1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 discussion thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by mudkip, Sep 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Not that funny :eek:
     
  2. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,992 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,240
    1 million Xbox Live users have been banned, presumably because of modified Xboxes, but most probably because they modified it to get MW2.
     
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,418 (7.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,900
    Bwahahahahaha! Suck on it you console freaks!
     
  4. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,992 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,240
  5. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,293 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    Idaho
    Already loaded on one of my computers. My grand daughter plays it and I have too to get her through levels she gets stuck on. Got a sweet blonde in it. ;)
     
  6. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Surprisingly, the online isn't that bad. Everyone's ping was in the green, very playable for everyone.
     
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Limiting it to 9v9 would probly be them trying to make sure the player run servers go smoother, anything above 9v9 is probly a bit much for a medium connection.
    Dunno depends i think it selects the best connection from the bunch to be the server.

    I dont know how one would kick an idiot player? Really console commands i know that is pretty basic silly why those where left out. More like deliberately taken out.

    I liked it when you spent money on an expensive pc and you felt you got your moneys worth but these days we are being forced to lower standards.

    I dont actually care who likes the game anyone is welcome to post in here even if you love it and want to marry it. Which i will be doing to Mass Effect 2 when its out, if EA dont fuck Bioware there is hope that not all developers go corrupt buy being owned by or having a bad publisher.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009
  8. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    That actually looks like fun, wonder what kind of multiplayer it would have.
     
  9. chchyong89 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i just get myself a COD6, but my system running lag on it even with all low settings

    Here is my hardwares
    E5200 @ 3.67Ghz
    2X1GB corsair dominator @ 4-4-4-12 400Mhz
    ATI HD4850 512MB
    windows 7 X64



    WIN_OUT_OF_MEM_BODY
    "Out of memory error. You are probably low on hard disk space."


    WIN_OUT_OF_MEM_TITLE
    "Out of memory error"


    WIN_UNABLE_LOAD_DLL_BODY
    "Unable to load a DLL. Possibly due to low memory, insufficient hard drive space, or missing DLL files."

    i already fed up for this problem:(, when i checked on tast manager, it's memory consumption merely drive up to 98% OMG >.<
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,408 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    Probablly need more system RAM.
     
  11. chchyong89 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is it 2GB not enough for this game? :(
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,408 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    No. 2GB hasn't been enough for many games using Vista or 7 for a while now. 4gb's should be plenty.
     
  13. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,501 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Could try increasing Virtual Memory
     
  14. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    right now im on 1.82 GB of ram usage, 4 chrome tabs, open office writer, zune, and xfire running, as stated, 4 gigs should be fine
     
  15. chchyong89 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this is the first game i played that need more than 2GB RAM:cry: $$ wasted:cry:

    even i can play crysis @ medium setting without that problem too with 2GB ram
     
  16. newfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Watched some of it on friend of my and my only question was where the hell they spend ~11GB and the time making.

    This looks really bad game in every way. Storyline was horrid, textures ain't anywhere near worth 11gb looks bad mostly and game seems like jumping in to something what has absolutely no mind what you are fighting for every single scene ends brutally like there would be some point in it (not that I have argument on brutality, but the idea how developers decided to use it as 'mental breaker' on COD4 it sure as hell doesn't work when you end everything similarly).

    beside that everything in-game looks half baked port'd shit.

    ther'es my 2 cents on MW2.
     
  17. Anath

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Ok so I was one of the poeple that bought it from the store so i could play it 2 days early. I was going to boycott the game and just wait for bad company 2 but I was having that itch to play a shooter. So my impressions on the single player is that it was pretty good. The story does the same thing as the last game where you bounce around from different characters but it was overall pretty decent story. I would have to say that it was very short and took me about 6 hours to beat it on hardened.

    Now the multiplayer. I was very worried that the game was going to be a lag fest without dedicated server support and guess what about 50/50 it is. There was several instances where i would push the shift key and my character would run two steps then start walking due to the lag. The host does have a significant advantage and nothing is more frushtrating to get killed due to the lag. There are several multiplayer maps that are too small and i have experienced a lot of spawn deaths. I have played good games with a good host. Also if you do end up getting frustrated because of lag or anything else it counts as a loss if you leave the game.

    The textures look the same as modern warfare there arnt any updates that stand out to me.

    So my conclusion is a 6/10 because of a short single player and a 50/50 chance of lag on multiplayer and barely any if at all graphical update from the last engine.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  18. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
  19. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Started playing the game at 11:38pm tonight and finished at 3:28am. Completed the campaign on normal and oh my what a story :D Probably my favourite from any game ever.
     
  20. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Just beat the game on Veteran in 5 hours 15 minutes. Story is OK at most. NOTHING like COD4.

    Sad..
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,923 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,214
    i'm borrowing a friends copy (his PC is out of action, so he's letting me use his for a while)

    i wont touch MP (his request/his steam account) but i'll give SP a bash and let you know how it goes
     
  22. dna1x

    dna1x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Guam
    If you mean running a 64-bit OS on only 2GB RAM is a waste, then I agree.

    Get an extra 2GB RAM. You won't be disappointed.

    BTW, I love the PC version of MW2!
     
  23. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,258 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    so 2GB is enough if you use windows 7 32-bit??
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009
  24. Deadalord2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kent, United Kingdom.
    :l
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,923 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,214
    2GB is enough for any modern game, so long as you dont have much running in the background chewing it up.

    2GB doesnt go far if you have <1GB free before you run the game...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page