1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management Helpdesk

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by tkpenalty, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I cant really express how frustrating the original soprano is for wiring... but anyway. I'd try to slip some of the wiring such as front IO, and that molex (flatten the cable), under the motherboard tray. I'd need more photos...

    At the moment I'd recommend the purchase of the coolermaster HDD cage, comes with HDD vibration dampening and can hold three drives, and goes into the 5'25 bay with a 120mm fan, unless thats where you're hiding the cables.

    EDIT: Turning your HDDs around is possible, but... something I'd be against.
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2008
  2. warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    alright im gonna try to gather some time and take more pics, and will also look for the hdd tray, never thought it but sounds like a pretty good idea. Oh why would the turning of the HDDs doesn't sound like a good idea?
  3. Rapid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Sorry dude :)

    *edit*
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I did some more fiddling, tried to tidy up the ATX power cable and also a few others. Im going to get hold of a long IDE cable so i can feed that behind the mobo, because its annoying the hell out of me.
    Otherwise i cant do much more, because the case is so massive the cables just dont stretch. Thats a full size ATX mobo in there and its dwarfed by the case.
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2008
  4. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    :toast: Nice job :)
  5. cl4w New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany Frankfurt
    [​IMG]
  6. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    i would recommend against mounting the HDD in the way you did... even though it looks neat, it isnt safe.

    What case is that anyway :wtf:
  7. cl4w New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany Frankfurt
    Now im confused, why not safe?


    Its a LianLi G7B, varnished in white.
  8. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Heat. Its not really that dangerous but, I'd recommend moving it back to the HDD bays. Nice varnish though, looks nice. :toast:

    Oh yeah take note, this isnt a show your cable management off place.... a helpdesk. Unless you are using that as an example to show how it should be done.
  9. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    ok, i updated my computer . tk check my sig for pics to my rig and let me know. i think its good. And im not just showing it off its actually asking ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    lol. Its good, but whats that dangling wire....

    And also, I'd take pics without the neons on and flash, following the guidelines on the first page if you really want my opinion on it. Pics are a bit on the blurry side too, are you using a phone camera?
  11. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    dangling wire is for my other card when i go crossfire tomorrow :D
    and yeah, it is a camera phone. it takes half decent pictures
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,466 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    You have no RAM in that computer? :wtf:
  13. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    [​IMG]

    hes using InvisibleRAM™ So yeah thats why :rolleyes:
  14. PrudentPrincess

    PrudentPrincess New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    669 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Eugene
    Haven't you guys heard of onboard ram? :laugh:
  15. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    it didn't come in when i took the picture. now i have dual cards and transcend aXeram
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,466 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    That would make sense then. :)
  17. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    hey in requards to the centurion 5, i have one and im gonna add a tip that i did myself for any owner with one. The front panel contors if you uncrew them and route them under the USB and in the hole the USB and audio stuff goes into they will come out very nice without showing much at all.

    Though i do have one question whats the best way to mount a cold cathode power switch in these things, right now i have them routed to the front drive bay and hidden there, but id like to be able to turn them off.
  18. PrudentPrincess

    PrudentPrincess New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    669 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Eugene
    Hi cable management junkies just updating my rig and asking for suggestions! Any input wanted! (oh and sorry for not updating but you now cannot see the wires through the slot between the 5 1/2 inch slots and the sata cable is folded better. Oh and at the front of the case those gross holes are covered.)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Oh and for reference heres a pic of the outside:
    [​IMG]
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It's sodered to the back of the board LOL


    Ultra 1337 skills / ghost ram because it would be hidden on the back of the board.
  20. PrudentPrincess

    PrudentPrincess New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    669 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Eugene
    Bump I really want advice on my cable management.
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    The Cable Management Helpdesk has now been stickied. Thanks Tk for a great and helpful thread!:)
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i just wanted to post this to show that cable management is not all about hiding the cables. in some cases it's next to impossible to hide everything.

    so what exactly do you do when you cant hide the cables?

    make it look like there are far less than the 18 cables that are really there. with a little time and careful planning... you can make even the craziest mess look nice and tidy.

    here's a breakdown of what you can/can't see in this pic...

    5 sata data cables
    4 front panel usb's
    1 front panel firewire
    2 pci-e power cables
    24pin mobo power
    2 front panel power/reset/hddled/powerled
    2 power for fans/molex
    2 sata power lines
    1 pump power
    1 8pin CPU power
    5 fan power leads

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    That's about as clean as you can make that full-tower!:toast:
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  24. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Consider making the ATX24 pin cable the lowest relative to mobo tray out of all of them-its not like you will be playing around with that all the time...

    If you dont mind modding consider these:
    -Make a PSU casing, out of mesh, whatever (i'd make it matt black). It only needs to hide the PSU, and the wiring so therefore it should be manufactured longer than the PSU. You will be able to make the hole next to the PSU larger without worrying about looks, as a result you will be able to route all the PSU wires through it. Make like holes to route the PCI-E/24pin wires next to the motherboard itself.
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2008
  25. mag96 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Need Help W/ Cabling

    Could someone please help me with this mess:)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page