrincess New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    669 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Eugene
    Thanks for the support.
     
  13. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Okay as suggested ide cable is now behind mobo. (sorry about the bad pics. Had to use phone because cant find the digital camera).

    [​IMG]
     
  14. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    omg thats clean!
    you could like eat of that or something, although i would highly rec amend you don't!
    :rockout:
     
  15. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,890 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,292
    Since Tk isn't here at the moment, I'm sure he would say under the motherboard then out the bottom of the motherboard, with just enough slack to make the bend and into thier connections. I'm not quoting him or anything. Good luck.
     
    jbunch07 says thanks.
  17. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    thats what i thought thanx
     
  18. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    oops guess i should have read page 3 a lil more closely
     
  19. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Yep.. that case owns for cbl management.

    In a MATX case, you cant really do anything. However your wiring is good, so no need to worry, as the airflow isnt blocked by some wire mass or anything.

    [​IMG]

    Latest update in old PC... not that nice looking because I dont care about cable management in the old PC that much [/lies!]
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2008
  20. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I just wish it had a side panel window so I could show everything off. Might have to add one in the future. I don't really want to buy a new case, especially since I don't have a lot of off extra money. I just fried my 8600gt so it looks like all of my extra cash will be going for a 3850/3870.
     
  21. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    SAME! Thats exactly what I wanted (and still want) for this case. I just need to get rid of the IDE drive and get two 1m long SATA cables, probably a better PSU as well.

    [​IMG]

    Found a way to mount the fan :p duct tape anyone? Put the duct tape in the notches, then clamp two points. A very firm mount! Looks like i wont need to buy a new fan after all.

    Anyone else need help?
     
  22. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,131 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    WA
    This is what i have so far, although my case is a soprano, it has a lot of space to cram cable in. Any suggestions?

    [​IMG]
     
  23. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    gotta love duct tape!
     
  24. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    well I could not figure out how to make them a link but here are a few I will post a few more tomorrow but I'm in dire need of help here! I have 2 psu's to power everything and a water setup and the cables are a mess! please help!


    SPECS:

    Intel q6600
    asus p5n-t deluxe 780I
    2x 8800gts 512
    160gb hdd sata2
    300gb hdd sata2
    dvdrw
    4 case 120mm fans
    ultra 800watt xpro psu (to power board and cards)
    coolermaster 500watt psu(to power everything else)
    case is a lian li A10 w/psu's/hdd's on the bottom and the rest on the top.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,131 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    WA
    lol, #1 tool in the house.

    -I just realized i could turn my HDDs around :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page