1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ArmoredCavalry, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    So I recently discovered there is a place behind the motherboard for wires.... (yes I know I'm a nub) :D

    So I decided that some cable management was in order....

    [​IMG]

    I wrote about the steps I took on my webpage, also since then I have ordered a rounded IDE cable, and SATA power splitter so I can move the SATA power completely behind mobo:
    http://www.pc-pad.com/

    Let me know what you think, and any tips you have to improve it even more.

    I'm also thinking of maybe cutting out the side of the case and putting plexiglass if I can do it cheaply... We'll see... ;)
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    looks better. but can i recommend you get that rosewill PSU out of that nice rig
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    very nice house cleaning..I agree with p_o_s_pc about the PSU issue you have and may not realize .:eek:
  4. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Good work. This is only the beginning though, soon you'll get all MacGuyver style when you're doing your wires and you won't be able to see them at all.
  5. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    very nice... Well done. I agree with all of the above. Your PSU doesn't really fit there lol
  6. paulm

    paulm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    441 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    United States
    Agreed with the above, nice job, but the rosewill is just... bleh...

    Also, out of curiosity, any particular reason for not having a SATA DVD drive?
  7. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Well looks better than before , and it does not bother me the PSU , if it does the job its good .

    Ok the eye candy look , will cost extra on PSUs , sleeved cables etc etc .

    But who cares ... :)


    This tower look similar to my HEC tower ...
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  8. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Not true, the PSU is the most important part of the system. POS is warning of the PSU because he had his Rosewill kill out and take the rest of his system with it.
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  9. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    You did what I pretty much when I built my first system.
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I had a Hiper take out my main rig once and i had a Rosewill take out my home server/2nd rig before. Then i had a Xclio take out my main rig after getting it fixed. so as you can tell i have used cheap PSUs and have paid more for it in the long run :banghead: now i am with a good brand(Silverstone) may have paid more for it then the other PSUs but its been great.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, I know, people always tell me the PSU is crap. :laugh:

    Well, it has been going strong for over a year, with a 3850/8800gt and now the 4870, so I don't know. :)

    I mean, I'd love a modular power supply, but I think the only reason I'd upgrade is if I ever went crossfire, since 550w is not going to cut it.

    Although, right now another 4870 would run into my HD's, so meh.

    I didn't know they existed when I built the rig. :D
  12. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    I can give you some advice on those SATA cables. Take a nice long screw driver, phillips or standard..doesn't matter, and basically coil the sata cable around it. It's a simple mod to shorten them up and when you tuck them away you'll hardly notice them. Overall though your wire cleanup looks good :toast:
    p_o_s_pc and ArmoredCavalry say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    I watched fireworks on a 420watt PSU and a x1800xtx ...litterally sparks flying snaps and crackles ..a very traumatic experiance...I was running for the power cord like a friggin mad scientist running for the spilling beaker.:roll:

    I was testing if the PSU would handle the GPU for a member of TPU a while back ..like when the X1800XTX first came out...lol
  14. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nice idea, I'll have to try that when my new ide cable/power splitter comes tomorrow.
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    just because it has been working for you so far doesn't mean that it won't go and take your rig with it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    Those Ros-not-well PSU's are junk. Have a looksy at some Coolermaster, Enermax, Antec, Corsair, or even FPS PSU's. Those would be a million times more reliable than that Roswell and I'm sure you can find one that's not going to break the bank.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, there is a point there. But then again, I have heard of high-end PSU's crapping out as well.

    After all, most brands are probably made in the same factory over in China anyhow. :laugh:
  18. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Well , i never had a damage caused by the PSU .

    I love my ultra high quality HIPER ...
    But i am not cheap dog ... I have 1000W APC SMART-XL UPS, as safety net , and yes cost to me 400 EUROS ..

    PSUs are like humans , i they get a stroke , they all go to intensive care . :D
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i have heard of high-end PSUs dieing too but it doesn't happen as much and alot of the time if it does it doesn't take out the rig with it. i don't know why it doesn't :confused:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    My experience with high end PSU's crapping out is either it was damaged during shipping or user error. I had a Nspire 750W that I thought was the shit. After 3 months my system would just randomly reboot, could be 3hrs of gaming or 5min of watching a movie..didn't matter. I tested it and even threw it in another system which it didn't have problems with. Finally figured out the PSU couldn't handle the load my system was putting on it..I only had 2 3870's, not 2 3870X2's at the time. I bought the Corsair 750W and not once have I had an issue due to the PSU. I'm Corsair for life now(besides their memory).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    I am not get married with brands .

    I select the best device , no matter the brand.
    And i always protect my self , from the ripoff brands.

    Any brand has more than 30 models.

    They do not cost the same , their not the same .

    What people usually do , when they build a complete system,
    are to cut corners , so to round up the price.

    Usually , they care less about the PSU .
    They remember their mistake , after the damage .
  22. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Still though, I have had this PSU for about 15 months, leaving my computer on 24/7, and I have had 0 issues. I think that at least proves that it is an 'o.k.' PSU. At least that is my opinion.

    For my next build, I will probably get a high end psu, since hopefully I will have the spare money for it. But right now, swapping out the PSU is not high on my list. If it ain't broke don't fix it, right?
  23. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Well thats true ...

    Does it gets hot after an hour of gaming .. Hot = 45 C hot air coming out.
  24. $Reloaded$ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    If that's the the 750w version I have been running on it for about 8 months now with no issues except the cable sleeves are a bit of a pain. Powers my my Athlon x2 6400+ and dual 9600 gt's without a hitch. If you look at the reviews on newegg.com there is a good bit of bad reviews on it, mostly DOA's though. Im thinking about cutting the sleeves off and just wrapping it every few inches with electrical tape lol. My first post at TechPowerUp but looks to be a great spot to bang my head against the wall with others
  25. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    On topic:

    Great job at managing those cables! It looks like your case restricts much air flow anyways, so it's a good idea to allow for the most optimal air flow for your setup. Once suggestion would be to finish up those sata cables, maybe tuck them above the drives or below. That helps the added fan to push more air to the gpu.

    Off topic: Your PSU could stand to be upgraded, but are you overclocking? If your at stock then your fine as long as you havn't had any issues prior.
    ArmoredCavalry says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page