1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can a BIOS version have a tremendous impact on OCing?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by d1nky, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    today ive been trying to tackle my motherboards overclock problems. and then I thought to go back to an old bios version. the newest 1503 and im on 1002! before my core voltage line in aida64 looked like a bunch of mountains but with the old bios its flat with the odd dip every couple minutes!

    ive set my vcore to 1.400 in bios, on desktop its 1.45ish and load 1.476 (LLC 0%) before adding any clocks im testing a few more bios versions and trying to find the most stable corevoltage values! and then I will try an oc of 5ghz ive managed 4.7 stable so....

    this makes me chuckle because ive read and read about my mobo and ocing, even ghettoed a fan blowing on the vrms like someone else done. I may even purchase some cheap vram heatsinks to put on them. but im truly in ore that an old bios can be ten times as stable!

    so anyone ocing this ***** board try and old bios! (updates to come)
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  2. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    [​IMG]
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    yes that can happen. Plus Asus doent give very good VRM on their low end boards. i have a M4A785DM-PRO and its voltage fluctuated from 1.25V to 1.375! this is after the RMA though. my original board was very stable and would could keep a 20% OC 24x7!

    after the RMA, i was given a newer revision of the board(all the caps were different colored) and after that no more OC :(

    This is why i bought an ASRock on monday :)


    rock steady voltage!
  4. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Yes. Many high end video gaming cards have 2 BIOS on them with a switch to go from one to another and there is 1 BIOS that is designed for higher over clocking.


    Just have to be careful with cooling.
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    looooooooool. this is a motherboard. not a graphic card XD
    SonDa5 and d1nky say thanks.
  6. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    we're talking motehrboards lol and ddd yea I decided on a new board/cpu (UD3/fx8) so want to test the limits on this low end ****. I think I did see a screen shot of your perfectly straight line.
    im doing ok so far got 1.4500 in bios, 1.488 desktop, 1476 load so LLC nearly there! but these digi vrms are pretty unpredictable lol
  7. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344


    Ooops.

    Well some motherboards put 2 BIOS switch as well and you can get different unofficial beta flavors of BIOS to experiment at own risk and if the BIOS doesn't work right then you switch back to the stable BIOS.




    :toast:
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    again, read the thing properly :laugh:
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    yes. i tried the m5a 97 evo. it has digi vrm. all over the place when trying to get a voltage. but the voltage it was giving was pretty stable.. even though it was a bit more than what i specified.
  10. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Just answering your thread title.

    I don't have any experience with your mother board.

    On my motherboard over clocking experience with different BIOS I have experienced a difference in stability of max over clocks and in general settings to overclock. I have tried a new BIOS that doesn't over clock as well and I have had a BIOS that required different BIOS settings to get similar over clocks.
  11. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    dude are you high? this isnt even my thread.
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
  14. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    I will try today. ive been paid so ordering a few goodies if I find some good deals! and yea all those bios settings disabled. it gets unstable with any tweak on the bridge and ram so just multiplier. btw I envy your vcore line!!
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    dont jinx it maan! :p
  16. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Well I disagree about the fact that cheap Asus mobos use bad VRM.
    Here's an example. My Phenom II 955 at 3.8 GHz 1.34V LLC on given in BIOS. 2.8 GHz NB. 1.73 GHz RAM. All stock cooling. No sinks or fan to cool the VRM. A 120$ Micro ATX motherboard from Asus - M4A88TD M-EVO/USB3.

    [​IMG]

    Ps I was running at 3.9 GHz all winter at 1.378 V LLC on and at load it bumped up to 1.404-1.416V still the voltage was baby for the VRM.
    My friend also has an RMA'ed Asus M4A88T-M mobo- a sub $100 board. He runs the 955 at 3.7 GHz without any issues and his VRM is good too. I can show his screenshot if you want.
  17. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    594 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    From personal experience, bios versions may increase/decrease your overclock limit without any warning. With my Gigabyte X58A-OC I can reach 4.4Ghz (with i7 930 stock 2.8ghz) with the release bios, 4.2Ghz with the 2nd bios which was quite needed (only x21 multiplier with LLC level 1, x22 wont work even with llc lvl2) and with their latest bios I cant even reach 4ghz, hell even the auto-4ghz-oc button on the motherboard won't work with that bios (while the motherboard certifies 4ghz auto-oc for i7 930).
    d1nky says thanks.
  18. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    I thought it was M5 boards that had the problem, especially cheap ones?

    edit: that's another good looking line ya got!
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have to go with the bad VRMs on budget MSI cause I have RMA'ed a 785GTM about 3 times now cause of exploding VRMs! I have seen though that if you cool them good enough that they will last longer but I have not wanted to try.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909

    you use a UPS.
  21. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Show me an example to justify your statement. The friend I mentioned who uses the M4A88T-M do not use an UPS. Plus to my knowledge an UPS has nothing to do with the VRMs on the motherboard. Plus my when I overclock at 4 GHz or above, I plug in my machine directly without UPS as the UPS screams under overload but never seen a single difference than what I did with the machine connected to the UPS. I can record and show a video here if you want.
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    hmm you just have good luck. most people will agree that asus uses bad VRMs now.
    even i have a friend with the 880 lite model and his VRM is average.


    UPS does stop voltage fluctuation that occurs due to load (and our poor powerplants failing to meet peak load).
    itsakjt says thanks.
  23. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Oh yeah the lite model is absolutely crap as it uses the R68 chokes and that too with a 4 phase power. You know what, those Asus service center guys are so evil! The friend I am talking about had his LAN chip fried because of the famous thunderstorms. Those guys told it had to be sent to Mumbai. After a week, his dad went and those guys handed him a M4A88T-M LE instead of M4A88T-M. I asked my friend to hand them the motherboard asap as it was much inferior than what he got. Then after another week, he finally got a replacement refurbished board and luckily it is good too.

    And yes UPS does filter line noise but I still disagree that it improves power regulation of the DC VRMs. Because I stress tested on the battery power as well and so much noise was coming that even my PSU coils were whining. But it never affected the CPU voltage. It was still a straight line. Not to mention the battery was exhausted within 5 minutes. :laugh:
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    the 88 lite i was talking about has better VRM than my previous board.
  25. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page