1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can a low power Athlon II be unlocked?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Aleksander, May 11, 2010.

  1. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I was watching some reviews yesterday and i found that all the reviews could not unlock other cores for the low power processors. Is it really true? Or is there a way to unlock the cores?
    I am just curious! :respect:
     
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    You can unlock an Athlon II X3 to an X4, but not an X2 to X3/X4.
     
  3. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    Actually, it depends on the chip.
    The Regor is a native 2-core and L3-cacheless, but some Athlon II X2 are made of cut-down Denebs.
    That said, some Athlon II X2 can actually be unlocked into full-fledged Phenom II X4.

    The chances of that happening are slim, though.
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Very slim, because no AII X2 model advertises less than 1 MB/core cache, so it's a non-issue here. You can't unlock an AII X2 to anything in almost every case.
     
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    There is a OEM Athlon II 215 on newegg that is advertised as having 2x512k L2 cache compared to the rest of the Athlon II's having 2x1Mb L2. This could potentially unlock to a Phenom II but I don't think I want to spend $70 bucks on a gamble.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
  7. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    If it can unlock then it would be 4.

    You also must have a motherboard with the right AMD southbridge starting from the SB710(not all include ACC function) on up. Nvidia has something similar to ACC but I haven't heard much about it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
  9. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    Why yes it does and I've had alot of success unlocking cores with that one
     
    Aleksander says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page