1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Call of duty 4 performance

Discussion in 'Games' started by new_rez, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,859 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    1280x1024 actually uses more pixels than 1440x900, but not by much. Those are two comparable resolutions for comparing performance between 4:3 and 16:10 ratios.

    As long as you have playable frames for your taste, that's awesome dude!

    If you wanna know what your FPS are in CoD4, just press "~' button for console at main menu and type:

    cg_drawFPS 1

    There are a few options under this tag, 1 activates minimal info w/FPS and is what I use. Keep an eye on it...oh yeah and FPS turns red below 60FPS lol. I usually average 70's range...but I do get fluxuation in MP games, and different maps. Overall though, the game plays great!

    Just so you all know, W1z has released my CoD4 PC Review over at GamePowerUp!, click here. Let me know what you all think! I put a lot of time and effort into the review and so did other GPU! Staff.

    Also, check out GPU, I want to see more threads like this over there! Yes you have to register over there, just register your same name as TPU and it's all good!

    :toast:
     
    peach1971, boise49ers and Darren say thanks.
  2. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    :rockout:

    Since when was there a gamepowerup! wish I new about it sooner :banghead:
     
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,859 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Check the TPU Games link in my sig...that thread kind of got the ball rolling on GPU, it was put up shortly after that thread started and has been under development ever since. Anyone can go there, sign up on the threads and give their input as GPU! is still under construction, yet it's basic scheme and layout are there. We have 3 great reviews out there for you to read, and want to know what you think.

    Everyone should visit! Show your support, get the forum buzzing with gaming stuff. I look forward to seeing you guys there!

    :toast:
     
  4. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,282 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Great job on the review ! I'd love to have you work on my machine, So if you ever come to Boise let me know.;) My new card is sitting at the Boise UPS delivery center until Wednesday because of the Holiday. They take off New Years Eve and New Years Day.
    Bummer I'm having cod 4 withdrawls. Again Thanks for all the help you put out on this site and others.
     
    Kursah says thanks.
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,859 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Thanks for the complements. :D

    The best thing you can do for your machine is learn how to use it, push it and keep it stable. It takes a lot of time and effort, but research (google) and places like TPU will help you accelerate your knowlege if you want it. That's how I learned, and I just hope to help as many people as I can! :)

    Well, when you get that card, you'll be one very happy camper! :toast:
     
  6. waspman3

    waspman3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    228 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rantoul,Ill
    How will it run on my machine?

    Ya'll look @ my specs and let me know how ya think it will run on mine as well.Keep in mind I play the NHL 2007 and MADDEN 2007 on it fine.Thanks!! HAPPY HOLIDAY!! WASPMAN
     
  7. cameltoe1009 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My PC:
    q6600
    MSI 8800GT 512 OC 660/1000
    2GB Corsair DDR2 800
    Westinghouse 37" 37w3 1080p monitor

    COD 4 settings:

    1920x1080 2xaa 16xaf all settings "on" except soften smoke edges, everything on its max setting. Textures set to trilinear and maps and shit are set to "extra".

    I avg around 80-90 fps. When the smoke hits my frames tank (20-30's) so I just sprint right on through...lol.
     
  8. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Excellent. I'd imagine that an 8800 would be able to enable all the features including "soften smoke edges?" - I'm sure the game looks gorgeous!!!
     
  9. cameltoe1009 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, I disabled that because the frames tanked when I saw smoke...but it does that no matter what the setting is...I just have not turned it back on..lol. I really do not see a huge difference either way.
     
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I think most people's does. I average about 70 at 1680, but it drops to 25ish with smoke. Still playable though.
     
  11. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,282 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    New card wierd stuff

    I got a new card. Went from a X800XL to X1950 GT clocked to 621 mem 770 with the ATI Overdrive. I installed the Sapphire drivers and CCC, but I see something I didn't notice with the old card. Rocks and stuff laying across the path pop up while your playing. I never noticed that before with my old card. What setting can I change so they are there and not just popping up from no where ? Should I try an older driver ? Here are the numbers off the Install disk.

    Driver Version:12-076 (XP/Vista only)
    (8.391)
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    hyjacking much?

    Try changing everything to the highest settings.
     
  13. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,282 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Please clarify ? Hyjacking ?
    I'm asking about COD 4 so I'm assuming you aren't talking about the thread. I'm not sure mine will run on all settings high. Take a look at my specs. So you don't think it is driver issues ? Thanks
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    DL Catalyst 7.8 there the highest for AGP cards.
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    you need to see if you can turn your specular or view distance up.
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,372 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,676
    Force the texture settings up. You probably have them on auto (which is what pretty much every idiot who says his settings are on max, forgets about...)

    Game will probably run like crap on max however, so try and find a nice balance.
     
  17. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,282 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho

    Yep I had just done that and had to drop the res some , but it worked. Thanks !
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,372 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,676
    no problem.

    For reference, what setting controlled the popping up items?
     
  19. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,282 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    I'll check

    I'll check this evening. I'm at work right now. I may have to put it back the way it was to find out. There were 3 different ones and I may have bumped them all up. One I think I put on extra. I'll figure it out tonight though. I'm probably going to get a widescreen in a couple weeks. Probably a 19" so the native res isn't so high. Does that eat up more GPU. I may have asked that before, but I was talking of going 22" then. I'm already running it at 1024x768 and I don't want to lose any more resolution.
     
  20. Kammster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    188 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Guyana, South America
    with everything on max (AA+AS)except soften smoke and gpu runiing as X800Xt i pull 20-30fps outdoors; min 35fps indoors
    lowering resoultion has biggest impact on performance
    shadows is a cpu bottleneck for me.

    only COD4 and Quake4 i've played in 6months and x800 still alive and kicking!
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,372 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,676
    pity that theres a lot of games (airborne and bioshock for two) that need SM3.0, or i'd still have my X800xl too.
     
  22. xXxJiggabobxXx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    South East England
    Basically it just means I'm gonna be able to respond faster with my high fps while people with lower fps won't be able to.

    Plus with all effects turned off it's probably easier to see people.
     
  23. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    just get an xbox 360 and a widescreen monitor and play it at 1920x1080 with the HD VGA cable, and it looks like the pc version at 4xAA
     
  24. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,282 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho

    P90 w/double tap. Shoots like a humming bird flies.:rockout:
     
  25. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,859 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    P90 w/silencer, Desert Eagle
    Bandolier, Juggernaught and Extreme Conditioning FTW. I just run around like a crazy man, attract attention and get a few kills. I have lots of ammo and can run a decent destance and take an extra hit or two. This is an agreesive playing build though....I have a few team-mates that have tried it for slower moving and found okay results.

    I created a CoD4 Thread over at GPU!, you guys should sign up and help me get it going! :toast:

    http://www.gamepowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?p=617
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page