1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Calling all Crosshair III owners

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fullinfusion, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    To be completely honest, clocking HTT does not give signifigant benefits. 50% overclock might get 1-3% improvement, and that has more to do with being able to max NB speed than anything else it, or so it seems. I start getting USB isses @ 325, which requires a multi-drop to fix.

    Volts adjust on auto here...HTT, multi, memory volts(affects NB volts), will cause increases. Strange it doesn't for erocker.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  2. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    It does ramp up on auto when I use the multi like x19...x20 ect.... Mabey its just the board?
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    I can set the multi to x18 and leave every thing else alone.... Its stable but the cpu volts ramp up to 1.410v
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    shit I was getting windows product key or something like that error when I up the multi and had cpu volts set 1.5+ volts..... so far It's stable....:wtf:
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    Im going to run Wprime 32m and see if it makes the run..... any body think it will make it?
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
  7. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618

    HOLY ****!!!!!!! That's....I don't even have words for what I've seen! I'd try that, but I don't want to hurt my feelings when I fail with epic proportions. I've had the bus speed up to 372Mhz on my board (AM2+ M3A32-MVP) before I stopped trying to go higher (ran out of low multipliers lol, how crazy is that) but the voltage for you to hit 4Ghz just hurts my head trying to think about it!

    Full + Crosshair III + PII 965 C3 ---> :twitch: :respect:

    It's time for me to buy that board....anybody wanna buy an AM2+ super board. :D

    Kei
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    Kei I never with any board could hit 250 bus let alone be stable! and Im not sure what you mean by

    Quoted by you.... Full + Crosshair III + PII 965 C3----- Im only using a 955 C2 chip bro hehe :twitch:
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    Well I was waiting for a response if the rig could at least run Wprime 32m.... ha! (feeling dizzy)
    it did!!!
    sorry if im sounding like a total noOb but this is beyond what I thought could happen! :pimp:

    [​IMG]
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    I decided to try upping the NB Frequency.... and post a pic of AOD with current volts....
    It's weird cuz when I went to the 1105 bios and didn't have any luck at all... (was worse) and flashed back to the latest 1204 bios..... that's when things started to favor me... mabey a not so good flash? I don't know but all I know is now things are working the way I expected them to run

    http://img.techpowerup.org/091220/forerocker579.jpg
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,935
    Hey bud, could you please just use the edit feature to add to a current post. Multiple posting is frowned upon. :)
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  12. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Post #33, #34, and #35 can all have been done with an edit. I double post if I can't avoid it sometimes but I usually delete the previous post.

    :p
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  13. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    lol, oops I meant 955 C2 :banghead:

    Kei
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  14. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    My bad.... Im sorry to all... I should know better.. It wont happen again :eek:
    erocker says thanks.
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    will look for some pics of my setup shortly i'm back in town for a bit so i have all my parts in front of me playing with some dualies and a pair of AMD boards
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    still waiting for your pic's CD and also Assassin with some bios shots :respect:

    Also what are the OPT temp plugs on the mobo for?
    I know it's to sense temp but what temp? and what device does one need to plug into it to make it work?
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    You plug ASUS thermal probes in there (or other compatible thermal probes I suppose) and they can control the duty cycle of the "Opt" fan headers (3 of them).
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    So that's only for extreme clockers?
    Thanks for the info man :toast:
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    will pop some pics up tomorrow after me and freaksavior clock up my board will get you some BIOS shots of it to
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    Nice and cant wait, thank you :rockout:
  21. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    Sorry i didnt post any bios pics, so i dl Overdrive and here are SS. Been trying to hit 3k on the NB but i cant get into the OS with it that high so i have to use 2800. same goes with the clock speed, 4.1ghz is stable @ 1.5v but 4.2 is a no go even with 1.55v nothing.

    Planning on doing a dice session on friday, going to try to break 30K in 06 with x2 5770 in CF

    [​IMG]
    erocker says thanks.
  22. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    thanks bro.... at least I have something to work with :respect:
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,035 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,889
    This SupremeFX X-Fi card that came with this mobo, is there a updated driver for it?

    I went to the web site but didn't see any options for the mobo card driver.

    Anybody know?
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I don't know, but I sure hope so. how is the card, any good?
  25. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yes, one came out 2 days ago.

    http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us

    Enter "Crosshair III Formula" into the Input Model box, select Win7 x64 in the pop-up box, click on Audio and grab the 50MB package.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page