1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management Helpdesk

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by tkpenalty, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Google was nice to me: http://www.apevia.com/umanual/um-x-cruiser.pdf

    first hit...
  2. Ocean Master New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lockerbie , Dumfriesshire
    Thanks !!

    Just shows what a noobie I am. I see where I was going wrong. It's so easy when you know how.

    Thanks for all your realy fast replies and great help.

  3. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    Two new cases from friends that I´ve tried to make look better.

    CM690, the best case so far to hide and organize cables, lots of options, and the best is that you can pass all the cables behind de MB.

    Cosmos 1000, good looking, but you can´t even pass the USB and power switch cables in the back, the locking mechanism and sound isolation takes a lot of space.
    That makes you pass de EPS12V cable over the MB since you wont find a PSU with a cable long enough to circulate the MB like it was done with the power cable.

    Attached Files:

  4. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Australia
    very nice
  5. Ocean Master New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lockerbie , Dumfriesshire
    Hi Again

    More help please if possible.

    Now I've finally powered up I get the all clear beep from computer at switch on and checking in the bios all appears to A1 for all system compenents , however ....

    At initial startup teh following message appears

    Loading Asus Express gate then

    Asus express gate Initialisation Incomplete

    version l11209 8C000002

    I then get a message asking me to insert boot disk into drive and hit any key.

    What exactly does this mean? I've tried putting in Operating system disk for Windows Home and Windows Pro but neither will load?

    Any help appreciated.

    thanks
    Ocean



  6. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Before that, you should get a message in the lower region of the screen:
    Press <Del> to enter BIOS

    Do that, look for Boot Options and make sure the CD/DVD is the first boot device.
  7. Ocean Master New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lockerbie , Dumfriesshire
    Thanks

    I've already done this. I'm beginning to think that maybe the copy of windows may not be a good one. i'm going to try getting a registered copy of windows and try loading this instead just to see if it will work.

    Will keep you posed.Thanks again for help



  8. CombatLibrarian

    CombatLibrarian New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ellos!

    My first stab at cable management in my new antec 1200.

    Here's the hardware (also in my hardware info)

    Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
    CPU: Core 2 Duo E6550@2.33GHz, Cooling: ASUS Silent Knight II
    GPU: XFX 9800 GTX+ 512MB
    PSU: Corsair tx750w
    Case: Antec 1200. Added optional 120 fan in door, and put a 120 in the extra bracket in the middle of the 3 bays.

    1 Sata DVDRW Drive, top position
    1 Sata HDD Drive, 2nd from bottom position

    http://www.techpowerup.org/uploaded.php?file=090810/picture interior 1.jpg

    Already on the to-do list:

    +Route the 2x4 mobo power behind. I'm going to need to pick up an extension to do this, no amount of massaging was going to allow it without one thanks to having to run it to the right to the nearest hole before running it up the back.

    I'm also considering doing some sleeving, at the very least on that cpu hsf.

    I'm not sure what if anything to do about the front panel audio connection down there. There's simply not enough clearance to run it up from behind the left hand side of the motherboard.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  9. cocosatul

    cocosatul New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Romania
    hello

    my new rig ,upgrade three hundred up to cooler master haf 932
    i hope you like it

    Attached Files:

  10. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,047 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    880
    Welcome to TPU m8 :toast: the case looks awesome congrats on a good job.

    The only suggestion i have is get a extension 24 pin cable and sleeve it. :) that would make it look awesome!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. cerver

    cerver New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Philly
    welcome :) very nice job mate, she looks great. i agree with freak ^ a 24 pin extension then sleeved would look purrty.

    -cheers
  12. adcom32

    adcom32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    547 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    macon,GA
    i was just wondering if the raidmax hurricane had good cable managment, i didnt buy it yet andi dont want to buy a case with bad cable managment.
  13. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I don't see any holes in the mobo tray, I'd say no.
  14. rockleez

    rockleez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    136 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I'm a newbie to computer building, this is my first build which i've nearly completed,just
    ram to add now,

    So i have no clue on any cable management, sorry if it's a disgrace to look at:banghead:
    This case is a Antec 300
    Any suggestions on what i can do?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  15. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Besides cable management I'd also check your cooling:
    Your CPU cooler currently blows air down. It would be more efficient to turn it 180 degrees and let it blow your hot air straight out of the case.

    Now for cables:
    - The front panel cables can be run behind the motherboard.
    - The 4 (or 8) pin mobo PSU cable should fit behind the motherboard as well. it looks like it's long enough.
    If you feel the cable is a little too thick, use the indents you see in pic 2 to guide it.

    After that it's just tucking some cables away behind the bays (you have ties there, use them) and you should be well on your way to get a cleaner looking rig.
  16. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    The cpu fan is pushing air upward into the top 140mm exhaust fan.
  17. pabloc74

    pabloc74 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Argentina
    best for me............

    [​IMG]

    monday i have this new one, first on Argentina an too expensive:banghead::banghead:
  18. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Look twice... It's blowing down. You're looking at the open end of the fan, not the side with supports for the motor, which is always on the outlet side.
  19. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
  20. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    Corsair Obsidian 800D ;) Great chassis!
  21. pabloc74

    pabloc74 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Argentina
    corsair obsidian

    exactly:)

    in your country is only at U$D269.99, here the only way to bui it is ask to newegg, and the final cost are U$D599:mad:
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
  22. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    How do people hide cables when motherboard trays are like this?

    [​IMG]

    If there's one thing I don't like about the Sniper is that cable management still looks messy thanks to the huge space between the bays and the tray.
  23. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    I strap the 24-pin and PCIe connectors to those little cable tie spots and bring up all of the FP stuff through the bottom. Please ignore the 2 SATA cables and random power cable going in front of everything, that's my little Gigabyte eSATA thingy, it's impossible to hide but makes messing around with hard drives a lot easier.

    [​IMG]

    Basically, don't be afraid to use shitloads of zippies. Oh and sorry for the crap-ish picture, my computer isn't in a very accessible spot now.

    I think my UV cathode is about to fall down o_O
    Kantastic says thanks.
  24. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    That's nice. real nice.

    I was going to suggest simply " tape" to kan, but your idea is probably better :laugh:
  25. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Well, there is a ton of scotch and double-stick tape holding a whole molex line and a CC box behind my mobo tray.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page