1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CAD Card or normal? (Quadro/FireGL)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Pinchy, Jun 27, 2008.

  1. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Im building a PC for a friend who will be doing lots of CAD work for uni (eg, Autocad 2009).

    Now I am wondering what would be better; a newish gaming card (512mb 8600GT) or an older Quadro/FireGL card (FX570 / FX3450) or something cheap around $100.

    Or even to get like a 6800GT and flash it to a quadro version? (I have heard about it).

    Thx in adv :)
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    The difference between the cards is not one of performance, but one of accuracy.
    The CAD cards are tweaked to be very accurate in their display at high levels of zoom.
    I would go with a CAD card if that is what your friend is going to use the system for most of the time.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    So even a very old Quadro would be good?
     
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Well, it depends upon whether performance is a concern. An old Quaddro will be slower than a newer one. But the CAD cards are pricey, so you need to juggle cost vs. performance.
    If he is more interested in accuracy than performance, then yes, I would use an older CAD card.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    we run autocad 09 at school on integrated intel graphics its not really that hard to run just get a 8500GT 512mb
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    you can take some nvidia and ati cards and softmod them to quadros using modded drives, i think nvidia fx's and ati x1k's do this, and the newer ones too, probably just not drivers out yet.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    7900GT/X could be softmodded to quadro as well
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I honestly don't know if the difference in the cards are just BOIS mods.
    They could be.

    The one thing I have seen is that if you use a CAD program and draw a circle with a verticle line that intersects the circle at two points, and then zoom WAY in, on the non-CAD cards the line will not intersect any more.

    This can be a problem, especially if the CAD drawing is going to be used for a CAM application.

    The CAD cards are accurate even at extreme zooms.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  9. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    2600XT can be flashed to FireGL 5600, 2900XT can be flashed to FireGL 8600.

    - Christine
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    most cards can be flashed, as the cores are the same, its just different drivers and the drivers are the ones that enable certain commands and all
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    and the 8800GTX can be flashed to the quadro FX 5600/4600, the 8600GT can be flashed to the FX 1700
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  12. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks for all the input :)

    As I said, its gotta be cheap lol. Now also, it IS a CAD computer but I am not sure of the extent of the CAD they will be using, as it is university level.

    I mean, I know the university wont expect all students to have CAD cards, but if it helps I may as well get him one :). The computers only got an e2200 in it, nothing fancy like a Quad core :p.

    See my older brother does CAD work all on his laptop. He uses Rhinoceros (with VRAY) and Solid Edge and hasnt had a problem on a 6800 Go.
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    just get a 8500/8600
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  14. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Er its 4am I need to go to bed lol.

    I'll read all the delightful posts in the morning :rolleyes:.

    And those 2900xt/8800gtx all sound good...but it has to be sub $100 :p. (AUD)
     
  15. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Okay so I have decided on a gamers graphics card.

    Now another qn;

    will something like going to a 512mb 8600GT from a 512mb 8500GT or 8400GS make all that much of a difference?
     
  16. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    AutoCad isn't that all demanding like other programs. Here's the requirements:
    ------
    For 32-bit AutoCAD 2009:

    Intel® Pentium® 4 processor or AMD Athlon®, 2.2 GHz or greater
    or
    Intel or AMD Dual Core processor, 1.6 GHz or greater
    Microsoft® Windows Vista™, Windows® XP SP2 operating systems
    For Microsoft Windows XP SP2:

    1 GB RAM
    750 MB free disk space for installation
    1024x768 VGA with true color
    Microsoft® Internet Explorer® 6.0 (SP1 or higher)
    For Microsoft Windows Vista or 3D modeling:

    Intel Pentium 4 processor or AMD Athlon, 3.0 GHz or greater
    or
    Intel or AMD Dual Core processor, 2.0 GHz or greater
    2 GB RAM or greater
    2 GB free hard disk available not including installation
    1,280 x 1,024 32-bit color video display adapter (true color) 128 MB or greater, OpenGL®, or Direct3D® capable workstation class graphics card. For Windows Vista, a Direct3D capable workstation class graphics card with 128 MB or greater is required.
    For 64-bit AutoCAD 2009:

    Windows XP Professional x64 Edition or Windows Vista 64-bit
    AMD® 64 or Intel EM64T processor
    2 GB RAM
    750 MB free disk space for installation
    AutoCAD 64-bit cannot be installed on a 32-bit Windows operating system


    A 8600GT would be more than enough. Quadro/FireGL are mostly use just for 3d rendering programs (Adobe, Vegas and so on)
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  17. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Wow judging on those requirements, even an 8400GS should suffice, although I will probably end up getting a 8500GT lol.
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    just get an 8500GT if you can find one the 1GB models make great CAD cards
     
  19. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page