1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can 9600gt run on this psu?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 1nf3rn0x, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Hey i have another rig with a 500w psu it is the brand penguin..its 500w has two 12v rails with 18amps on each. Ive been told that a 9800gt/4770 can run on it and the 9600gt uses less power. So would this rig be ok with the 9600gt?

    SPECS OF PSU

    AC INPUT- Voltage 103v-253v Current 9a-5a Frequency-47hz-63hz

    DC OUTPUT- +5v 28.0a +12v1 18.0a +12v2 18.0a +3.3v 26.0a 12v 0.3a +5vsb 2.0a

    If i'm correct this power supply has two rails with 18amps on each, so thats a total of 36amps

    PC Specs
    Intel core 2 duo e7400@3ghz
    Seagate 320gb SATAx2
    x2 LG SuperMulti SecurDisk
    4gb ddr2 ram @800mhz
    Asus p5ql-se motherboard
    x3 120mm case fans (no leds)
    atm this rig is running a 9400gt @700/631/1830

    So would this psu be fine with a 9600gt?Also the 9600gt uses 78w of power at full load:)

    All answers appreciated:)
  2. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    It will run fine, I've run a 9600 GT off a crap 500 watt PSU, your PSU should run that with no problems.
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  3. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    YESS:) Great!! thanks for the quick reply
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    yes, 9600GT will run fine on a dual 18A PSU, so long as the PSU isnt faulty or something.


    BTW, amps dont directly add up - doesnt work that way.


    12V * 18A = 216W

    times that by two rails, and you could say you have 430W of power on the 12V rail

    but lets say you had 250W of device on one rail, it would reach its max of 216W and fail/shutdown. rails dont 'share' power.

    Another thing that complicates this, is some brands rate them oddly. While each rail may do 216W each at most, that rating may have been given with nothing on the other rail - maybe they can only do 300W total, between them.

    isnt dodgy marketing FUN? >.<
  5. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,309 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    It will run just fine.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page